Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Book Spotlight: Storm of Attraction

Storm of Attraction
Lily Black


Love is worth fighting for.

Alexa Wolving has just one rule: never give a guy a second chance. That works just fine in the safe life she’s built. In the charming town of Willowdale, her day job as a librarian balances perfectly with her evening job as a black belt instructor. But when she attracts the attention of a stalker, Alexa’s carefully built world begins to crumble.

Drew Cosimo knows he broke Alexa’s heart five years ago when he took his first Ranger assignment and disappeared from her life. Now that he’s out of the army, he’s moving back home to Willowdale. He’s not looking for a fight, but making peace would be easier if Alexa hadn’t told the entire town he was a money-grubbing jerk. Despite the tension between them, Drew is quick to offer his protection when a stalker forces Alexa from her home.

As the stalker’s attacks escalate, Alexa and Drew are forced to face their painful past and the simmering attraction between them. They must fight to save each other before everything they care about goes up in flames.

Author Bio:
Lily Black believes in true love, but is also quite sure going after it is the scariest thing we'll ever do! She explores this dynamic in her romantic suspense novels, which are set in the small imaginary town of Willowdale, where people dream big, love deeply, and kick butt if necessary. She has a black belt in Chung Do Kwan Tai Kwon Do, and has also trained in everything from judo to broadswords. She lives in North Carolina, where she works as a content editor for a small publisher, and divides her free time between the mountains and the sea with her very patient and loving husband and their teen daughter. She is also the co-creator of the Book Ninjas’ Blush-O-Meter. Readers everywhere search the Book Ninja’s online catalog for romance, YA and chicklit novels in all genres, and find books that match their blush level!

Her debut romantic suspense--Storm of Attraction--launched February 13th, 2017 from Red Adept Publishing. She welcomes you to join her on the journey!

Book Ninja’s Catalog: http://www.book-ninjas.com/

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Author Interview: Roni Denholtz

Roni Denholtz
author, Setting the Stage for Love

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)
I was born in New York City but grew up in NJ.  I have one brother and one sister.  I went to college and became a teacher, and was writing on the side—children’s stories, articles and “confessions.”  I stayed home after having my children and eventually spent more time on what I love to read—romance novels.  I love happy endings!
Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.
I don’t like heroes who are too “alpha.”  I like heroes and heroines who are realistic, and not super people who can do everything.  But my heroes and heroines really care about others—and about animals.
Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?
Right now I am reading “Hot Cowboy Nights” by Carolyn Brown, a  contemporary western; and ‘Trail of Dreams” by Merry Farmer, a historical western.  (I’m in a western mood).  I read a lot of contemporaries, cozy mysteries, and regency romances.  Two of my favorite authors of sweet romances are Gina Ardito and Shelley Galloway.
Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?  
I visited Greece once and loved it.  I would go back any time!
What is your favorite genre to write?  
I love writing all kinds of romances.  
What is your favorite genre to read?  
Probably contemporary romances, but I do read all kinds of romances except dark paranormals.  I also won’t read horror.
What is one silly fact about you?
I love music from the late 60s and early 70s and can usually “name that tune” within a few notes if I hear a song on the radio.  
What got you started on your writing journey?
The Nancy Drew books!  Once I read those (starting at age 9) I knew I wanted to write similar stories.  Of course I branched out, but I have written some children’s mystery books.  And it started me on writing down the stories in my head.
Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?
I enjoy writing romances with strong emotions.  Many sweet romances concentrate on the emotional aspects of a relationship.  I have written more sensuous romances, but not erotic romances.
What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?
I have a novella coming out soon too in the Kindle “Blame it on Texas” world.  That one is sexier.  Then I am revising a Victorian historical romance which has ghosts!  I also have two more “clean” romance novels which I have to revise.
What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?  
Being able to tell the stories in my head; and having people say they read them, and it touched a chord in them.
Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?
I love getting emails from readers.  I don’t have a particular favorite.  Someone just wrote me that she loved Brooke and William’s story!
How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?
A lot of my own experiences do end up in stories, even in a minor way.  For example, there is a cat in the book.  I was on the board of my local animal shelter for 8 years, and I know how often cats and dogs are abandoned, so I did want to show that they can make wonderful pets when they are given a new home.
Where do your ideas come from?
All over!  I use the “what if” technique—what if this happened, then that happened?  For Brooke and William’s story, I loved their characters when they appeared in “A Taste of Romance” and decided they needed their own book.
How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?
I have written over 10.  8 have been published with another one coming out soon.
What are the elements of a great romance for you?
Great characters, an interesting situation, and plots that have twists and turns.
Tell us about your book.


