Monday, March 27, 2017

Giveaway!!! How to Love a Dog's Best Friend

Hello all you wonderful readers out there.  Who's ready to win a free book!  Cami Checketts, a fabulous author of many, many great clean romances, is offering you a chance to win her new book, How to Love a Dog's Best Friend.

First, here's a little about the book.

Attacked as a child, Brikelle Manwaring is terrified of dogs. When Colt Jepson's huge Great Dane chases her up a canyon, she tells him off and prays she'll never see either of them again. 

When Colt and Brikelle are forced to pretend they are married, Colt discovers there’s more to Brikelle than a feisty beauty who likes to tell him off. 

Their deception grows until neither of them are sure what is reality and what is fiction. The only thing they know is if they don’t tell the truth soon, they might lose their careers and any chance to be together.

Can Brikelle ever learn to love a beastly dog, or his owner?

So, who's ready to win??  TWO lucky winners will get a free e-copy of this great book!  Just enter with the Rafflecopter below!

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  The winners will be chosen at random and notified via email.  The winner's will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Book Spotlight: Love at Last

Delaney Cameron
Book 6, Finding Love Series


Working on her grandmother’s house gives Rosemary a reason to escape the media attention of a very public broken engagement. In St. Marys, she hopes to rekindle the music that used to flow easily from her mind to paper and rediscover the girl who’s somehow lost her way. Instead she finds someone who challenges her beliefs about love and tests her resolve to guard her heart.

Fresh from a writer’s convention in New York, Jase is excited to return home and start putting into practice all the things he’s learned. He has no idea that his gesture of kindness to a mysterious woman on a plane will turn his life upside down and give him his first tantalizing glimpse of true love. But unlike the fiction he spends his days writing, he can’t simply remove all the obstacles in his path to happiness. Love comes in its own time and on its own terms.

Author Bio:

I'm a Georgia girl at heart if not by birth. I love to read, watch college football, and spend time with my husband. I'm a hopeless romantic so there will always be a happily ever after in my stories. I also like to write about second chances because love doesn't always work out the first time.

My books are sweet romances set in both contemporary and regency settings featuring stories about the journey to love, from that first meeting to the point where two people know their hearts are no longer their own. My characters aren't perfect. They make mistakes and have faults like the rest of us. They learn the sometimes painful truth that the path to love isn't always smooth, but it's a road worth traveling.

For more information or to join my newsletter to be notified of new releases, please visit my website: delaneycameron.weebly.com



Friday, March 17, 2017

Book Blast: Arizona Forever (& Giveaway!)

   



  Arizona Forever by Jaclyn M. Hawkes Dr. Jessie Benn has everything—except Mr. Right. There’s only one problem. The one guy who intrigues her is completely wrong. She’s a veterinarian specializing in horses with a thriving practice nestled between her family’s Arizona ranches, looking for a nice, dependable guy who can take her to the eternities. He’s a visiting Australian business tycoon who’s just a touch bitter, a touch wild, and way more than a touch fascinating. What’s a girl to do? 




What Readers Are Saying About Jaclyn’s Books:

Jaclyn M Hawkes ROCKS! I love all of her books! This was another great story that had it all; great characters, fun, happiness, love, suspense, sadness, triumph, family, and joy. I'm not worried about letting my teenage daughters read anything Jaclyn writes. Thanks for another great read and please keep them coming! Karen Fantastic as always! Fantastic, magnificent and beautifully written. Amazing! I have never read a book before that had me captive from the beginning. I cried, have laughed and felt her deep grief and confusion. What a wonderful book and a wonderfully exceptional writer. I can't wait to read more of Jaclyn Hawkes books! Lorraine I love the way she writes! I love it! A fun read that warms your heart and makes you feel just as awesome as the characters!   Jaclyn Hawkes was delightful! A love story with depth and characters you want to meet. I find myself reading halfway into the night if I don't set a reminder to stop and sleep when I get her new books. Janie   Be sure to read Jaclyn’s other books Journey of Honor A love story The Outer Edge of Heaven The Most Important Catch Healing Creek Rockland Ranch Series Peace River Above Rubies Once Enchanted For Joey Warrior’s Moon The Sage After Rain After The Wind Wildflowers And Kisses
 

