Saturday, January 24, 2015

SMT: Shimmers of Stardust

Shimmers of Stardust
Ryan Jo Summers
Christian Romance
Time Travel Romance

Logan Riley, Civil War hero turned outlaw, was hanged in 1869. His tory should have ended there, but it did not. 2014 Anthropologist Dr. McKenzie Lynne discovers him in a cave. She soon learns he is the missing link she had been hired by a team of physicists to locate. Then she learns how they plan to use Logan to prove their time travel theories. Horrified, she runs, taking their living treasure with her, escaping into the desert and mountains of Arizona and New Mexico.

Hunted like criminals by the military and the physicists who will stop at nothing to get them back, they fight just to survive. Getting captured means a life of imprisonment for Logan and worse for Kenzie.

Despite their fugitive plight, they discover mutual feelings growing between them like the desert flowers. And Kenzie's strong Christian faith slowly erodes at Logan's bad boy heart.
When the hunters close in, it's the ultimate showdown between Christian morals and 19th century cowboy justice against armed military and obsessed physicists.


Friday, January 23, 2015

Straight and True: A Regency Novella


Justice Joy
Regency Romance

"'Winning a man’s heart takes time, you know,' he said as they walked, 'though not as much time as winning a lady’s.'"





Isabella Reed has always been in love with Nathan Trammell, but they've never seemed to have a chance, even if they do live right next to each other.  That's about to change.  Now that she's at a houseparty at Nathan's home, and with her aunt instead of her mother.  Plus, Nathan's cousin, Alexander Brent won't be there, a thorn in her side since they were kids.  At least, she didn't think he'd be there.  Alexander has a plan though.  Newly home from traveling, he is determined to have disrupt Isabella's plans once and for all.  Because he knows she shouldn't be with Nathan.  He should.  Now, if only he can convince Isabella of that.

My Opinion: This book was totally cute and delightful.  Of course, it was fairly predictable, but it was the little details that made it a wonderful read, despite it's light story.  I loved the main characters and the simple, classic romance.  It reminded me slightly of Austen's Emma - a delightful romance with a few quirks and turns along the way.  A great choice for a quick tromp through Regency England and a merry romance.  I'd highly recommend this one.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Friday, January 16, 2015

Blog Tour: A Dark Road

A Dark Road by Amanda Lance
BLOG TOUR
January 12-16, 2015

ADRCover

Not every friendship is as harmless as it seems. Loner James McKay wants nothing to do with Hadley Grayson. After all, the last thing a drug dealer needs is the pretty, new girl trying to be friends. Walking distractions like her lead to trouble, the kind that can get you 10 to 15 behind bars. Likewise, fencing champion Hadley Grayson isn’t thrilled about her family uprooting her during her senior year of high school. At least there’s James McKay, the quiet, mad scientist who is as adorable as he is mysterious. Though McKay may reject the idea of friendship, he gets one whether he wants it or not. But once the lies are told and the rumors spread, the dangers of meth making and dealing are impossible to avoid. Between secrets and overdosing classmates, McKay and Hadley will learn that loneliness can be a two-way street, changing both of their lives forever.

BUY IT FOR ONLY 99 CENTS ON AMAZON:
~*~ABOUT AMANDA~*~

A native of New Jersey and lifelong nerd, Amanda Lance recently completed her Master in Liberal Arts at Thomas Edison State College after her BA in English Literature and AFA in creative writing. She currently resides in Easton Pennsylvania with her boyfriend and their spoiled hound dog. She is a cliché booknerd who is terrible at math, clinically obsessive, and prone to addictive behavior. She may or may not be a recluse.





Thursday, January 15, 2015

Book Spotlight: Exile

Exile
GG Vandagriff


It is 1938, and Austria has just fallen to the Nazis. Amalia von Schoenenburg’s husband, Rudolf, has been murdered before her eyes. Fleeing to Switzerland with a message for Mr. Winston Churchill, she is accompanied by her two sons and Dr. Andrzej Zaleski, the man she has loved heart and soul since before the Great War. As this little band of exiles struggles to complete its vital mission, Amalia struggles with grief and guilt. She loved her husband and raised two children with him, but how can she deny the passion that has existed, hidden away—the passion of a lifetime?
Author Bio: I realize that I am one of those rare people in the world who gets to live a life full of passion, romance, suspense, angst, fulfillment, humor, and mystery. I am a writer. Every day when I sit down at my computer, I enter into a world of my own making. I am in the head of a panoply of characters ranging from a nineteen-year-old Austrian debutante (The Last Waltz) to a raging psychopath (The Arthurian Omen) and four women at once in The Only Way to Paradise. Then there are the feisty heroines of my Regency romances . . .

