Monday, August 18, 2014

Giveaway!!! Snow Fence Road and Purple Goodies!

Hey there, you wonderful readers!  I am so excited to tell you about a fun giveaway today generously sponsored by Phyllis Edgerly Ring.  She is offering one lucky winner a copy of her book, Snow Fence Road, but also a pair of beautiful earrings and lavender bath salts!  What a great way to relax in the tub with a good book and look cute when you're done!



For Amazon's page on Snow Fenced Road, please click here.

So, how do you enter to win?  It's easy!  Just use the Rafflecopter form below!

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  This giveaway is open to US mailing addresses only.  The giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on Aug 27, 2014.  All entries must be submitted before then.  The winner will be notified via email and have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, August 11, 2014

Author Interview: Susan Stoker

Susan Stoker
author, Outback Hearts

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I currently live in Texas. Imarried a military man I met on the Internet 14 years ago and we’re still going strong. We have lived in several states and have settled (for now) in the great state of Texas. We have three rescued dogs which we’re crazy about.

Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.

My favorite type of hero is the “Knight in Shining Armor”. I know, I know, women are independent and don’t need rescuing...but there’s something so romantic (in my mind) about a guy who can swoop in and help a woman out of a bad situation.

What is your favorite genre to read?

Romance. Any kind. Although suspenseful romance isn’t my favorite, I always have to read the end of the book to see “who did it” before I can read the book. (I know, I’m one of THOSE people). Lol

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well? 

I haven’t delved into writing more steamy romances. I like to read those now and then, but for now the stories that I’ve written haven’t really called for the extreme side of sex.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

The last book in my Beyond Reality series will hopefully be out before not too much longer. Then I have a series with a SEAL team planned. I know, I know, the SEAL thing has been done, but I just can’t resist. They are the poster children for the “knight in shining armor” type of book. This will be a series of 7 books, and I already have 3 of them complete. So that should be good news for my readers.

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader? 

The best thing I’ve heard from my readers is that they couldn’t put my book down. I think that’s the highest compliment an author can have. It means the reader is so engrossed in the story you’ve written that they just don’t want to stop.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published? 

I’ve written a lot of “stories”. They aren’t complete books, if I was going to turn them into “books”, I’d have to add quite a few words to some of them. But I constantly think of good “scenes” I’d like to read and jot those down. There are probably around 15 left on my computer that I haven’t turned into books yet.

Please share about your book 

Outback Hearts is the first book in my Beyond Reality series. It’s set in Australia and it’s a behind the scenes look at how a reality show might look. Alex is the “bachelor” and Sam is one of the women competing for his attention. Each book in the series is a stand-alone and the man always gets his woman in the end.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like? 

Alex is kinda na├»ve, but genuinely wants to find a woman to love. He is allowed to watch the tapes of the behind the scenes on the show, so he can really see what the women are like. Sam is a normal woman, not a beauty queen, not a former model, just normal. She has a hard time fitting in with the other women on the show and she fights with herself on whether or not she should fight for Alex’s attentions or if she should just give it up.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

Outback Hearts is a nice easy beach read that will entertain you for a few hours.

BUY LINKS

Outback Hearts




Flaming Hearts


Wednesday, August 6, 2014

Blog Tour: Shadows in the Curtain




Every stage actress wants fans, but what happens when one goes too far?

Emmy has the perfect life— a house on the beach, a successful career headlining the local theater, and love. But when a brutal murder brings unimaginable grief, Emmy’s world comes crashing down. As she tries to pick up the pieces, she can’t seem to avoid Josh, the new fireman in town.

Emmy does her best to fight the sizzle in her chest when Josh is near. But with the stalker still out there, terrorizing her and those she cares about, she can’t fall for anyone—especially Josh, a suspect in the murder investigation.

If Emmy allows a man to get close, it’s not just her heart she puts at risk, it’s her life.

