Friday, February 12, 2016

Review Rewind ... Austen-esque Books

Today I'm going to start something a little different.  I've been reviewing for a few years now, and feel like some of my older books are quite worthy of a second look (or first for my newer readers).  So, here's to my first Review Rewind, where I will highlight a few older posts I think perhaps you should go back and make sure they make it on your reading list.  This month, I'm going to focus on some modern versions of Jane Austen stories.



First up is Jane and Austen.  This is a fun tale that plays with multiple different Austen stories.  Taking place at a hotel, the various guests take on the personas of the many wonderful characters from the original books, with modern twists of course.  A fun tromp through literature for any Austen fan.  And of course, you have to figure out just which story our main girl is living through, and who her hero will be.


Next is the Jane Austen Diaries Series.  Pride and PopularityNorthanger AlibiPersuadedEmmalee.  I believe there are two more books in the series, but I haven't had the pleasure of reading them.  Each book takes on a modern, young adult interpretation of the classic storylines, getting a little cheesy, super funny, and quite clever.  I thoroughly enjoyed all of these that I got to read, even the ones I hadn't actually read the originals of.


Lastly, I'll mention Pride and Precipitation. By far Austen's most popular book, this obviously takes on Pride and Prejudice.  With light romance and run, it does an excellent job of capturing the character's quick wit and humor.  A fun read for your Valentine's weekend, or a good snow storm.

I hope you have fun checking out these older posts and find something new to read, or be reminded of one you meant to pick up, but got lost in your pile.  Happy reading everyone!!




Thursday, February 11, 2016

Book Tour: His Personal Relationship Manager (& Giveaway!)


His Personal Relationship Manager

His Personal Relationship Manager by Jennifer Peel 
Kenadie Marshall suffered the most public of humiliations, being left at the altar. Instead of wallowing in her misery, she makes it her mission to help others find true and lasting love, all while swearing off relationships for good. Between the software application she developed and a team of relationship managers, her brainchild, Binary Search, has an uncanny knack for choosing the perfect match almost every time. Attractive and loveable Jason Hadley is taken with Kenadie Marshall from their first meeting. Determined to win her over, he does anything and everything he can think of, even if it means using her firm’s service and dating other women to stay close to her. Will Kenadie realize she’s met her match before it’s too late? Or will Jason’s ploy go too far? Find out in His Personal Relationship Manager, a romantic comedy with an epic battle of wills.
amazon get it
Praise for the Book "One of the best romantic comedies I've read in a long time!" - Becky Monson, Bestselling Author of the Spinster Series "There's nothing more satisfying than a story with a great plot, strong characters, and a romance that makes me swoon. This story has it all and more! I loved every minute of it!" - Katie from Katie's Clean Book Collection
add to goodreads
Excerpt He paused for a moment. His intense gaze had me feeling undone. “Are you happy, Kenadie?” “That’s a complicated question.” “Well, you are a complicated woman.” “I don’t try to be.” “It was a compliment.” “How do you do that?” “What’s that?” “You always know what to say to make me feel better about myself.” “Well, that’s easy. You give me good material to work with.” “Jason … Today, I’m happy.” “You don’t know how happy I am to hear that,” he said smoothly.   Jennifer Peel
Author Jennifer Peel
 Jennifer Peel is the mother of three amazing kiddos. Wife to her one and only for the past twenty-one years. Lover of late night talks, beach vacations, the mountains, pink bubble gum ice cream, tours of model homes, and southern living. She can frequently be found with her laptop on, fingers typing away, indulging in chocolate milk, and writing out the stories that are constantly swirling through her head.

100_Amazon_Paypal
   
Book Blast Giveaway – $100 Amazon Gift Card or $100 in Paypal Cash Ends 2/25/16 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the participating authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

The Suspect's Daughter


Donna Hatch
Regency Romance
Book 4 in The Rogue Hearts Series
The Stranger She Married, The Guise of a Gentleman, A Perfect Secret, The Suspect's Daughter

"She might be innocent of her father’s schemes, but no woman was innocent of being a…woman."


Jocelyn is not in London to catch a husband.  Not this year at least.  No, she intends to do everything she can to help her father's political career.  But the entrance of the handsome Grant Amesbury threatens more than her heart.  He is convinced that her father is guilty of plotting murder.  Determined to find evidence of it.  Almost as determined as she is to prove him wrong.  Grant has no time for women; they were all the same anyway.  So why is he looking forward to seeing Jocelyn more than he is in doing his work to convict her father?  He's attracted, yes, but he's not fit for a lady.  Not that he'd trust one again.  Besides, her father is named in a conspiracy to murder the prime minister.  As secrets begin to be revealed, the danger rises, both to their lives and their future.

