Saturday, February 28, 2015

SMT: A Husband for Danna

A Husband for Danna
Christina Lorenzen
Contemporary Romance

Off and running! In her frenzied quest to escape from a groom her father has chosen for her, Danna Rashba ‘borrows’ a limousine parked on Main Street. The last thing on her mind is finding a groom from another wedding in the backseat. What are the chances that the bride and groom from two different weddings running from the altar on the same day? The last thing Danna wants is a hostage as she tries to escape from her nuptials. 

The last thing Eric Harmon wants is to be saddled with yet another spoiled, needy woman. He’s furious about this wrench in his plans, he accuses Danna of stealing. He wants to send her home in a cab as soon as they get to the nearest town, but Danna refuses. Much to Eric’s frustration, one thing after another seems to keep them tied together. 

Soon the generosity of a local shopkeeper and several people in town have them mistaken for newlyweds. Danna and Eric find themselves stepping into the role as husband and wife leading them to realize they just may be each other’s ‘match’. But will Danna be able to stand up to her rigid, old fashioned father and choose her own husband?


Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Book Tour: Uncharted Redemption





Title: Uncharted Redemption

Author: Keely Brooke Keith
Release Date: February 24, 2015
Publisher: Edenbrooke Press
Description: Levi Colburn, resentful of his father, haunted by his mother’s tragic death, and pained by his love for the unattainable Mandy Foster, breaks from the Land’s tradition and begins to build a life of his own. When rebels tear through the village of Good Springs, Levi vows to deliver justice and restore the woman he loves. As tradition stands in the way of redemption and threats from the outside world begin to appear, Levi must learn his greatest battles cannot be fought with his fists. Romantic, suspenseful, and filled with adventure, UnchartedRedemption weaves dramatic new layers into life in the Land.

Purchase Links:

Have your ebook of Uncharted Redemption signed via Authorgraph!
Add Uncharted Redemption to your shelf on: GoodreadsShelfariFictFact, and LibraryThing



Author Bio:
Keely is a bass guitarist and lives on a hilltop south of Nashville. When she isn’t writing stories or playing bass, Keely enjoys dancing, having coffee with friends, and sifting through vintage books at antique stores. 
Author links:

Monday, February 23, 2015

Professional Boundaries

Jennifer Peel
Contemporary Romance

"Never mind, this was not the morning to think of Ian. Actually, no morning was."






Kelli Bryant is right where she wants to be.  She didn't always want to be here, but for now, her career aspirations fulfill her.  Nevermind her college flame that broke her heart for no reason all those years ago.  Now that her boss is retiring, it's her chance for the big promotion to really skyrocket her career.  The last thing she expected was the position to be given to a complete stranger.  Well, not a complete stranger - Ian Greyson, her old flame.  True, he was qualified, but that was supposed to be her job, and she didn't want anyone, including Ian, to get in her way.  Forced to work with the one man she'd rather forget forever, Ian has different plans.  Though inside the office he is professional to the extreme, he seems to have other ideas off the clock.  Can Kelli forgive him for the past, and get along?  Will Ian be able to pursue her outside of the office, or will his strict rules and unexplained past actions keep them apart forever?

My Opinion: This was a super cute read and very enjoyable.  The interplay between Kelli and Ian is marvelous and so realistic.  Though it dragged slightly at times, I loved the twists and turns that brought them together realistically.  Their romance was toe curling and oh so sweet.  It was a lovely plot and a great idea behind their story.  Definitely one to keep you up reading, or warm on a cold winter night.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Saturday, February 21, 2015

SMT: Yakimali's Gift

Yakimali's Gift
Linda Covella
Historical Romance
Young Adult Romance

A coming-of-age story that takes place in 1775 New Spain: On a journey from Mexico to California, 15-year-old Fernanda Marquina will discover not only romance, but truths that will change the way she sees her ancestry, her family, and herself.


Friday, February 20, 2015

Book Spotlight: Meet Cute

Meet Cute:A collection of romantic short stories
Bhavna Mehta


Every woman thinks that she's not perfect. But her dream is to find someone in her life who understands her no matter what, who appreciates her, who values her, who wants to spend time with her, who takes care of her, who guides her, who supports her. Who also, at times, shows her affection, whispering sweet nothings in her hear. All these emotions are hidden in the short stories of Meet Cute.

There's Linda, who Mark comes to value and admire for her simplicity. Then there's Catherine, whose clumsiness is matched only by that of her company's CFO.

