Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Author Interview: Ruth Roberts

Ruth Roberts
author, Diamond Heiress


Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

Spain. My ancestors are from Spain so it's a place I've always wanted to go. For a book, it would be a contemporary romance. Imagine a modern day Spanish Duque who lives in a Palazzo, in desperate need of a strong- willed woman to shake up his perfectly ordered life.

What is your favorite genre to write? 

Romance, it's the only genre I write. But, my books are a little different because they are clean romance. They focus on the beauty of falling in love, the emotions two people feel, the road leading to a Happily Ever After.

What is your favorite genre to read? 

I like many genres, it depends on my mood.  Romance, of course, but I also enjoy reading suspense thrillers, and mystery.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I enjoy reading romance novels, but most of them show way more than I want to read. So, I decided one day to start writing my own stories. That is how I began writing clean romance.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I was asked to participate in an anthology with nine other authors, so I am currently working on a short story for that project. It will be released in the Spring sometime. I am also working on a novel that I plan to self publish. It will be my first attempt at self publishing, so I am a bit nervous.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer? 

Reviews. I like to hear from fans who enjoyed my books, I wouldn't mind from hearing from those who didn't enjoy them also, but so far all my reviews have been great.

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader? 

One reader, who wrote a review, said the I had become her new favorite author. That made my year. :)

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

None really. I completely make them all up in my imagination. It's so much fun.

Please share about your book:  

My newest release is Diamond Heiress. It takes place in the world of jewels, so there is a lot of glimmer and sparkle. Brielle has to serve as CEO of Santorini Jewels for one year to receive the trust fund her grandfather left her. Nick Trenton thought he would be named CEO. Now, through a clash of wills and a smoldering attraction, they have to run this international company together. Their story will take you from Dallas to London to New York.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like? 

They are both strong, but vulnerable. Each of them are alone in the world and need someone to share life with. They are also beautiful and intelligent. Brielle has problems trusting people and Nick has trouble opening up.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

Diamond Heiress will transport you into a world most of us will never see, one of high society, money and jewels. But, the characters are down to earth people like you and me, who will capture your heart.

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Crossing the Ice


Jennifer Comeaux
Contemporary Romance
Book 4 of Series
Life on the Edge, Edge of the Past, Fighting for the Edge, Crossing the Ice

"I’d felt a little somethin’ somethin’, but it was a moot point."




Courtney and Mark only have one shot to win the Olympics before life and college take over.  They are determined to make it, even when their coaches suddenly decide to take on another set of pairs skaters.  Their competition, to be exact.  Of course they've come across Josh and Stephanie, a rich and somewhat snobby brother-sister pair, in the past.  Courtney even had a crush on Josh - the shyer of the two.  But as they spend more and more time together, Courtney may find that her feelings aren't just rekindled - they're returned.  How can she stay focused on achieving her dreams, when it means crushing his?  Not to mention that both of their partners would kill them for getting involved with each other.  Can Courtney find a way to win the gold, and not lose in love?

My Opinion: This was an interesting chapter to these books.  There was an enjoyable blending of old and new characters that made it really nice.  It was good to revisit characters whose stories had past, and see side characters blossom into their own.  The main characters were a little whiny, and hard to really commiserate with - perhaps it's just a sports competition world I've never been a part of.  The romance was cute and a little steamy (while riding the appropriate line), but I felt like there wasn't as much resistance to them coming together as there could be.  Overall a fun book, and I hope not the last in the series, but neither was it my favorite.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Monday, November 24, 2014

Book Spotlight: Her Mistletoe Cowboy

Her Mistletoe Cowboy
Alissa Callen


Corporate analyst, Ivy Bishop, intends spending Christmas holed up in an isolated Montana ranch house with only an abandoned puppy for company. When the festive season ends her broken heart might just have had just enough time to heal.

Ex-rodeo rider, Rhett Dixon, has put his playing days behind him. He has something to prove. Despite being the first son in three generations of ranchers, he is determined to succeed in ranching on his own merits.

But when Rhett’s new neighbor proves to be far-too-pretty and far-too-compassionate, his single-minded focus deserts him. And the more time Ivy spends with the workaholic, blue-eyed cowboy next door the more she realizes her heart isn’t actually broken – yet.