Brooke is the sister of Jeremy from “A Taste of Romance.”  She runs into her first serious boyfriend in Taste but I also show that scene from her viewpoint in Setting the Stage.  She thinks he’s just a friend, and that this is what she needs for now.  But she gradually discovers their relationship is something more!
What are your hero and heroine of the story like?
Brooke comes from a famous family but is really pretty down-to-earth and sensible.  William is a pretty practical and upbeat guy. They never quite forgot each other, and when he gets the opportunity to pursue the adult Brooke, he does.  And quickly realizes his feelings are not a teen’s, but that of a grown man.
Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?
It’s a fun, positive story about two people who start as friends but fall in love.

Monday, April 17, 2017

Spotlight: A Real Life Fairytale (& a Giveaway!)

     



 
Cinderella: a REAL life fairytale If a dream is a wish your heart makes then Cindee Ellis is in major trouble. There’s no way Henry Christensen will ever notice her under all those oil stains and brake fluid splattered across her shirt. Unless—she’s dead wrong about him. Join her with this real life fairytale set in the small town of Silver Creek to find out how she’ll work her guts out to make her own happily ever after.
     

 
Beauty and the Beast: a REAL life fairytale There's a tale as old as time of two people falling in love, but what happens when Belle won't have anything to do with it. Join her with this real life fairytale set in the small town of Silver Creek to find out how she’ll transform the town's beast into a handsome prince with her heart, not her beautician skills.      
  






The Frogg Princess: a REAL life fairytale Taya is almost there. Join her in this real-life fairytale, set in the small town of Silver Creek, as she plans to start a new life by opening a little restaurant. Only to find a few rude people that don’t seem to welcome her. But that doesn’t seem to bother Felix Frogg, a local police officer, and the love-at–first-sight reactions he keeps tossing her way. If Taya isn’t careful with the way her heart is softening towards Felix, she could be walking into a lifetime commitment of happily ever after that wasn’t in her plans.
      




Excerpts Cinderella: a REAL life fairytale “Hey, Cindee, before I forget. You have a real nice day.” I nod with about the blankest expression I’ve ever felt, and then he winks. HE LITERALLY WINKS! My eyes are as big as I can stretch them. Either Henry Christensen just did that on purpose, or he has something irritating his eye. I want to go with my first choice, but the second one seems more accurate. I’m the girl with no name, until just now, standing in a huge coat, so it’s gotta be the second choice, right? “Henry? Is that you?” Priscilla’s sticky-sweet voice interrupts. He doesn’t speak a word as he presses on the gas to slowly start backing up. “I’ll stop by the station to pick up the trucks in a while. Make sure you’re there,” he says before quickly pulling onto Main Street where everything disappears, except for the faint glow of his brake lights that blink three times. Is he saying goodbye? I know other girls back in high school had boys do this to them, but not me. NOT EVER. Not once did a boy tap his brake lights to me. I think I’ve died and gone to heaven. 

Beauty and the Beast: a REAL life fairytale “Thank you for this.” I whisper into Adam’s ear. “For what?” He grins. “For being the kind of man that makes a woman believe there’s a God in heaven.” I nuzzle into his shoulder and close my eyes as the preacher asks us to pray. Once we finish, the rows of people begin to stand. I wipe under my eyes one more time just to make sure I don’t have mascara running down my face.   

  The Frogg Princess: a REAL life fairytale “You probably shouldn’t be with a girl like me. I could corrupt a boy like yourself,” I tease, trying to ease the heat flooding my face. How could I push myself on him? I’m cringing inside at being so stupid. “Nah, I’d happily go as far as you’d allow me,” he softly chuckles. “I just have a promise I made with my brother.” “A promise?” I narrow my eyes. “Yeah, we both agreed to wait for marriage.” I stifle a gasp. Is he for real?     Praise for the Book Five Stars: Couldn’t put this book down! This book has a way of not only making you feel what the characters are feeling, but it sucks you in where you don’t want to put it down, Not only have I read this book once, but I read it all over a second time. If you want to get lost for a few hours then I would highly recommend you read this book!! Five Stars: Sooooo Good! I really enjoyed this novella. I was so happy with the ending. It was well written and kept my attention even when my Grandson interrupted for help on his homework. So happy he left the math worksheet at school. I will be looking for more of this author's work. Hope you enjoy this novella. Five Stars: A clean romance book! Jamie Brook Thompson has got some mad writing skills! She has talent that can take you to another world for a few hours! I recommend this book to anyone who needs a good chic book (like a chic flick but in book form ;) ) to escape the real world for a bit! And who doesn't love cowboys?! 

Author Jamie Brook Thompson Jamie Brook Thompson is a small town girl that loves to tell a good story. She grew up as the daughter of a redneck farmer and hippie mother. Her entire life has been filled with duct tape and peace and love. She currently has 6 children, two dogs, and a handsome Prince of her very own! When she isn’t writing, you can find her out at her father’s ranch changing tires on tractors, working on motors that need repair, or adjusting carburetors on the family four wheelers to ride the high Utah desert. She’s a woman of many talents and trades, but the one she enjoys the most is writing stories to take readers into a world of hope—a world of clean romance!