My Opinion: This was a wonderful adventure through love and intrigue.  Though part of a wonderful series, it can hold its own as a stand-alone.  A full cast, from past books and new to this story, fill in a rich storyline.  There is great action, with excellent twists and turns, and a lovely romance.  Well researched and well told.  The characters are rich, with good and bad characteristics that make them relatable and worthy of rooting for.  Hatch has done it again with another wonderful book I'd highly recommend.  It makes me want to sit and marathon read the whole series.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, February 8, 2016

Book Spotlight: Nightwatch


Nothing is as it seems... 

Six months after her father's murder, Emiliana Woodrow is still trying to put her life back together. The death of the famous abstract artist has left an irreparable hole in her life. In one instant, a tiny blue gem turns her world upside down and nothing will ever be the same again. Thrown into a world or spies, romance, double cross and intrigue, will she be able to navigate her new reality and finish her father's mission before time runs out?

If I had to describe the idea of the book, it would be more like this:

Emiliana is still reeling over the death of her father. Injured on that same night that cost her father her life, she visits her doctor hoping for some kind of relief from the constant pain. As she waits on blood work and tests, a stranger drops from the air vent and gives her a mysterious blue gem. This one moment in time catapults her life into the world of Sentry 6, a covert black ops team independent of any country or government. She learns that she has been lied to and she has ties to Sentry 6 that she never would have imagined. Twists and turns abound as she is constantly left in a state of suspicion and intrigue. Her only ally is an Agent called Falcon and the hope of finding an asset named Luther. But can she really trust Falcon? Can you really trust someone you hardly know?  After all, in the world of Sentry 6, nothing is as it seems. 




Excerpt:
The sounds in the hall only continued to escalate. Pounding feet were followed by shouts of, “Search every room!” and “He’s gotta be here somewhere.”
She started for the door when she heard a rattle and thump directly above her.
A pair of black shoes appeared, and then legs. Then, before Emma knew it, a six-foot man fell none too gracefully from the vent.
He pulled himself from the ground, muttering, “I swear those things get smaller every time.” His gaze fell on Emma, poised with her hand on the doorknob. “I wouldn’t go out there. I am afraid I’ve upset them, and they have guns.”
            “Guns?! Who are you? Why did you—what were you doing in the air duct?” She peered more closely at her intruder. “You’re bleeding!”
            He shrugged at the bloody circle that dampened his upper arm. “Like I said, they have guns.” The stranger fished through the cabinet, pulling out first-aid supplies and stuffing them into his pockets.
            “Jared will be back in a second. He can help you,” she said. Footfalls ceased just outside the door; someone was about to come in.
            The young man dashed from the drawers, popped something shiny in his mouth, and pulled Emma by the belt loops against him. He pulled her hair loose and deftly fit his mouth over hers just as the door opened. Emma felt the young man’s hand on her back and his fingers pushing up through her hair. She felt something hard, smooth and almost glassy enter her mouth. Emma was so shocked she didn’t know what to do. The young man continued to kiss her—and kiss her well, for that matter.
            A bewildered security guard poked his head in for a moment before he bashfully backed out, muttering to himself. Just as the door clicked shut, the stranger pulled back from Emma.            “That worked?” He looked astonished with himself. “Never thought that would work.” He grabbed a notepad out of the drawer and scribbled down a note. Then he took one of Emma’s hands in his own, and said, “I will be caught, no doubt about it, but now at least you have that when I am.”
            Emma began to protest, but he held up one finger to stop her.
            “Careful, don’t swallow it,” he chided. He pressed the note he had written into her palm, his brilliant olive-green eyes shone with excitement. “Meet me here in one hour. If I’m not there, don’t stop, don’t look around; just keep walking. Toss that thing in the bay and forget you ever saw me today.”
            He stared deep into her eyes, as if debating her trustworthiness. He must have realized this wasn’t about choices. It was about survival.
            There was something truly desperate about him as he opened the door just a crack to check the hall. He turned back to Emma, who was still trying to get a grip on reality and to not swallow whatever was in her mouth.
            “Do you understand?” he asked intensely. “This is a matter of national security; life or death.” He seemed to peer right through her as he said, “Can I trust you?”
            Emma barely heard much more than “national security” and “life and death.” It could not be real. It had to be some sort of prank.
            She nodded quickly in the affirmative. Her fist clasped the note firmly, her hands sweaty. The sharp edges bit into the skin of her palm as she watched him look into the hallway one more time. 