Author Bio:

When not writing Alissa Callen plays traffic controller to four children, three dogs, two horses and one renegade cow who really does believe the grass is greener on the other side of the fence. After a childhood spent chasing sheep on the family farm, she has always been drawn to remote areas and small towns, even when residing overseas. Once a teacher and a counsellor, she remains interested in the life journeys people take. Her books are characteristically heart-warming, emotional and character driven. She currently lives on a small slice of rural Australia.

Other Links:

Friday, November 21, 2014

Author Interview: Alissa Callen

Alissa Callen
author, The Wildflower Ranch series



Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

When I’m not writing I play traffic controller to four children, three dogs, two horses and one renegade cow who really does believe the grass is greener on the other side of the fence. After a childhood spent chasing sheep on the family farm, I’ve always been drawn to remote areas and small towns, even when living overseas. I’ve been lucky enough to live in the Rocky Mountains in Colorado, in London and also in Scotland. Once a teacher and a counselor, I remain interested in the life journeys that people take. I currently live on a small slice of rural Australia.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

My TBR pile resembles the Leaning Tower of Pisa. I’m always adding books in the hope I’ll soon have time to read them.

I read across many genres from medieval historical to western.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Anywhere :) The world is such a vast and beautiful place I’d be happy to fly to any location for research.

What is one silly fact about you?

I read the ending of a book first but write my own ending last.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I’ve always loved to write and so does my daughter. I think, sometimes, it is just a compulsion (my husband calls it an obsession :) ) to find the words for the stories that fill your head.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?

I’m a classic introvert and so my stories reflect the parameters of my own comfort zone.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

Cherish Me, Cowboy is the first book in my Wildflower Ranch series set in Montana. The second book is available for Christmas and is called Her Mistletoe Cowboy. I’m busy writing the third book now, Her Big Sky Cowboy, which will be out early 2015. I also write full length rural novels set in the outback and my third book is in the planning stage.

Where do your ideas come from?

From all around me :)  From the brown snake at my back door, to the cow who stuck her head in a plastic garden chair to the resilience of the local rural communities in times of floods, fires or droughts.

Please share about your book – Cherish Me, Cowboy 

Cherish Me, Cowboy celebrates life in a small close-knit rural community. The heroine, cowgirl Payton Hollis, embodies the cowboy code. She is resilient, courageous and honorable. It will take a special type of man to match her strength and her spirit. Cordell Morgan is such a man. The only problem is that he has his own demons and never stays in one place for very long.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Cordell Morgan – guarded, emotionless, strong, gentle, a one-woman man.

Thanks so much for having me. :)


Social Media Links:

Thursday, November 20, 2014

Book Tour: Bulletproof


Bulletproof by Melissa Pearl
Release Day Blitz



Morgan Pritchett doesn't need anyone. Strong-willed and confident, she's the master of organizing and looking after everyone around her. In her mind, she's bulletproof. 

But she has one weakness - men. She can't seem to live without them, yet is unable to find her perfect match. After yet another break up, Morgan promises her sister and best friend that she'll write off men for the rest of the year...but then she meets Sean Jaxon. 


Sean Jaxon has worked hard to become a Hollywood actor, scoring minor roles and slowly making a name for himself as an action sidekick. After a chance encounter with the stunning Morgan Pritchett, he decides to take a risk and put his dancing skills to the test by signing on for the lead role in Superstar, a TV musical. He never thought he'd reconnect with the girl who urged him to ignore his manager and be honest with himself, but when Morgan shows up on the set as a production assistant, he realizes he's found his ultimate weakness - her. 


Their passion for dance and music will bring them together, but will their relationship be able to withstand the forces determined to pull them apart? As Morgan comes face-to-face with her long-buried demons and Sean decides just how much he's willing to risk for love, these two songbirds discover something...they're not as bulletproof as they thought.

BUY IT AT:

~*~ABOUT MELISSA PEARL~*~

Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan... not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. "Best. Year. Ever!!" She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book was released in February 2014 - True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under her own name as well. She has six books releasing in 2014 and is excited about writing each and every one of them.

"I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love."