About the Author

I am a traditionally published,award-winning writer who has recently gone Indie. I enjoy genre-hopping, having published a genealogical mystery series, two women's fiction novels, two historical romances, two suspense novels, seven Regency romances, and a couple of non-fiction offerings.

With a BA from Stanford and an MA from George Washington University in International Relations, I somehow stumbled into finance. But, once my husband was through law school, I never wanted to do anything but write and raise kids. Now the kids are gone, but (even better) there are five grandchildren who provide my rewards for finishing a manuscript.

Other Links:

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Author Interview: Jennifer Peel

Jennifer Peel
author, Professional Boundaries

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I hail from the lovely state of Colorado. I was the beginning of the fifth generation to be born there, my daughters were the beginning of the sixth, then we decided to break the mold and move to Chicago for six years. I’m not sure my family has ever forgiven my husband for moving me out of Colorado. But for the last eight years, we have called Alabama home; and we absolutely adore it. It has been a great place to raise our two daughters and our son. We are now entering the phase of our lives when our children are starting to leave the nest. And unfortunately, both of our daughters have chosen schools 1800 miles away from us. One has already left the nest and our second daughter graduates from high school in May. Thankfully, we still have our son, who is only in seventh grade.

As a family, we love beach and mountain vacations. My husband and I were able to travel to India for eight days and we fell in love with the people and culture there. We hope someday to be able to experience living outside of the country.

We also love music and theater and we try to go to as many plays and concerts as we can squeeze in.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

Some of my “go to” books, for when I’m just looking to unwind and get lost for an hour or two, are: Sarah Eden’s

Drops of Gold and Seeking Persephone. Of course, I love Jane Austen, particularly Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice.

I’m also a huge Harry Potter fan, book seven of that series was amazing; for me, it was one of the best written series endings ever.

I just finished Thirty-two Going on Spinster and Thirty-three Going on Girlfriend, both by Becky Monson. I adored both.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Ireland, for sure. My husband just went there on business and I was so jealous. I made him take tons of pictures and notes for me.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I started writing a couple of years ago, as a way to deal with the stress of my life. I had no idea, at the time, it would ever lead to me publishing anything I wrote.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

You can look for my next book, House Divided, to come out around Valentine’s Day. House Divided is about two young lovers torn apart by old rules and a town that’s deeply divided, but with some intervention from an unlikely source, they are given a second chance at love. I’m also working on my first series, The Women of Merryton. There will be three books and each will focus on a particular heroine, but their lives will all be intermingled throughout each book. Merryton is a fictional town set in the mountains of Colorado. Each woman will have her own obstacles and challenges to face, but they will find strength in one another.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

I love when someone tells me they were up all night reading because they couldn’t put my book down. Or when someone has tears in their eyes because they connected so much with a particular character and they felt like it helped them in their real life circumstances.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

There’s definitely a lot of me in my characters, both the female and male ones. Some are obvious, but others are very subtle and you would have to know me very well to pick them out. My husband likes to tease me that I use all of his flaws in my male characters.

Where do your ideas come from?

I like to say my best ideas come from me lying out on the beach and relaxing, it helps incentivize me to go to the beach often. But, generally my ideas come from something that has impacted me on an emotional level, whether in my own life or someone else’s.

Please share about your book

Professional Boundaries is a romantic comedy that centers on Kelli Bryant and Ian Greyson. Kelli is a smart, savvy business woman who is ready to take over Chandler Media as their new Marketing Director. She’s confident her promotion is in the bag, but she’s severely disappointed when her promotion is given to someone else. To add insult to injury, the position is given to the one man she hoped to never see again, Ian Greyson, her one true love, the man who broke her heart in college.

Between Kelli’s determination to remain on top, and Ian’s strict new office policies, there’s no shortage of fireworks in the office. Their explosive relationship spills over into their personal lives as Kelli tries to keep Ian at arm’s length and Ian desperately tries to win her back (during off hours only, of course).

The book is filled with fun and humor as Kelli and Ian battle it out, both professionally and personally. It’s also heartfelt as you begin to understand Ian’s reasoning for not only leaving Kelli, but why he maintains such strict professional boundaries within the office. The relationship between Kelli and her sister Amanda, and Amanda’s husband and kids, also adds a layer of depth and sweetness to the story.

In the end, as Kelli and Ian come together, you see why they are such a great team as they face some of Ian’s challenges together.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Kelli is the five S’s - Sassy, Smart, Spunky, Snarky, and Sweet.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

It’s like watching a great romantic comedy at the movies or at home, but better because the ride lasts much longer than two hours.

Friday, January 9, 2015

Shadow's Lady


Barbara Cool Lee
Contemporary Romance

"She opened the screen door, ignoring the fact that this was exactly what a too-stupid-to-live heroine in a horror movie would do just before the evil slasher attacked out of the darkness."