“Cami Checketts can spin a tale like no other. Love, suspense, thrills, she has it all, and Shadows in the Curtain is no exception. What a thrill ride! I highly recommend this book. 10 stars!!”
Sherry Gammon, author of the Port Fare Series

“I’m a sucker for the exciting parts, and this book has scenes that had my eyes racing my heart to the end of each page!”
 Amanda Tru, author of the Yesterday Series

Shadows in the Curtain - Only $2.99 at the following retailers:
Buy it in print here for only $8.63

Cami Checketts' books Poison Me and The Colony are only $.99 for the length of the Shadows in the Curtain blog tour - August 4th - 9th.

Poison Me 
Jake Merrill was raised by his grandmother, Ruby, and her hilarious friends. After a suspicious death at the retirement home where Ruby lives, she enlists Jake and Chanel, the beautiful activities director, to help her find the killer.
But secrets Ruby has kept for decades threaten her family and the man she’s always loved but could never have. Chanel’s unstable ex-boyfriend, a presumably dead relative, and vicious criminals add to the confusion. Time is running out as Jake, Chanel, and Ruby desperately search for clues to solve the murders and fight to save those they love.

The Colony
To protect her sons from the mistakes of her past, Brinlee Trapper escapes to a secluded mountain home. But there are dangers lurking in the mountains she has never encountered. The little family is saved from injury by Jed, a mysterious hunter. Brinlee is drawn to him, but she worries about his involvement with a peaceful commune hidden deep in the mountains behind her property.
Lance, Brinlee's attentive neighbor, has his own troubled history. Between his obvious attraction to Brinlee and his developing love for her children, Brinlee finds it more than difficult to guard her heart against this tender intrusion.
While Jed offers a life of excitement and freedom, Lance holds the key to the family Brinlee always wanted. When it comes time to choose, she learns that both men have secrets that could shatter her fledgling trust in men and the wrong decision could leave more than her heart exposed to danger.

Excerpt from Shadows in the Curtain

Timothy stuck to her side while people surged passed with compliments, hand squeezes, and the occasional hug. Emmy searched every eye, but only saw excitement from a fun performance or weariness from sitting too long. If anyone had murder in mind, he was as good at putting on a fake face as she was. 
No one piqued her curiosity. Until he came. She had no clue what his name was, but the past few weeks she’d seen him almost every morning at the gym. He was much too good-looking, with his rippling muscles and deep blue eyes. She always avoided looking directly at him, though she knew that was as obvious an indicator of her attraction as staring would be. She couldn’t avoid him now. 
The wide entryway, which featured plush, faded carpet and wood-planked walls, shrank as he drew nearer. The babble of the crowd faded. He reached for her hand, staring deep into her eyes. Her hand fitted itself into his like he was a magnet. Her entire body leaned toward him. 
“You were amazing. So passionate.” He smiled and the room swayed.
Emmy was quite sure the passion she experienced right now had nothing to do with singing or acting. She should draw away but couldn’t force herself to. “Thank you,” she managed, embarrassed by the huskiness of her voice as she tried to catch a breath.
The crowd pressed forward, and he was forced to release her hand and move to the side. His blonde date gushed over Emmy for a second, and then they were gone. 
Emmy continued greeting other patrons but couldn’t forget the allure of his blue eyes. He didn’t seem like the creepy stalker type, but she had to wonder. Could he be the one sending the notes?

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Author Interview: Kimberly Troutte

Kimberly Troutte
author, God Whisperer

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures).

I am a Southern California girl. Once my family settled here, I dropped roots and planted myself. My sister, sister-in-law, two sons, and one niece were all born in the same hospital. I met my husband in elementary school, but I let him grow up a little before I married him.

While I love my town, I do enjoy getting away and seeing new places. I guess the adventure bug bit me when I was a little girl. My father traveled for business and sent beautiful postcards to his Love Bug (me) from all over the world. He told me such interesting tidbits about the places that I felt like I was there. He’d return home with a doll from Bulgaria, Denmark, or Germany. When I was old enough, and he could swing it, my dad took the family with him to England, Australia, Scotland, Poland, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan. Gosh, I was so spoiled.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

Oooh, good question. I like to set my books in interesting places. So far my stories have taken place in Spain, China, Macau, Colombia, and the quaint made-up town of Solberg, California (a place suspiciously like my hometown).