Saturday, February 6, 2016

SMT: Saving Hope

Saving Hope
Mia Hartley
Contemporary Romance

Seven years ago, Meri made a choice that has haunted her to this day…a choice that left her with enough hurt and mistrust to last a lifetime. She hooked up with a musician she had just met, getting together with him a few more times over the course of that summer before they parted ways. 

To make things worse, the man she hooked up with is none other than Chase Holton, part of the now famous country music sensation ‘Hunter & Chase’. 

That summer, they created the one thing she’ll do anything to protect….her daughter. 

To save her child, Meri has to go up against an over protective manager, while dealing with her own feelings, to get to him on time. 

Chase has never got over the one who ‘got away’. He has looked for her face in the crowds he plays for every time he goes on stage, hoping to find the face that has haunted him for years. On a chance glance during a concert in Birmingham, he looks down in the sea of faces….could it be her? 

Will Meri and Chase be able to unite to save the daughter they have together? If so, will they be able to learn to trust each other enough to discover the feelings they once had, might never have gone away? 

*"Saving Hope" is a Sweet, Clean Contemporary Romance Novella*


Friday, February 5, 2016

Marry Your Billionaire


CJ Anaya
Contemporary Romance

"Wonderful. He finds me about as fascinating as one might find a few juggling chimpanzees: bizarre and inexplicably entertaining."





One semester away from getting her Master's Degree and of course, Midge Knightly's scholarship loses funding.  Six years ago she walked away from her trust fund and her father's life directing show business and never regretted it.  Until she is strapped for cash to fulfill her dream.  Her father, manipulative man that he is, has found out and offered to restore her trust fund if she'll do him a favor.  Stay one night only on his new reality TV show, Marry Your Billionaire, and that's it.  Easy, right?  That is, until the billionaire in question is Brody Prescott, a man she can't resist and isn't playing by the rules.  Now that she's stuck on the show, will she let love have a chance on reality tv?  Or will someone put their relationship, and her life, in danger while on air?

My Opinion: This was a surprisingly deep and fun romance.  The premise had led me to think of it as lighthearted, and while it is an entertaining story you'd expect from a Bachelor-esque style plot, there is some serious action in it.  There is good build up for the well paced plot.  Good side characters fill in the story well and help create a few real surprises.  The main characters are consistent and sweet and have great chemistry.  I loved their pull to each other, making me root for them the whole time.  Overall a great story with wonderful characters.  A good read for a snowed in weekend, or to take to the beach this summer.

This book will be available for purchase on March 2, 2016.  If you purchase between March 2-4, you can get Legally Wedded, Free!

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Thursday, February 4, 2016

Book Tour: Borrowed Magic (& a Giveaway)

Borrowed Magic



Borrowed Magic by Shari Lambert After a three-year siege, Lord Kern, the dark mage, is dead. Magic has left Tredare, and life is almost back to normal. For everyone except Maren, that is. Before the siege, an attack by Lord Kern left Maren near death and with a sliver of magic buried deep inside her. Now, for reasons Maren doesn’t understand, that magic has been triggered, giving her the ability to “see” the truth: that her world is nothing more than a magical fa├žade; and that the kingdom’s hero may not be a hero at all. But this gift of sight comes at a high cost. Maren is in constant pain, and fears her own death is imminent. Plus, no one believes her suspicions that another Dark Mage has risen, and that Tredare may be in just as much danger as it was when Kern was alive. With the country’s future in the hands of a man who’s vowed revenge on its king, Maren must convince someone else of the truth. Unfortunately, the only person powerful enough to help is also the one man she can’t trust; the man she almost married; the man who abandoned her and disappeared for three years: Kern’s son. As Tredare crumbles around them, Maren must persuade him to help - before the king is murdered by the very hero he reveres; and before the same magic that gives Maren the gift of sight also takes her life.