  $500 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway Ends 5/3/17 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 3, 2017

Author Interview: Sarah Doebereiner

Sarah Doebereiner

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)
I'm an ex-New Yorker, born and bred there. I'm one of those people who never saw an actual autumn until I went to college in New England. I'm a second generation book person: My father was a literary agent.
I have a soft spot for cold places. I’ve been to the Arctic Circle and Antarctica.
I like adventure and have slight risk-taking bone. I’m a pilot and used to fly aerobatic planes. Although I never did this, I thought when my daughters started dating I’d take their boyfriends up to 9,000’ feet, spin the plane and extract whatever promises I wanted from them.
I live in Tokyo.
Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.
Superman's heart is as good and gold as they get. He wants to do the right thing, though he's tormented by the fact that despite all his powers he can't always accomplish what he wants.
I recently read Stephanie Meyer’s The Chemist. The heroine, the main character, Alex, is somebody who defies all odds, eliminates evil, finds her center and reclaims her life. I liked her a lot.
Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?
Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut may be the best and most wonderfully written collection of short stories ever published. I read them over and over again. Stephen King's The Stand got me through a difficult breakup, so I have a soft spot for that scary novel.
Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?
I'd like to go to the Falkland Islands. I don't know much about that place other than that it's rural and rustic. It must take great fortitude to live there. I want to know how people feel about living in such a remote location.
What is your favorite genre to write?
I like to write horror because it touches our second most deep emotion, after love.
What is your favorite genre to read?
I like to read fast-paced thrillers, books in which you —and the characters— don’t know what will happen next.
What is one silly fact about you?
I failed my driving test three times. (Did I actually admit that?  I'm from New York City -- that's my excuse.)
What got you started on your writing journey?
I see new things and want to turn them into stories.
Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?
Although I write horror and science fiction, there's always romance in my stories. What makes our hearts work they way they do is the most important and interesting part of any story.
What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?
I just finished writing my novel, Akiko and Peter: Into Eldritch Island. It's about a Japanese-American couple who have the usual problems that any couple has, plus one more: They attract ghosts. I'm now writing the sequel.
What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?
Reading books is  part of a writer’s job description. How cool is that?
Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?
I like when readers ask where I get my ideas from because it forces me to think analytically about my own creative process.
How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?
I'm afraid to say that my fiction is at least fifty percent personal experience. At least as far as the gestation of a story idea is concerned.
Where do your ideas come from?
Often my ideas come from my own mistakes.
How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?
I've written nearly twenty books. Most have been nonfiction, but now I'm writing mostly fiction, which I enjoy immeasurably.
What are the elements of a great romance for you?
I like characters who aren't sure what they want until they find it.
Please share about your book
My most recent book is No Time to Say Goodbye, a time travel love story novella It's about a doctor who finds himself hurtling through time, further and further away from the woman he loves. No Time to Say Goodbye is a gripping novella about one man’s desperate attempt to hold onto love and life no matter what happens, no matter where—or when—he is.
If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?
A man who wants to love somebody more than anything.    
What are your hero and heroine of the story like?
They're an ordinary couple, who can't imagine being apart. But that's exactly what's happening -- some unknown is separating them in time.
Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?
No Time to Say Goodbye is about trying to hold onto love when everything in the universe seems to be conspiring against you. No Time to Say Goodbye is about finding happiness in a universe that tries to strip you all you know and love.
Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 
Rachel, the wife of the time-traveling doctor is a wonderful character because she's able to accept what's happening — that her husband, her love, will soon be gone and she’ll be dead. She’s able to accept this, and accept that she has no control over her life anymore.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Heart Strings

Donna Hatch
Regency Romance
Book 1 of Music of the Heart Series

"Her father used to say angels played harps in heaven, and even called her ‘his little angel.’ Susanna was pretty sure they also played violins."




Caught between an unwanted marriage and an unwanted proposition, Susanna sees no other option than to leave the only home she's ever know.  Her aunt has left her no other choice.  With little money and a lot of courage, she sneaks away to try her luck in London as a harpist - her only useful skill.  Luck finds her in the form of Kit, a violinist who helps her get a job.  But he doesn't stop there.  Should she take his help?  Can she afford not to?  And just what does he want?  Kit's drawn to Susanna from the moment he lays eyes on her.  There is just something about the waif that makes him want to help her.  But when her past catches up to her, he may have to rely on the one he walked away from to save her.