Currently, I’m writing a book set in the Alaska. Wow, there are so many places I’d like to visit. It would be great if the company would fly me to Europe for research. I’m sure I could write an adventure that winds its way through France, Switzerland, Italy, Greece, Austria...Maybe on a train!

 What is your favorite genre to write? 

This is a really tough question because I have been known to genre-blend a little. Okay, a lot. It’s almost an illness. I write the way I cook. It drives my mother insane when I don’t follow a recipe. I start throwing in a spice here and there, a pinch of cinnamon, or a little fresh basil, hot peppers, a touch of zest...I can’t seem to help myself. My books always have a romantic suspense flavor, but some of them have a touch of historical, or dash of inspirational, and usually a heavy sprinkle of danger and action-adventure.

What is one silly fact about you?

My kids would say, “Just one?” My time is limited so I usually write or edit while I work out. Members of the YMCA are getting used to the crazy lady who edits her chapters while on the elliptical machine or who plots books during spin class.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well? 

I write love stories, some of them sweeter than others. I don’t see myself ever writing books steamier than an R rating and my wheelhouse is more along the PG-13 variety. I’m not making any statements about other books, or authors, just stating where I feel comfortable writing. Because there is a sweet little boy in GOD WHISPERER, it needed to be a clean, sweet romance.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

My first book in the SEALs EXtreme Team series released in April and was included in the NY Times Bestselling SEALS of SUMMER Military super bundle. The second book and a short story came out shortly after that. Book 3 will release in November. There is talk of another SEAL super bundle on the horizon but I better keep my lips zipped on that for now. I love my SEALs books and will write more of them next year. I also am planning another series with a dash of inspiration.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

Touching readers and maybe, hopefully, making a difference in this world. Years ago, my mom was having a tough time because her mother was dying. Nana was old, sick, and down to her last weeks. It was so sad, but we all knew what was coming. My mom was distraught and couldn’t sleep. In the dark, quiet house, she tiptoed downstairs and curled up with one of my books. Even though she was feeling gutted when she started reading, she surprised herself by laughing out loud at one of my humorous section. I was honored to do that for her—take away her pain for a short time and lift her spirits.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

Some of my humor sneaks into the pages and I use my past experiences in foreign countries when I write. GOD WHISPERER is a whole other ball of wax. It is humorous in spots, and full of danger in others, but it is also a deeply personal book inspired by my son. He was born with an incomplete, deaf ear. The surgeon at UCLA drilled a hole and created an eardrum from tissue behind my son’s ear. When my boy could hear out of both ears for the first time?

Holy moly, what a miracle! The feelings I experienced during this real-life adventure flowed right onto the page. The characters, the setting, the medical stuff are authentic but fictionalized.

Your Book

Blurb for GOD WHISPERER:

A frightened mother on the run...

LONNIE HOGAN has lived and breathed fear for the eight years she and her son have been on the run. She cut ties with the past and is hiding out in a small offbeat Danish community in California. Will the killers find them? She’s ready to run again, or fight for her son’s precious life, but she won’t let anyone take David.

A desperate man searching for his family...

Few people on St. John, Virgin Islands, know their favorite doctor, MARK NORTON, is a desperate man searching for the life that was stolen from him. After hours, he surfs the internet for leads and retraces paths gone stone-cold to find his missing family. He’ll do anything to find them and get his son back.

Will sacrifice everything to protect the boy who hears God...

DAVID HOGAN is a regular kid, if you don’t count the one-ear thing. He didn’t mind being deaf in one ear, but it hurt his mom, way down deep, as if she caused it. Why won’t she see bad things can happen for good reasons? Like the ear surgery that allowed him to hear God. Talking to God is one of the greatest things to ever happen to him, even if Mom doesn’t believe it. But the killers can find them now. Can one little kid save them all?