amazonbarnes and noble
Kobo * Smashwords * iTune

Excerpt from Borrowed Magic The siege had ended. Lord Kern, the dark mage, was dead. Maren pushed her forehead against the warm glass, straining for a better view of the commotion below. A cheer went up from the crowd, and she searched for any sign of the man making his way to the castle. The man who’d saved the city – and the kingdom. All she could see was a mass of bodies, crowding the path leading up from the city gates. It wasn’t uncommon to see people in the streets of Delorme. They’d come every day for the past two and a half years, standing in subdued silence as they waited for the daily rations that grew more and more meager as the weeks went by. But today the crowd wasn’t silent. Today was different. The tent cities beyond the wall, once teeming with soldiers draining the city of life, were now abandoned, destroyed, thin plumes of smoke the only movement. What was left of the lush, green fields sat charred and barren. Desolate. “Anything?” Maren jumped back from the window and felt the color rise to her cheeks. “It’s all right, Maren,” Adare said, trying to get her own view of the street below. “We’re all curious. And you have more right than the rest of us. You knew him better than anyone.” The dull, familiar ache in her chest forced Maren to hesitate until she was sure she could speak without her voice breaking. Even then, she couldn’t meet the queen’s eyes. “I’m not sure I knew him at all.”
add to goodreads
 
Praise for Borrowed Magic "I was enthralled from the very beginning up until the very end. This is one of those rare stories that has been created by a truly talented author, that captivates its readers and pulls them in. I felt every emotion as it reached its final conclusion, and I was able to breathe a sigh of relief that we were given the ending we so desperately hoped for." -Tasha Williams, Red’s Midnight Readers “Borrowed Magic is a spellbinding story, and the mystery kept me turning pages well after I should have gone to bed. Completely engrossing.” -Dawn Rae Miller, New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of Larkstorm (The Sensitives Trilogy) "Shari Lambert has a way of capturing your mind and transporting you into her fantasy world. Filled with royalty and dark forces at court, Borrowed Magic reminds me of a Phillipa Gregory novel with the bonus of magic.” -Jamie Blair, author of Leap of Faith
  

SeigeFREE EBOOK Siege: A Borrowed Magic Novella For six years, peace has reigned over the kingdom of Tredare. Lord Kern, the dark mage who murdered the king and queen eight years prior, is imprisoned in a magical tomb. Or so everyone thought – until one night when Kern appears during a ball at the royal castle, and life in Tredare changes for the worst. Especially for innocent Maren. Unbeknown to her, Maren’s father has a past history with Kern, and now she’s crossed Kern’s path, getting in the way of something he wants. Angry and boiling with dark magic, Kern vows to destroy those who dare defy him – including Maren, who protects the current King and Queen. Despite Maren’s best efforts, Kern lays siege to Tredare for three years. Years Maren spends plotting revenge on the man who’s determined to ruin Tredare. Free Ebook

shari LambertAuthor Shari Lambert Shari has always loved to read. “Bookworm” may even be an understatement. But when she discovered Georgette Heyer in high school, her love of reading exploded. Ms. Heyer’s books were not only entertaining, witty, and smart, but they saved Shari from the awkward, unromantic teenage years. To this day, Shari’s favorite books all have romance in them. Although Shari spent a good deal of her time at Brigham Young University on the ballroom dance team, she did manage to get a BA in History and English before going on to get a Juris Doctorate. After graduation, she decided her first priority was to be a mom -- a career she’s stuck with and loved. In between cleaning, laundry, and homework, Shari writes. Just like with reading, she wants to get lost in a world, whether imaginary or historical. She lives just outside of Salt Lake City, Utah with her husband and four children.

50_Amazon_Paypal

  BookBlast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 2/23/16 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Book Tour: Falcon Song

Falcon Song 


  Falcon Song by Kristin Cross Kate can handle that Jason Falcon is gorgeous. And she can handle that he is fantastically talented, and competent, and funny, and sweet, and . . . . well, all of the things he is. What she isn’t sure she can handle is that he and his country band have suddenly become wildly famous. Even though she has always known that he near worships her, with millions of girls now throwing themselves at him, Kate is afraid that Jason will find he no longer loves Kate best. Then, when she discovers something completely earth shattering, it only makes her more unsure. Realizing that she can never settle for less than absolute devotion, as she is struggling to find what her place will be in Jason’s new top of the charts world, Kate wonders how you can ever truly know that things will work out. Does True Love Always Lead To Happily Ever After?