In other stories, can Jamie dare to care for Joel, even though she's nowhere near as beautiful as her cousin, for whom he is intended?

Will city-girl Josie be willing to move to a small town to find her soulmate?

To find out, read Meet Cute, a collection of fifteen romantic short stories that will leave you swooning and contented in just a few moments.


Author Bio:

Bhavna Mehta is a home-maker, a wife and mother of two daughters. Currently, she lives in Pennsylvania with her family. But more importantly, she is a perpetual hopeless romantic. You will often find her curled up under a blanket, mug of steaming tea in hand, spending the afternoon with Mr. Darcy or Mr. Knightley, or even Prince Charming if the weather calls for it. She has published short stories in newspapers all over India, but is excited to be writing in the United States. This is her first collection of romantic short stories.

Other Links:

Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Blog Tour: Redeem This


Some men are beyond redemption. Alex is one of them.

After Alex Chakhota was blackmailed and manipulated into becoming a hit man to protect his sister, serving time as the FBI's assassin doesn't do much to ease his conscience. His next assignment brings him face to face with Brittany, a beautiful woman that believes he's more than the killer he's been made into. The road to redemption is long for someone with a blackened soul, and with lives hanging in the balance, Alex has a short deadline.

Detective Scott Bentley's days of law enforcement are behind him. When he's asked to host agents at his secluded ranch for an FBI sting operation, Scott cannot refuse. Ivy McMahon shows up with the team, and Scott gets more than he signed up for. Not only can she hack into the any computer system, she's found a way into Scott's heart. The trouble is that she's in protective custody and when the job ends, she'll disappear.

Is redemption possible for those whose lives are scarred by the past? With danger crowding close, not even love may have a chance to redeem before it's too late.

Don't miss the exciting sequel to Blog This by #1 Bestselling Inspirational author, Cami Checketts


Book Excerpt
ALEX FOCUSED ON THE TARGET, ignoring the thrumming of his heart and the sweat trickling down his back. One eye closed as the other socket pressed against the scope. The hit must be perfect. His future and his sister’s future depended on it.
Everything lined up. He tightened his finger against the trigger, then before he could second-guess himself, pulled it. The bullet sailed right in between the eyes, exactly where he wanted it.
Loud clapping greeted him from behind. He straightened and turned to face Agent Marcus Klein. The tall, black man grinned at him, gripping a pair of binoculars in one hand. “Great shot.”
Alex shrugged. He glanced back at the practice field to hide the flush of pleasure. “It’s easy when you have a sniper’s rifle and the target isn’t moving.”
“Your specialty was more action shots?” Klein walked to his side and looked out at the target.
“I’ve done it all.”
Klein nodded. “I believe you.” He turned to face Alex. “So, you’re ready to pledge the next twenty years to the FBI and give up making fabulous money and traveling the world?”
Alex arched an eyebrow. He wasn’t ready to pledge twenty years to anyone or anything but Anna, but now didn’t seem the opportune time to state that. “If my sister is happy, you’ll have my loyalty.”
“We fly out for Salt Lake tomorrow. You can see for yourself how well she’s doing.”
Alex took a long breath, dipping his head so the agent wouldn’t see his emotions. Anna was happy. Whatever the FBI required him to do would be worth it. Until he was ready to steal her away and escape.


Find Redeem This for only $3.99 at these vendors:

Amazon * B&N * iTunes * Kobo



If you haven't had a chance to read Blog This, it is FREE until February 28th.



Praise for Blog This
"Cami Checketts is a genius! She writes about topics that aren't widely discussed, in and out of books, and she does such a brilliant job of crafting these things into wonderful stories that touch your heart and remain with you for days afterwards."
Myra, Reviewer, Pieces of Whimsy

Don't forget to enter below to win an audio copy of Dead Running and an ebook of Shadows in the Curtain

Thanks for stopping by!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, February 14, 2015

SMT: One for Kami

One for Kami
Charlene A Wilson
Science Fiction Romance
Young Adult Romance

Kami crosses dimensions to find true love, but her heart’s desire never left home.

Kami is faced with a heartbreaking truth; she finds the love of her life is an elite and bound by law to wed three wives to do his part to eliminate the poverty-stricken condition of their world. How can she stand to share him? Why can’t he be poor the way she thought he was when she fell in love with him?


Thursday, February 12, 2015

Book Spotlight: Accept This Dandelion

Accept This Dandelion
Brooke Williams


Renee Lockhart has her eye on a lofty goal…to fill the open position of morning radio show host at the station where she works. When her co-workers sign her up for a local TV version of The Bachelor, Renee goes along with it in order to raise her profile.