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Heroine: Frightened mother protecting her son.

Hero: Desperately searching for his family

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

GOD WHISPERER is an uplifting story of heart-break, sacrifice, redemption, and undying love. It proves that anyone can change the world, including one little boy born with a deaf nub instead of an ear.

Monday, August 4, 2014

Robber Knight


Robert Their
Medieval Romance

"Falkenstein was not a man to make idle threats; he enjoyed making real ones far too much."




With he father lying sick abed, it is up to young Ayla to respond to the dreaded Falkenstein's demands.  Unfortunately, he doesn't want a forfeit of land from them.  He wants her hand in marriage.  Refusing to marry such a monster, Ayla accepts a fued, and the coming war with it.  But she doesn't know how to fight a war.  She can't even stand up to the red robber knight that has plagued her village, and most recently, herself.  When she takes home the mangled body of a man claiming to be a merchant that was accosted by her enemy, Ayla has no idea just what kind of man she is helping.  Ruben has been a fierce warrior for as long as he can remember, and hasn't had an honorable thing to fight for in years.  So what is it about this Ayla that makes him wish his injuries would heal so he could help defend her?  And him to regret ever becoming her other enemy as the red robber knight?

My Opinion: I'm afraid this one had some fun potential, but fell well below the mark.  It was agonizingly slow with what seemed like the same scenes over and over and over.  There was never a reason for the people and Ayla to be victorious, while Ruben was inconsistent in his own character and apparent abilities.  Ruben seemed to be a coarse and never-redeemed or justified fallen hero.  His backstory was frustratingly never explained, until, by the time I got to the extended chapters which were supposed to explain it, I no longer cared.  Ayla was a rollercoaster of emotions that would be fitting for a modern teenager, but it was placed in a time where she would not be allowed or expected to show such immaturity.  Several words and phrases were jarringly and obviously out of time for the setting.  The story stops in the middle, like a bad cliffhanger in a mini-series that leaves you hanging for the next installment.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Saturday, August 2, 2014

SMT: Frostbitten

Frostbitten
Heather Beck
Young Adult Romance

Great beauty hides dark secrets... 

Seventeen-year-old Anastasia Lockhart has never led an easy life, but when she starts getting into serious trouble, she’s sent to live with her grandparents in Cedar Falls. The small, picturesque town hasn’t changed since she visited four years ago, with one exception – the presence of a handsome, mysterious boy named Frost. Despite warnings from her grandparents and friends to stay away from Frost, Anastasia can’t deny their attraction, and the more time they spend together, the deeper in love they fall. Unfortunately, Frost has a secret that is beyond Anastasia’s wildest imagination, and she soon finds herself in the midst of a supernatural legend that has haunted Cedar Falls for years. 

Can Anastasia and Frost’s love really overcome anything, or are their fates much darker?



Friday, August 1, 2014

CLOSED Giveaway!!! Mischief in Italy

Today I am very happy to tell you about a wonderful giveaway opportunity.  The lovely Beate Boker is generously giving away a copy of her wonderful contemporary romance, Mischief in Italy, to THREE lucky winners!  This was a wonderful romantic comedy you don't want to miss out on!


For my summary and review, please click here.

So, how do you enter to win?  It's easy!  Just use the Rafflecopter form below!

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  This giveaway is open internationally.  This giveaway ends at 11:59 pm EST on Aug 11, 2014.  All entries must be submitted before then.  The winners will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Book Spotlight: Innocent Assassins

Innocent Assassins
Pemo Donyo


There are three rules to staying an assassin at the corporation of Covert Operatives: (1) your parents must be deceased, (2) your contracts must remain confidential, and (3) you must be under the age of eighteen.

After a murder mission goes awry a month before her eighteenth birthday, Covert Operatives assassin Jane Lu finds herself caught by the federal government and forced to spy for the CIA while remaining in Covert Operatives. Once her spying mission is over she will be allowed to live a civilian life without facing criminal consequences, a life she’s only dreamed of having.