amazon get it

Praise for Falcon Song “So much emotion came through the words of this story. I felt it all—regret, forgiveness, redemption, and a powerful love that wrapped it all together. I had a hard time putting it down. This story really touched me!” DL “I loved this story! Jason is one of my favorite heroes ever. I felt like I was right there with them through it all.” JM

add to goodreads

Excerpt Kate found Jason asleep on the porch swing again. Her drive had left her drained, without answers and somewhat resigned. As she looked down at him sleeping, still, the only thing she really knew was that she loved him. Loved him dearly. In spite of everything. When it came right down to it, that was what made her happy. She wished there was a way to separate this crushing heartache from the sweet peace she felt when she was with him. Who knows, maybe she could get really good at ignoring the parts of his life she didn’t understand. She sat down on the edge of the swing and touched his beautiful hair. His eyes opened slowly and this time there wasn’t a smile, but there was a sweet, sincere tenderness as he quietly watched her for a few seconds. She stroked his cheek and then ran a finger over his sensuous bottom lip. Even if he wasn’t perfectly trustworthy, he was definitely beautiful. She kissed the tip of her finger and put it back there on his lip and said softly, “Wake up, sleepy head. You’re gonna get a million ‘squito bites out here.” He sat up and reached out to touch her cheek. “I’ll live. How was Texas?” She sat down beside him. “Still big.” He smiled sadly, “I told Cody you’d driven to Texas to talk to God. He said he didn’t even realize God lived there. He’s decided that’s why Texans are egotistical.” She laughed. “That’s exactly what I needed just now. Laughing feels good. I thought I didn’t get to see you until tomorrow? What brings you tonight?” He groaned and made a sound of disgust. “Ah, I Googled myself. It was awful.” She pushed the porch swing with her foot. “I know.” “I’m not really as bad as it looks. I swear.” “I know.”


Kristin Cross Author Kristin Cross Kristin Cross was a mostly obedient child—unless her mom wanted her to put her book down. She grew up in the Rockies and traveled with her family enough to want to travel more and have adventures in all those exotic looking places on the map that she hasn’t been to—yet. Now, as an adult, she also loves relaxing at home in the mountains and coming up with stories about those places. Motherhood has been her best time yet, and she wishes she’d had more than just four marvelous children. She loves a good storm, a beautiful sunset, the wind in her face, puppies, and fresh mangos with her shrimp. And her husband, DJ. She truly adores DJ.


100_Amazon_Paypal
 

Book Blast Giveaway – $100 Amazon Gift Card or $100 in Paypal Cash Ends 2/12/16 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the participating authors. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 1, 2016

Author Interview: Carol Ross (& a Giveaway!)

Carol Ross
author, A Family Like Hannah's


Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I was born in one of the most beautiful places on this planet – the Pacific Northwest. (Yes, of course I’m being objective. I’ve traveled to almost half the states and several other countries after all.) I am the youngest of five children, which means I didn’t get to sit in the front seat of a car until I was about fifteen. My extended family is even larger. My mom is the youngest of nine and my dad was the oldest of six. Very close families on both sides, which means I still gravitate toward the kids’ table at holiday meals. Lucky for me I’m also short and still fit comfortably in tiny chairs.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

I love it when I get asked this question. I could talk about books for hours. I will spare you that now, but I will confess that I ruthlessly scrape out hours of my life so I can read – sacrificing things like sleep, movies, lunch dates, and even toilet scrubbing for a good book. (Don’t feel sorry for me about that last one. It’s a choice and I choose to make this one.) Of course I adore romance, but I read in nearly every genre. Except horror. As clever as I think some of the plots and premises are, I’m also prone to nightmares. Plus, I’m afraid of the dark. Waking up after having a nightmare is unpleasant to say the least and something I try to avoid. John Sandford, Harlan Coben and Paul Levine are three mystery authors that I “must read” everything they write. Harlan Coben’s, The Stranger, is currently on my nightstand. I have a ton of “must read” romance authors including Julie Anne Long, Julia Quinn, Kristan Higgins, Jill Shalvis, and Colleen Hoover.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

Aside from a reader sharing how much they liked one of my books, this would have to be someone telling me that they feel a character I created seems like a friend. This means the world to me because characterization is my favorite part of writing. I try really, really hard to turn them into real people.

Please don’t tell my therapist that I tend to think of them that way, too. (Kidding. I’m not in therapy. Yet, anyway.)

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?

Yes! I’ve had more than a few people tell me that they want to live in Rankins, Alaska. Crafting a fictional place that seems real is almost as satisfying as creating a person…um…I mean character.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the rest of the year 2016?

2016 is going to be such an exciting - and busy - year for me! I recently signed a contract with Harlequin for two Heartwarming books that are set here in my beloved Northwest. I’m so excited to be writing about the Pacific coast, the beach, and the mountains that I love so much. Later in the year, I plan to revisit Rankins for two more Seasons of Alaska books. (Seasons of Alaska readers can rest assured that a favorite character who has been in every book so far will finally get his/her own HEA. I’ll share details as soon as I can.)