Upon seeing her bumbling audition, Ben McConnell, one of the most eligible bachelors in town, insists that Renee be placed on the show. But Ben gets much more than he expected in Renee… he gets a girl who can’t seem to do anything right…and a girl he can’t seem to resist.


Author Bio:

Brooke Williams is a former radio announcer/producer and script writer turned freelance writer and author. When Brooke's first daughter was born in 2009 she left her full time radio career to stay home. Eventually, she realized she could fulfill her lifelong desire to write while her daughter napped and she then entered into the freelance writing world. As her business grew, she took on clients from all over the world and began to dabble in fiction writing once again. Brooke has several books on the market including her first novel, "Someone Always Loved You" and the thriller "Beyond the Bars." Her upcoming released include "Wrong place, Right time" (December 9th 2014 from the Writer's Coffee Shop), "Accept this Dandelion" (feb 2015, Prism Book Group) and "Mamarazzi (August 2015, Prism Book Group.) She even has a children's book under contract for Feb 2016. Brooke loves all things writing and currently specializes in clean romantic comedy, though she's written a bit of everything.

Other Links:

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Lady of Fire


Tamara Leigh
Medieval Romance
Clean Re-Write of original publication, "Pagan Bride"

"Though never had she desired to be other than that which she had been born, there seemed no advantage to being a female."




Sir Lucien de Gautier has not made life easy for his captors.  As an unransoned prisoner in a foreign country, he is left to find his own way home.  That is, until an unlikely benefactor offers to help him escape - if he will take her reluctant daughter with her.  Though Lucien may have bitten off more than he can chew, especially when it comes to making sure the beautiful spitfire keeps her virtue intact.  Alessandra is determined to live and marry in the same Islamic life she was raised in, despite only English blood running through her veins.  When a handsome man comes into her life, intent on tearing her from all she holds dear, she is determined to fight back.  Both against his attempts to steal her away, and her heart's attempt to be stolen.

My Opinion: This was a very different read than one normally comes across with a medieval romance.  The setting in the middle east and the mingling of the very different cultures is intriguing and exciting.  A little of a history lesson as it mashes up two very different worlds created a beautiful storyline.  The main characters were fun and complex and had a lot of fun fire and romance between them.  The story had a tidy conclusion, but with a wide myriad of side characters left me wishing for a fuller series of books to explore everyone's story.  Overall, it was a satisfying trip through a more exotic area of medieval history.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, February 9, 2015

Book Tour: Of Love and Magic



In honor of the angels in Of Love & Magic, Christina Dymock with Hungry Family has created an amazing chocolate angel cake recipe. I can't wait to try it out.

Recipe: Chocolate Angel Food Cake

Chocolate Angel Food CakeIngredients

1 1/2 cup egg whites (10-12 large eggs)
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 cup flour
1 cup powdered sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 ounces milk chocolate, shredded
2 teaspoons vanilla

Directions

Place the egg whites and cream of tartar in a metal mixing bowl. Beat until stiff peaks form and the whites are glossy. Add the vanilla and beat well.
In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, powdered sugar, cocoa, baking soda, salt, and shredded chocolate. Fold 1/2 cup of the powdered mixture into the egg whites. Repeat until all the flour mixture is incorporated into the eggs.
Pour batter into a non-stick angel food cake or bunt cake pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 -35 minutes or until cake springs back. Run a knife around the edge of the pan and invert the pan onto a funnel or cup and allow to cool for 2 hours. Remove the cake from the pan and serve with fresh whipped cream and chocolate shavings.
love and magic banner

Saturday, February 7, 2015

SMT: La Contessa and the Marquis

La Contessa and the Marquis
Lindsay Downs
Regency Romance

When Bianca Maria Ledford Goretti, La Contessa de Massa, flees back to her homeland and the safety of her godmother, The Duchess of Gorham, little does she realize who’s arms she lands in.

Lord Rainer Cross, Marquis of Hathaway, is a well-known and dangerous rakehell within the ton. Little does he suspect his godmother has set him up to halt his skirt chasing days.

Over time the reason for Bianca’s return comes to light which has Rainer deeply concerned. Not sure who he can trust Rainer turns to has several of his more interesting staff. He has them use their talents to ferret out the truth.

Everything get more complicated when they learn a friend might not be who he claims to be. Not sure who to trust, except Rainer and the duchess, Bianca learns several startling facts which could protect her from harm.

Once everything is revealed the duchess steps in with a surprise, something neither could have ever seen coming.