Excerpt - Arizona Forever

Prologue

  Six year old Jessie Benjamin did what she always did when she was afraid—she ran to her big brothers. Hurrying, she went two doors down the hall to Josh’s room where her other brothers, Brennan and McCade, would most likely be as well. It was where the four of them usually met whenever there was something wrong. Only this time, she knew something was really wrong because her brothers didn’t smile and tease her before they gathered around her like they usually did. They swallowed her into their jostling group hug, but this time there was the same scary feeling here in Josh’s room that she could hear in her parents’ raised voices coming from their room further down the hall. She couldn’t tell what they were fighting about. She only heard a word here or there, her mother’s voice loud and angry, while her dad’s had calmed down to sad and almost pleading. This bickering had been going on for a couple of days now, but nothing like tonight’s fighting. It was so strange. Her mother got fussy pretty often, but her dad never got like this. Ever. He was typically calm and soft spoken. Even when someone did something big, like when Brennan broke the garage window, he never got too riled. Whatever this bortion thing was her mother was hollering about had made him truly upset. Jessie looked up into the serious faces of her brothers and hid her own face against Josh’s chest. She wished her mother would calm down. That shouting couldn’t be good for the baby in her mom’s tummy. They’d just found out she was expecting. Jessie was praying it was a girl and couldn’t have been more excited for anything! Ever since she was little, she’d imagined she had this little blonde sister named Jennifer who did everything with her. She’d even dreamed about her and it felt like she’d waited forever. Even a baby brother would be wonderful! The fighting spilled out of their parents’ room into the hallway and her father almost seemed to be begging as he said, “Please, Clara, don’t do this. Just hang in there four more months. Even three and a half. Then you can leave and won’t ever even have to see it. I know it’s your body, but please . . . It’s my baby too.” Storming past Josh’s bedroom door, her mother shouted something they all clearly heard, “I’ll do what I want! It’s my body! In four months I’ll have missed the two biggest shows of the season. I missed shows for years to get the four we have. They’re plenty. It’s too much to ask that I do it again. This was your mistake, Ken—not mine! I shouldn’t have to pay for it and you can’t make me!” The front door slammed and a moment later Jessie heard a car squeal away and then there was only silence. For some reason, that scared her more than the arguing. Finally, her dad went into his office and stayed on the phone with someone for a long time and when he came out, he actually looked like he’d been crying. Of course, that couldn’t have been true. Dads didn’t cry. But he looked like it. That night, after everyone else was gone to bed, Jessie snuck into Josh’s room and sat on his bed and whispered, “Josh, what are they fighting about? What does bortion mean?” He was almost ten. He would know. At her question, Josh began to cry. He pulled Jessie into a gentle hug. When he could finally speak, he said so softly and so sadly that Jessie could hardly hear the words that shattered her world into pieces, “Dad says it means Mom’s going to have the baby taken out of her tummy and then it will die, Jessie.”    