Lori's lived her whole life sheltered by her family.  Telling her what she can do, where she can go, and even who she should marry.  All of that changed at Christmas when Lori decided she'd had enough.  Now, with the help of her great-aunt Zelda, she is living at a lighthouse for the winter, photographing it for the historical society.  It's perfect...and lonely.  That is, until a mysterious man gets washed ashore during a storm.  A man that peaks her interest, and her suspicions.  Matt had a mission to accomplish, and it didn't involve being stranded on an island with a woman he was supposed to be protecting.  Now, he must keep himself, and who he really is, away from her...because the one who left him for dead in the ocean will eventually come looking for him.

My Opinion: Despite the possibilities in the set-up of this book, I felt like it missed living up to them.  The story played out to be fairly unrealistic as far as the law enforcement aspect - a fact that my personal experiences point of to me, but might not be as obvious to others.  Overall, the story was a bit light on plot and a bit lighter on the romance.  I felt like I missed a few parts where they must have fallen in love.  I liked the idea of the story, and the various characters that were created, though I would have liked to get to know them all better and have a few subplots filled out more fully.  Overall, a light read, but one I'd prefer to be filled with a bit more meat to make a fantastic story.

I received a free copy of this book for review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, January 5, 2015

Book Spotlight: The Girl in Seat 24B

The Girl in Seat 24B
Jennifer Peel
Contemporary Romance


One red eye flight and ten years of marriage later, Carly Bishop had what she considered a practically perfect life. Her journalist husband and her two adorable children were everything to her. But soon she would find out that her dream life didn't fall in line with her husband's expectations.

Left alone to sort out the pieces of her crumbling life, Carly finds strength in her children and her growing relationship with her in-laws. Most importantly, she finds her greatest strength as she builds a friendship with herself.

This is a beautiful story of one woman's strength and determination as she finds the will to move forward and be happy while the life she had grown to love crumbles around her. It is a story of a man who has lost his way and may lose it all if he can't find his way back.

The Girl in Seat 24B is a story of love and forgiveness.

Author Bio:

I'm a fifth generation Colorado native who currently calls Alabama home. I'm the mother of three amazing children who have grown up way too fast. I enjoy the mountains, vacations at the beach, date night with my wonderful husband, late night talks with my kiddos, touring model homes, and pink bubblegum ice cream.

In 2014, I published three novels: Other Side of the Wall, The Girl in Seat 24B, and Professional Boundaries. In February 2015, I plan to release House Divided.

Other Links:

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Book Tour: Rough Around the Edges Meets Refined


Rough Around the Edges
  Around the Edges Meets Refined (Meet Your Match #2) by Rachael Anderson For Noah Mackie, life is finally back on track. He has a great support system, a promised promotion is on its way, and he's finally getting the hang of this single father thing. But when the job falls through and his neighbor's matchmaking efforts become more aggressive, Noah is in for yet another unwanted detour. With his career and two spirited daughters to worry about, he doesn't have time for dating—especially not someone like Cassie Ellis, his girls' beautiful and sophisticated dance instructor, who is about as open and approachable as a brick wall. Rough around the Edges Meets Refined is about two people who think they know exactly what they want but who have no idea what they really need. It's about learning that people aren't always what they seem and that sometimes life’s detours take you exactly where you need to go.  
Purchase Your Copy from Amazon.com

add to goodreads new
Rough Around the Edges
 

Rachael

  Author Rachael Anderson USA Today bestselling author, Rachael Anderson is the mother of four and is pretty good at breaking up fights, or at least sending guilty parties to their rooms. She can't sing, doesn't dance, and despises tragedies. But she recently figured out how yeast works and can now make homemade bread, which she is really good at eating.






25_Amazon_Paypal$25 Blog Tour Giveaway Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 1/19/15 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by readinglight.com. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, December 13, 2014

SMT: The Forgotten Princess of Elmetia

The Forgotten Princess of Elmetia
Rachel A James
Medieval Romance
Christian Romance

An epic tale of grace, forgiveness, and love as a forgotten princess seeks to reclaim her true identity...

It is 616AD, and one fatal night the ancient Kingdom of Elmetia falls. Saxons kill the Elmetian King, and capture Princess Teagen.

To survive, her identity must be forgotten. Teagen poses as a slave girl and works for the Saxons in the Kingdom of Deira. But when she discovers her long lost brother is alive, she finds a way to escape, and her path crosses with Ryce the Warrior.

Struggling with his past, and angry against the tyrant Saxon King, Ryce helps the princess in pursuit of her brother. But just as the connection between them intensifies, obstacles get in their way. The Saxon King now wants vengeance, and will stop at nothing to get it.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...