Friday, February 6, 2015

Author Interview: Linda Rigsbee

Linda Rigsbee
author, The Carmen & Alex Series

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

Since 1970, I have lived in Northwest Arkansas with my husband. Growing up, we moved a lot. I have lived in Missouri, Arkansas, Kansas, Texas, Oklahoma, California and Arizona. When my husband was healthy and our kids were young, we traveled some, seeing some of the usual sights like the Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, Mt. Rushmore and such. We camped and fished here in Arkansas.

Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine. For heros or heroines, my favorites are always people who are honest, hard working and independent. A few flaws give personality, but I don’t want gaping holes in their character.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

I am currently reading “SUDAN,” by Ninie Hammon. I think the last one I read before that was “After the Blast” by T. L. Knighton. On my list to read next is “Underlake” by Kia Heavey. I really liked her book “Night Machines.”

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

West Virginia. There is so much here in the United States that I have never seen. I have a book that I have never finished that starts out in West Virginia. Some day... We were headed that way one year and got called back when my father had a heart attack.

What is your favorite genre to write? 

Oh gosh, usually whatever I’m writing at the moment. Probably Fantasy, right now.

What is your favorite genre to read? 

I like variety. Any book that is well written and not gory, profane or immoral. I like books that combine romance, scenery, mystery and adventure.

What is one silly fact about you? 

I love chickens. I have pet chickens.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I am dyslexic and had a lot of trouble with writing as a young girl, but I liked to read. I would make up stories in my mind. I was doing this as early as age 8. I finally wasn’t satisfied by thinking them up. I wrote them down and hid them because I thought people would think I was silly for trying to imitate a writer. I told a friend about my passion and she said she wanted to read one. She gave me some writing tips, but mostly she gave me a shot of confidence. I began self publishing in 1986 with a newsletter about goats “Goat Udderings Newsletter” and then progressed to a monthly Zine of short stories & poems: “Dear Tales” After that, I began publishing my books.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

No, I never write steamy romance. I don’t like to read them either. I want my romance stories to be based on relationships and I like a full story around them.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I often write several books simultaneously. I am working on the 7th

I am working on a fantasy series. I have 4 books scheduled for this year and I hope we have no more medical problems that prevent me from finishing them.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

Cheesy as it sounds, giving joy to others is my greatest reward. I have websites of free reads of my stories. When I get comments from people who are shut-ins and my story made their day – it makes MY day. I self-publish because I want to maintain these free sites. My long-term goal is to have people still reading and enjoying my books 200 years from now.

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?

It would be hard to choose. I most often hear “I couldn’t put it down,” but probably my favorite was when someone told me my book helped their marriage.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

I suppose everyone writes a little of themselves into their books. Life experiences are often what make us who we are.

Especially in my Carmen and Alex Series, when I run into a problem, I find myself thinking “How would Carmen and Alex handle this?” Then I’m off to another book in the series.

Where do your ideas come from?

I think there is a gremlin in my head, messing with my brain waves. I have WAY more ideas than I can possibly find time to write about. Everything I see or hear makes me think “What if...”

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I have written over 35 books of different genres and I have self-published all of them. In addition to Create Space, Amazon and Off The Bookshelf, I have developed a method of home publishing. I make handcrafted books comparable to professionally bound and sell them online or at craft sales.

What are the elements of a great romance for you? 

I like a good love story, where they not only discover love for each other, but a way to improve their relationship with others as well. I like a little romance in every genre.

Please share about your book 

The Carmen & Alex Series is about the relationship between a woman raised by aging and conservative parents and a polished salesman turned veterinarian. Carmen thinks the man should wear the pants, but she challenges Alex when he does. Poor Alex can’t decide whether he likes wearing the pants or simply wants peace.

Both are dedicated responsible parents who love each other and their lives. Regardless of the situation, they manage to work things out together. They have over 100 acres in rural Arkansas and run an American Wildlife Safari.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Proud, independent, honorable, naive, backward.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like? 

Carmen wants to be a good mother and wife. Those are her two main concerns, but she is always trying to improve herself for her family and usually gets into trouble. Alex is a businessman, who has a deep love of family. He is has a secretive and private personality that often gets him into trouble. Both love animals and the simpler things in life.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

The series advocates a successful relationship.

Carmen and Alex are faced with major problems in their marriage and always find a way to work things out.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far?

Alex is my favorite character in the Carmen and Alex Series. I like his love and dedication to family (like my husband of 44 years, who is often my source of reference for him.)


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...