Chapter 1

  21 years later   Jessie slid onto the bench on the edge of the soccer field beside McCade and gave an exaggerated sigh of exhaustion as she began to unlace her cleats and said, “Man, you schooled me out there this morning, Muck. I thought I had you until that sweet juke before the half and then I was toast. My calves are killing me!” McCade smiled and batted at her blonde ponytail. “That’s what you get for working too much and playing too little. Juked by the king of jukage!” He reached a hand over her head to fist bump Brennan who sat on the other side of her sucking on a water bottle. “She’s getting old and slow, Bren. Adulthood’ll do that to ya if you let it!” Brennan stopped drinking and squirted her in the face with the water bottle. “I don’t know. She’s still got some moves of her own. You forget she scored on me like I was standing still. She even got around Suki. And you know she’s got some moves.” Brennan winked at his wife Suki and McCade rolled his eyes. Jessie opened her mouth to catch some of the water Brennan was squirting, then smiled and said, “Twice. That would be twice I scored on you, bro. And that second one was world class. Christiano himself would have been jealous. Old and slow? I may be overworked and under played, but I’ll always be younger than the three of you. And we did win. I love this deal where the winners get taken to breakfast.” She pulled off her socks and wiggled her toes. “It’s already insanely hot out here. You two seem to be buying a lot lately. I’m having blueberry waffles. Think they’d care if I walked into the Wagonmaster bare footed? My feet can’t face shoes yet. They need air.” As if on cue, all three of her brothers held their noses and Josh’s wife, Lucy, laughed from where she was standing beside the bench. “Just ignore them, Jessie. They’re only sore losers. Nice toenails, by the way. Love the polka dots.” Jessie stretched her foot out to admire her pedicure. “They are cute, aren’t they? Ryley did them for me yesterday while I was finishing my patient log. You have a very artistic son.” Josh turned to her from the other end of the bench with a look of horror. “You let my son paint your toenails? Jessie!” Jessie laughed. “What? He did a great job for a three year old. Well, once I’d showered the excess polish off my skin. For awhile there it looked like I’d been attacked by an ax murderer with a foot fetish. But he did much better on his own toes. I think mine gave him some practice. His didn’t look nearly so gory.” This time it was Lucy who was horrified. “You let him paint his own toes, too? Jessie! That’s a terrible thing to teach a little boy. You are never babysitting again!” “Okay. Fine. I won’t do it again. Don’t ground me from your kids. They’re my favorite nephew and niece.” “They’re your only nephew and niece.” Jessie stood up and picked up her bag. “True, but they’re still my favorites.”She gave a wide smile. “So . . . Hustle up people. I’m starving and my fans are waiting. I have a 7:30. Justison is bringing in that boneheaded buckskin gelding of his with the speed index of 106.” Josh grimaced. “Some fan. He’s likely to try to kick your head off. Justison thinks if they try to strike, they’re just feeling good and ready to run.” McCade shook his head as they headed to their trucks. “There’s probably nothing wrong with the horse. Justison just needs an excuse to visit Doc Jessie again. Don’t take any of his crud, Jess. You know how he is.” At the restaurant while they waited for their food, Josh began fooling with his phone. After a second, he gave a low whistle and then said, “Unbelievable! You know that guy from my mission, my friend Riordan Kane? From up in Brisbane? The one we taught forever and got to be such good friends with, but he would never join even though he basically agreed with all the principles. He’d had that LDS girlfriend who had played him so bad and he always said it all sounded great, but he’d already been baptized and didn’t need to do it again. Remember he came over for a visit a couple years ago? Elder Burton says the Wall Street Journal reported that he’s selling his company for $168 million dollars! Holy crud! That’s a hunk of dough! He’s only like twenty-nine years old! How does a guy do that?” Brennan only shook his head as he built sugar packets into a cube. “Apparently very deliberately. You said he was a business machine. Didn’t you say he was ruthless? He was in software, right?” “Oh, I don’t know about ruthless. Well, actually, yeah, he was pretty ruthless in business. But I don’t think he’d always been that way. He’s a nice guy. I think he started out developing the software of some of his computer geek friends, but somewhere along the way he became ruthless. Awhile back his girlfriend, who he thought he was going to marry, started sleeping with the enemy—literally. So he wiped the other guy out. Apparently his company was built on solid technology, mostly phone apps I think, and it snowballed.” Brennan nodded. “Yeah. I’d say it pretty well snowballed. Why’s he selling?” “Who knows why Riordan Kane does anything he does? You’d think he had it made, but he doesn’t seem very happy sometimes. Last time I talked to him he distrusted every woman on the planet. Talk about your disenchanted. He had tons of money, no smile, and no idea of his purpose in life.” Brennan raised his eyebrows. “I’d say if you built a company to $168 million dollars before your thirtieth birthday that you had some purpose in life.” “Well, that seemed to be his only purpose. Other than to fish. He does like to fish. I hope once the sale is final he throws himself into something else and doesn’t just go all billionaire playboy. That’s the last thing Riordan needs. He’ll never join the church.” Lucy patted his hand. “Relax, honey. It’s hard to go all billionaire playboy with only a paltry $168 million. He can hardly do much damage on that pittance.” She smiled at him. “Didn’t you say he was coming to the National Stock Show and bringing his fancy reining horse?” Josh put his phone away and grinned. “He is. He’s bringing a guy named Quinn something, who’s some famous goalie for a pro soccer team over there. Riordan got him into reining as well. He says Quinn is a maniac.” Jessie accepted her plate of blueberry waffles from the server, smiled her thanks and then said sweetly, “Well, you’d better not have them stay at your house then. That’s all Ryley would need is an aunt who lets him paint his toenails and a resident maniacal pro soccer goalie for role models. My, but this breakfast bankrolled by the losers looks wonderful, don’t you think, Lucy?” Lucy smiled just as sweetly. “Indeed it does, Jessie. Bon app├ętit, Bren.”