GIVEAWAY:

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Author Interview: Jennifer Snow

Jennifer Snow
author, Brookhollow Series


Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

I love holiday romances-any time of year. I adore Jill Shalvis and Kristan Higgins, so they can always be found at the top of my reading pile.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

Small town USA :) I know that may sound boring to some people, but being from Canada, I love travelling through the U.S. I love Vegas and California and I’m currently writing two different series set in each place, so I’d want them to send me there.

What is your favorite genre to write?

I like to write contemporaries. My Brookhollow series is with Harlequin Heartwarming, so it is sweet romance and I really enjoy writing the softer heat level for this series, but I’m also working on two mainstream contemporary series that are higher heat levels.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I started writing when I was five. I used to ask my mom to give my ‘assignments’, so she would pick a subject and I would read our encyclopedias and then write ‘research papers’ on the subject. I’m such a geek, I know. Then at sixteen, I wrote a YA romance novel and submitted it to Harlequin lol. That’s when I started collecting rejection letters lol. But they were so encouraging and positive that I kept writing.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

I will be finishing my Brookhollow series this year with books five and six releasing in 2015, then I have two other series that I’m working on. I also have a novella scheduled for release next year in a Heartwarming Holiday Anthology.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

Writing is hard, for me anyway, so I think the most rewarding part is hearing from readers that all the work paid off and they enjoy my stories. I like to interject humor in my books, even if the subject matter tends to be a little darker, so if I get feedback that my story made a reader both laugh and cry, I’ve succeeded.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I have written a lot of books and most sit in different stages of finished in my desk drawer lol, but with my Nov release, I will have published seven books. And I’m under contract for three more to release next year. Hitting that ten book mark will be another milestone reached.

Please share about your book (series) 


My Brookhollow series is a small-town contemporary series set in the fictional town of Brookhollow, New Jersey, population 10k. It follows the lives of about ten main characters and their friends and family throughout a six book series. The books are stand alones, but they do follow a real timeline, so if readers don’t want spoilers, it’s best to read them in order, as the characters from each story make appearances in each other’s books. To keep things organized, I have a pegboard on my office wall with character photos, bios, a town map, etc. And I’ll be sad to take it down at the end of the year, but it will also feel great to wrap up what has been a wonderful experience these last two years.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far?

I love all my characters and choosing one is like choosing a favorite child…BUT…I will always have a soft spot for Luke Dawson in book one-The Trouble With Mistletoe.  He is such a good man and readers love him.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Book Spotlight: Cherish Me, Cowboy

Cherish Me, Cowboy
Alissa Callen


Working cowgirl, Payton Hollis, has no time for hairdryers, heels and helplessness. She must save her home, Beargrass Hills Ranch. She also has no time for men. She already is boot-deep in blue-eyed cowboy trouble.

City-boy, Cordell Morgan, isn’t who he seems. His fancy suit and slow smile hide dark secrets. Secrets as to why his hands are callused, why he never stays around and why he has really come to Marietta, Montana.

Between a shrewd old rancher, a cantankerous rodeo horse and a stud bull called Trouble, Payton and Cordell have no chance to lead separate lives. No matter how much their futures may depend upon them doing so.

Can a sassy cowgirl lower her guard for a man who will soon be gone? And can a man who believes emotions are nothing but a liability take the ultimate risk?

Author Bio:

When not writing Alissa Callen plays traffic controller to four children, three dogs, two horses and one renegade cow who really does believe the grass is greener on the other side of the fence. After a childhood spent chasing sheep on the family farm, she has always been drawn to remote areas and small towns, even when residing overseas. Once a teacher and a counsellor, she remains interested in the life journeys people take. Her books are characteristically heart-warming, emotional and character driven. She currently lives on a small slice of rural Australia.

Other Links:

Friday, November 14, 2014

Book Tour: Love Overcomes




Single mother Arabella Mackenzie never imagined that going to California with her sister Clara would have such a huge impact on her life. Since the end of a disastrous relationship, Arabella has been wary of wanting or needing anyone other than her family. But when she meets hunky actor, Jeremy Fowlis, she begins to have feelings for a man for the first time since her three year old son was born. Now, she needs to try to overcome her past and learn to trust again.


