Friday, January 20, 2012

Marti Talbott's Highlander Series: Volume 1

Marti Talbot
Historical Romance

"Kevin was Laird over hundred and one little woman was making him squirm like a guilty child."

Three stories in one, this tale follows the clan MacGreagor and their stories to find love and avoid war.  When Anna's abusive father sends her to Scotland to meet her new fiance, he doesn't intend for them to find wedded bliss.  In fact, he intends to begin a war.  But Laird Kevin MacGreagor is smart, and determined to protect what is his.  Rachel then fights her past as Conner strives to protect her from herself and those who would hurt her.  Finally Charlet is faced with her unknown past and those who would try to kill her.  Blair swears to protect her, but can love survive the truth of her past?  Blending characters and stories, the MacGreagors, in turn, strive discover what it takes to hold on to the ones they love.

My Opinion: This book was a delightful mix between a collection of short stories and a saga-like series all rolled into one book.  Though the three stories are separate, they feel very much like a continuation of the same story, much more so than most series-type stories.  The characters are fun and well detailed despite the brevity of their stories.  Each had their own spunk and personality that made you root for each couple to fall in love in their turn, and you are able to see some of their follow-up in the successive stories.  Of course, I probably would still have liked each story to be its own full-length novel, it was a good read all in all.  I know there are several more books in this series and I'm sure the legacy of love will continue in each of them.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

1 comment:

  1. Fab review, new follower here :-)

    TToria @



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...