Author Jaclyn M. Hawkes Jaclyn M. Hawkes grew up in Utah with 6 sisters, 4 brothers and any number of pets. (It was never boring!) She got a bachelor’s degree, had a career and traveled extensively before settling down to her life’s work of being the mother of four magnificent and sometimes challenging children. She loves shellfish, pizza, the out of doors, the youth, and hearing her children laugh. She and her incredibly handsome husband, their younger children, and their happy dogs now live in a mountain valley in northern Utah, where it smells like heaven and kids still move sprinkler pipe.

Blast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 4/4/17 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Driving Miss Crazy


DJ Van Oss
Contemporary Romance

"The princess doesn’t ride off on the white horse with the knight anymore. We’re lucky if we find a guy who even owns a white Corolla and doesn’t live with his mother."





Maggie MacNally was born into diplomacy.  With her parents as Irish Diplomats, and her grandmother as the Irish Ambassador to the US, what else is she supposed to do?  Except, so far, she hasn't been very good at it.  It's not her fault - things just seem to get messed up.  So when her grandmother gives her a chance to work at the consolate and plan a huge event, she sees it as her chance to prove herself.  And nothing is going to go wrong this time - even the distracting new driver she has taking her around everywhere.  No matter how cute he is.  Adrian Adams needs this job to support his daughter.  After the death of his wife, he has no time for anything but Charlie.  That is, until his new client ends up more beguiling than he had expected.  Could Maggie be the key to getting back out there - and opening his and his daughter's heart again?  Or is this just a job?

My Opinion: This book had some great potential, but I think it got a little lost in it's own plot.  It carried along a little choppily, picking up and losing threads of the story along the way.  It was a bumbling story, much like the main character, and lost a lot of what seemed like should have happened.  Adrian was smaller than life - with reactions that felt unrealistic.  Maggie's flaws and mistakes were a bit too obvious to make her likable enough to ignore them.  Their interactions were often sweet and lovely, but the romance was lost in the story.  I wish this had been a rough draft that was smoothed over a few more times and turned into the fantastic story it should have been.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Saturday, March 11, 2017

SMT: To Tempt a Viscount

To Tempt a Viscount
Naomi Boom

Lady Laura Rosing knows two things: first, she will marry for love, and second, she detests rakes. When she meets Lord Gavin Farris, she understands immediately that he fails both her criteria, and worse yet, he is an absolute cad who refuses to leave her be.

Lord Farris has always appreciated women and cannot understand why Lady Laura is so resistant to his charms. While pretty, she is not his usual type, but something about her intrigues him. Much to his chagrin, he finds himself desperately in love with her, but he may be too late. His adamant refusal to marry just might have planted her firmly in the arms of another.


Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Book Spotlight: How to Love a Dog's Best Friend

How to Love a Dog's Best Friend
Cami Checketts


How to Love a Dog's Best Friend: Must Love Dogs Romance: Find it on Amazon.
Attacked as a child, Brikelle Manwaring is terrified of dogs. When Colt Jepson's huge Great Dane chases her up a canyon, she tells him off and prays she'll never see either of them again.
When Colt and Brikelle are forced to pretend they are married, Colt discovers there’s more to Brikelle than a feisty beauty who likes to tell him off.

Their deception grows until neither of them are sure what is reality and what is fiction. The only thing they know is if they don’t tell the truth soon, they might lose their careers and any chance to be together.

Can Brikelle ever learn to love a beastly dog, or his owner?

Get your free copy of The Feisty One: A Billionaire Bride Pact Romance by Cami Checketts by signing up to be part of her VIP club here.

Find Cami on Facebook and Twitter!

Saturday, March 4, 2017

SMT: The Reward of Anavrea

Rachel Rossano
The Reward of Anavrea: Book 3 of the Theodoric Saga
Fantasy Romance
Medieval Romance
Christian Romance

She couldn’t hide forever.

A hard life taught Jayne to avoid men, powerful men most of all. When a new nobleman arrives to take over the vargar, she takes her family and hides. But the new baron seeks her out and makes her an offer she can’t refuse: protection. However, once they were sheltered behind the dark stone walls of the vargar, who would protect her from the new master?

His reward isn’t what it seems.

King Ireic of Anavrea charges Liam, a former bodyguard, with the task of retaking and taming a corner of the northern wilds. Upon arrival at Ashwyn Vargar, Liam finds challenges beyond his military experience. The keys to the vargar are missing and so are the field hands who should be harvesting the fields. Once he finds the keeper of the keys, she raises more questions than answers.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

Book Spotlight: A Game of Hearts

A Game of Hearts
MA Lee
Regency Romance


In Regency England, red-blooded commoners have difficulty opening the doors of the blue-blooded haut ton.