As Jane leaks information to the CIA, she uncovers secrets with enough power to both destroy Covert Operatives and her own boyfriend, Adrian King, who’s next in line to be CEO of the company. When her identity as a double agent for the CIA is discovered within Covert Operatives, she must decide where her allegiance, and her heart, truly lies.

Author Bio:
Pema Donyo is a coffee-fueled college student by day and a creative writer by night. She currently lives in sunny Southern California, where any temperature less than 70 degrees is freezing and flip-flops never go out of season. As a rising sophomore at Claremont McKenna, she's still working on mastering that delicate balance between finishing homework, meeting publisher deadlines, and... college.

Other Links:

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Book Blast: Son of War, Daughter of Chaos




 Son of War, Daughter of Chaos Aislynn is accustomed to watching for the enemy. Her parents instructed her from the time she was young to look for the signs: people with greater than normal strength, eyes that can glow green, and have the ability to jump long distances. Over the years, Aislynn has come to view her parents’ fears as quirks—things that get in the way of having a normal high school life. When Aislynn’s mother dies under suspicious conditions, her father doubles his restrictions. But all his precautions can’t stop the boy with glowing green eyes from finding Aislynn. She realizes too late she’s been drafted into an ancient Egyptian war, whether she’s prepared or not.  

Son of War Daughter of Chaos Blog Tour


Janette RallisonAuthor Janette Rallison Janette Rallison is old. Don’t ask how old, because it isn’t polite. Let’s just say she’s older than she’d like to be and leave it at that. Janette lives in Chandler, Arizona with her husband, five children and enough cats to classify her as “an eccentric cat lady.” She did not do this on purpose. (The cats, that is; she had the children on purpose.) Every single one of the felines showed up on its own and refuses to leave. Not even the family’s fearless little Westie dog can drive them off. Since Janette has five children and deadlines to write books, she doesn’t have much time left over for hobbies. But since this is the internet and you can’t actually check up to see if anything on this site is true, let’s just say she enjoys dancing, scuba diving, horse back riding and long talks with Orlando Bloom. (Well, I never said he answers back.)


book blast button

          Blast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash 
 Ends 8/17/14 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, July 28, 2014

Book Spotlight: Love on the Lido Deck

Love on the Lido Deck
Barbara Olivero


Sharp-witted, always-organized Keira Graham has traded in her high tech career as a systems analyst for the whirlwind world of event planning. As she builds up her fledging business, she learns that her widowed mother has news of her own – she has a serious gentleman caller! Is Keira ready for mom’s new romance?

When she gets a game-changing opportunity to organize a major event on a luxury Caribbean cruise, Keira turns to best pal chef Alexandria D'Agostino to help recruit famous chefs who will offer classes for foodies looking for fun in the sun as they gain cooking know-how. The cruise becomes a rollicking adventure for Keira, her sassy assistant Juliet, the entire D'Agostino clan, Keira's mother and other surprise guests. And has Keira meet her match in charismatic Cruise Director Brennan McAllister, who could have something more than keeping everything shipshape on his mind?

Filled with wit, charm, and a few recipes along the way, Love on the Lido Deck brings characters to life with laugh-out-loud situations, crisp dialog and sweet romance on the high seas.

Author Bio:
Readers' Favorite Award™ Winner Barbara Oliverio is the daughter of Italian immigrants and grew up in North Central West Virginia with a love of reading and a passion for learning. Following a career path that included being a teacher, journalist, and marketer, she has lived as far away from home as Italy where she practiced her family's native tongue as well as took advantage of living near to other European countries to travel extensively. A rabid Pittsburgh Steeler fan, she lives with her husband, an equally committed New York Giants fan, in suburban Denver where off-football-season dinner conversation is calmer and is usually accompanied by a meal she cooks from one of her mother's treasured recipes. Other interests include New York Times crossword puzzles, good movies, and travel. She volunteers extensively for her parish and writes for its publications. She also teaches part-time for the St. Catherine of Siena Institute.

Other Links:

BarnesandNoble.com


iTunes

Smashwords

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...