Please share about your book 

This book was so much fun for me to write because it’s about a skier and a snowboarder. I learned to ski when I was about seven years old. In that way that only kids seem able to do, I took to it immediately.

It’s still one of my favorite things to do. The snow, the scenery, spending time with my skiing best friend or my family is just this side of Heaven.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

Tate is a retired snowboarder, so certain stereotypes may come to mind here. But, I tried to write him against type. He’s very determined and a little too serious, but he’s also honest, compassionate and grounded. I love the way he turned out.

Hannah is a former professional skier whose career was cut short in a very cruel and devastating way. She’s still dealing with the after effects, both mentally and physically. (Poor thing, I know.) She is an absolute doll though who does her best to stay positive. Maybe a little too much sometimes. She’s also ambitious, clever, and a little sarcastic. These two both tackle some serious and plenty of not-so-serious issues. I’m not sure I’ve written a couple that I wanted to see happy together as much as Hannah and Tate – especially with Tate’s six-year-old orphaned nephew in the mix.

****************

Thank you so much for hosting me here today! I had so much fun thinking about these questions (and trying to figure myself out well enough to answer some of them.) And thank you, everyone, for stopping by. I’d love to give away a copy of A Family Like Hannah’s (US paperback, international e-book). One winner will be chosen from among the commenters.

~Carol

Friday, January 29, 2016

The Resilient One


Cami Checketts, Jeanette Lewis
Contemporary Romance
Book 1 in Billionaire Pact Romance Series
The Resilient One, The Passionate One

"When you kiss me, I'm not even sure where I am, so I really don't think the setting matters."





Alyssa Armsworth has no intention of getting married, and certainly not to a rich guy.  No matter what Billionaire Bride Pact she'd made as a teenager at camp.  Too many bad experiences with her loser father and his loser friends has left her with a bad taste in her mouth.  No, being a photographer in Maui and staying away from all of that is just fine with Alyssa.  That is, until her best friend asks her to do a favor - seek out a certain reclusive billionaire and get him to ask her out.  It shouldn't be too hard - especially since Alyssa has no intention of actually going on the date.  Enter Beckham Taylor, rich, humble, and absolutely gorgeous.  Beckham just wants to get away from money-grubbing women and seek out a photographer to help him in his charity work.  He never expects said photographer to be the most beautiful woman he's ever seen.  But is there more to her than she's letting on?  Can Alyssa and Beckham learn to trust each other, or is their romance as far fetched as a summer camp pact?

My Opinion: While it had a good premise, I think this book tended to bite off more than it can chew.  With some seriously dark pasts and topics, they layered on top of one another and didn't let the characters be realistic or involved with any of the many trials and awful events of their lives.  Choppy scenes lead you from one action intense scene to another without ever letting you or the characters catch their breath - not that they really seemed to need it apparently.  Overall, I never felt like I got to know the real characters, see an arc in their adventures, or really enjoy their romance.  It was a cute idea, but took on too much and didn't let the characters come out and shine.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Friday, January 22, 2016

Fire Away


Becca Boyd / RL Syme
Contemporary Romance
Book 1 in Line of Fire Series

"He didn’t like feelings. Especially the kind that needed fixing."





Claire Milton never wanted to move back to Somewhere, TX.  Too many memories she didn't want to relive.  Especially when she runs into Aiden Conley, the man who stole her heart all those years ago.  Too bad he had married her sister right out of high school, then was accused of her murder a few years later.  Claire hasn't seen him since, but unfortunately he can still make her skin tingle.  Is it any wonder that she tries to help him when the old case resurfaces?  She had never believed him guilty.  There had to be another explanation, but what?  And is Claire willing to find out the truth behind her sister's death?  She isn't sure, but if she doesn't she'll lose Aiden again.

My Opinion: I felt a little lost in this book.  With a slightly non-traditional and awkward set up between our two main characters, I couldn't get into rooting for their relationship.  As facts unfolded, it became a bit more palatable, but still strange.  Overall, it was more of an action and mystery than a romance, as the characters seemed to start out in love, and never had any sort of arc or process to make the romance an active part of the plot.  The overall plot had a lot of running and fast-paced mystery solving, but the whole story was tainted with a lot of harsh topics.  Though clean, it mentioned a lot of sex and issues I wouldn't let a teen read, or prefer to invade my own reading entertainment.  It was short, fast, and left me feeling like I had watched a bad Lifetime movie.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...