Self-made man Rafe Lockhart needs a titled wife to give his daughter Connie the society debut she has dreamed of. A quick marriage to Lady Margaret Symonds, widow of an earl, is the answer to his problem. Her beauty and wit sweeten his plan.

Maggie Symonds suffered through twelve years of an emotionally abusive marriage after a rake ruined her during her debut. She hesitates to enter another marriage, especially to a man whose wealth is the sole reason that society accepts him. Yet financial difficulties and her own budding attraction to Rafe drive her to accept his proposal.

Neither expects passion to fire up their marriage.

Neither expects that surprising passion to last.

Maggie’s confrontation with Rafe’s mistress is the first blow. The second comes with Rafe’s suspicions that the rake has lured Maggie back into his bed with protestations of a resumed love.

Falling in love with his employer’s daughter Connie was not Roger Denby’s biggest mistake. No, that mistake was giving her a taste of passion. When he rejected Connie, he then had to watch her pursue a gentleman who might be charming her into a snare. Did Roger drive her into that relationship by awakening her desires? All he knows is that he still yearns for Connie. How can he prevent her from ruining herself?

Connie Lockhart knew the walls between her and Roger Denby: She was not yet eighteen. She was the boss’s daughter. She was as far out of his reach as marriage into nobility was out of hers. She thought those walls had tumbled down when he kissed her. Yet he rebuilt them even higher than before and returned to being only her watchdog.

Believing their relationship hopeless, Connie pursues a titled gentleman who is no longer out of her reach since her father’s marriage to an earl’s widow. And revenge on the snobbish society darlings seems especially sweet.

Richard Malbury flatters Connie. He seems charmed by her. Marriage to him is preferable to a fruitless love of Roger.

And then Rafe is suspected of murdering a valuable employee, and this Game of Hearts turns more dangerous than Rafe & Maggie and Roger & Connie could have anticipated.

A sweet Regency romance of 119,900 words.

Readers may also enjoy A Game of Secrets and A Game of Hearts.

Author Bio:

Starting in my pre-teens, I devoured books. I solved locked room mysteries with Dame Agatha Christie and contended with the lonesome prairie through B.M. Bower’s words. The grand quartet of Mary Stewart, Phyllis A. Whitney, Dorothy Eden, and Victoria Holt lured me in with romantic suspense. Georgette Heyer’s regency romps and clever mysteries tugged me away from many homework assignments and house chores. Andre Norton expanded my world into the stars and alternate universes.

These writers did more than entertain and expand my world: they taught me that life is not simplicity; it is complexity.

As I finished writing the first three books in my Hearts in Hazard series, I realized that these novels were my attempt at the spy and smuggler stories, a tiny tribute to four great works of romantic suspense: Jane Aiken Hodge’s thrilling Watch the Wall, My Darling; Georgette Heyer’s amusing The Unknown Ajax; Daphne du Maurier’s dangerous Jamaica Inn; and my favorite of all, Mary Stewart’s This Rough Magic.

I hope that A Game of Secrets and A Game of Spies and A Game of Hearts give to you a portion of delight that each of these books and their phenomenal authors gave to me.

Book Trailer

Saturday, February 25, 2017

SMT: Competing With the Star

Competing With the Star
Krysten Lindsay Hager
Young Adult Romance

Hadley Daniels’s life seems perfect… Hadley and her family move to a beautiful beach town, where she makes amazing new friends and lands the boyfriend of her dreams—Nick Jenkins. He’s the kind of guy every girl swoons over, and it isn’t long until Hadley discovers some are still swooning.

Hadley and Nick form a deep bond when he confides in her about his grandfather’s life changing diagnosis. However, insecurity sets in when Hadley discovers her boyfriend was once in love her friend who just happens to be the beautiful former teen TV star, Simone Hendrickson. Hadley confronts Nick, who confesses his history with Simone. Though he claims to only have eyes for Hadley now, it’s hard to believe—especially when she’s blindsided with the news that Nick and Simone kissed after school.

Now Hadley must determine who is telling the truth as she begins to see a different side of her friends—which ones will stick by the star and who will stand by Hadley. Love, betrayal and friendship—who needs soap opera drama when you’re competing with a star?


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...