Jeremy is not used to women who don't want to date him, or at least show him off to their friends - he is an in-demand actor, after all.  He is tired of the shallow, avaricious attention that he gets from the public, but when he meets intelligent, cautious Arabella, she doesn't even know his name.  Arabella’s grounded beauty captivates him instantly, but, he is wary of getting involved with a single mother with a complicated past.


Can Arabella and Jeremy both overcome their doubts and fears in order to find love?


Release Date:
November 4, 2014

Book Links:


Buy Links:


Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/XU7x-TJ5ij4



Rafflecopter (only open to US residents):
Author Interview

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

There were five of us kids growing up, my sister is nine years older than me so I drove her nuts. I was lucky enough to have an amazing family. My cousins were my best friends, I have a lot of cousins. I seriously lost count. We were always there for each other when it mattered most. I want my kids to grow up with the kind of love and friendship that is always there because you are family.



Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine. 

I like a hero who is rough around the edges. I want him to be sweet and caring but maybe others see him as unapproachable. But he is the kind of guy who would come over at eleven at night because you let your child’s pet out of the cage and need to find it before the kid knows. That sort of hero, he can’t be perfect because nobody is but as long as he is perfect for the heroine then it all works out.

My favorite heroines are women who are not afraid to go out and get their happy ending for themselves. They do not need a man to rescue them, they will do it on their own. If a guy wants to help, to stand by their side, help fight whatever it is she is up against that is great but she does not NEED a guy to save her because she has family, friends, and God. She does not need to be completed by some guy. But with that being said, realizing that there is a right guy out there for her is important too. I just want her to be able to realize she may not be perfect but she can do what needs to be done because she has to do it.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list? 

I have my classics. My Austen, Dickens, Lewis, Tolstein. And then I have Wendy Knight when I am in the mood for some urban fantasy with amazing battle scenes, Kelly Martin when I want a dark inspirational (she wrote a book about a “zombie” and it was still inspirational, that is incredible), Chanda Hahn’s An Unfortunate Fairy Tale series (it is something my daughter and I like to read together). There are so many books and authors that are on my “must read’ list. I could probably fill your blog with them, and with reasons why I love them.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Hmmm, anywhere in the world? I’d have to go to Scotland. I actually started a story where the main character moves to Scotland and I realized that I do not know the local slang. I think it would be fun to be able to go there to research.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

I want to write something that my kids can read, my momma, my aunts and uncles, the lady sitting next to me at church.

Plus I feel that you lose a lot of the story when you get into the heavier stuff. I do not write steamy romance, I blush writing a kissing scene.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I have my second book due out soon, I do not have an exact release date right this moment. I am done with content edits though. I have three other stories that I am working on, well four now. I wrote a Halloween short story for my street team and I really want to expand on it.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

I think there is a lot of personality and experiences that go into writing. So far every main character I have written has been driven by family. That bond that comes from really loving your family. I think writing a character that is not family orientated would be a challenge.

Where do your ideas come from?

I have had ideas come from a conversation with my sister, a dream, a talk with my daughter, I had one after watching a television show then I got to wondering about something that happened in the show and what that would be like. A photo can do it too. Random things really.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I have two completed books. Love Overcomes is my first one published. My second one is contracted but no set release date. I have about four that are somewhere in the writing process. And ideas for so many more. Plus two children’s books that are not published. I have a cousin working on illustrations for them.

Please share about your book.

Love Overcomes is the story of Arabella struggling to leave behind the darkness of her past. She goes with her son and her sister to California and that is where she meets Jeremy. Jeremy is an actor but Arabella does not watch the kind of movies that he films so she has no clue who he is when she first meets him. They both have things that need to be dealt with. There is a strong sense of family in this book, if it were not for family Arabella never would have made her journey to California.



If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Family-orientated, loyal, loving, wary, considerate.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

They are both stubborn. Arabella has been hurt and has problems trusting others outside of her circle because of that. She is a fun person and easy going but extremely cautious. She loves her family and would do anything for them.

Jeremy is so used to women using him to climb the social ladder. He is that guy who is sweet, offering to help with things but at the same time he wouldn’t allow someone to hurt somebody he cares for.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Everyone has something in their lives that holds them back from something; they have something that they need to overcome to get to where they need to be so it is a book that many can relate to. Also it is a sweet love story.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...