My Opinion: This was a well crafted and highly entertaining book.  Not often do I find a regency that can surprise me, but this one managed to do it, with some clever twists and a lovely plot.  Susanna is a strong female protagonist, proud but innocent.  Kit is a dashing and charitable hero you just have to love.  The romance was natural and sweet.  The story rounded out nicely with the other characters in the orchestra and in Kit's family.  A delightful read and a very well crafted story.  I would highly recommend it.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, March 27, 2017

CLOSED Giveaway!!! How to Love a Dog's Best Friend

Hello all you wonderful readers out there.  Who's ready to win a free book!  Cami Checketts, a fabulous author of many, many great clean romances, is offering you a chance to win her new book, How to Love a Dog's Best Friend.

First, here's a little about the book.

Attacked as a child, Brikelle Manwaring is terrified of dogs. When Colt Jepson's huge Great Dane chases her up a canyon, she tells him off and prays she'll never see either of them again. 

When Colt and Brikelle are forced to pretend they are married, Colt discovers there’s more to Brikelle than a feisty beauty who likes to tell him off. 

Their deception grows until neither of them are sure what is reality and what is fiction. The only thing they know is if they don’t tell the truth soon, they might lose their careers and any chance to be together.

Can Brikelle ever learn to love a beastly dog, or his owner?

So, who's ready to win??  TWO lucky winners will get a free e-copy of this great book!  Just enter with the Rafflecopter below!

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  The winners will be chosen at random and notified via email.  The winner's will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Book Spotlight: Love at Last

Delaney Cameron
Book 6, Finding Love Series


Working on her grandmother’s house gives Rosemary a reason to escape the media attention of a very public broken engagement. In St. Marys, she hopes to rekindle the music that used to flow easily from her mind to paper and rediscover the girl who’s somehow lost her way. Instead she finds someone who challenges her beliefs about love and tests her resolve to guard her heart.

Fresh from a writer’s convention in New York, Jase is excited to return home and start putting into practice all the things he’s learned. He has no idea that his gesture of kindness to a mysterious woman on a plane will turn his life upside down and give him his first tantalizing glimpse of true love. But unlike the fiction he spends his days writing, he can’t simply remove all the obstacles in his path to happiness. Love comes in its own time and on its own terms.

Author Bio:

I'm a Georgia girl at heart if not by birth. I love to read, watch college football, and spend time with my husband. I'm a hopeless romantic so there will always be a happily ever after in my stories. I also like to write about second chances because love doesn't always work out the first time.

My books are sweet romances set in both contemporary and regency settings featuring stories about the journey to love, from that first meeting to the point where two people know their hearts are no longer their own. My characters aren't perfect. They make mistakes and have faults like the rest of us. They learn the sometimes painful truth that the path to love isn't always smooth, but it's a road worth traveling.

For more information or to join my newsletter to be notified of new releases, please visit my website: delaneycameron.weebly.com



Friday, March 17, 2017

Book Blast: Arizona Forever (& Giveaway!)

   



  Arizona Forever by Jaclyn M. Hawkes Dr. Jessie Benn has everything—except Mr. Right. There’s only one problem. The one guy who intrigues her is completely wrong. She’s a veterinarian specializing in horses with a thriving practice nestled between her family’s Arizona ranches, looking for a nice, dependable guy who can take her to the eternities. He’s a visiting Australian business tycoon who’s just a touch bitter, a touch wild, and way more than a touch fascinating. What’s a girl to do? 




What Readers Are Saying About Jaclyn’s Books:

Jaclyn M Hawkes ROCKS! I love all of her books! This was another great story that had it all; great characters, fun, happiness, love, suspense, sadness, triumph, family, and joy. I'm not worried about letting my teenage daughters read anything Jaclyn writes. Thanks for another great read and please keep them coming! Karen Fantastic as always! Fantastic, magnificent and beautifully written. Amazing! I have never read a book before that had me captive from the beginning. I cried, have laughed and felt her deep grief and confusion. What a wonderful book and a wonderfully exceptional writer. I can't wait to read more of Jaclyn Hawkes books! Lorraine I love the way she writes! I love it! A fun read that warms your heart and makes you feel just as awesome as the characters!   Jaclyn Hawkes was delightful! A love story with depth and characters you want to meet. I find myself reading halfway into the night if I don't set a reminder to stop and sleep when I get her new books. Janie   Be sure to read Jaclyn’s other books Journey of Honor A love story The Outer Edge of Heaven The Most Important Catch Healing Creek Rockland Ranch Series Peace River Above Rubies Once Enchanted For Joey Warrior’s Moon The Sage After Rain After The Wind Wildflowers And Kisses
 

Excerpt - Arizona Forever

Prologue

  Six year old Jessie Benjamin did what she always did when she was afraid—she ran to her big brothers. Hurrying, she went two doors down the hall to Josh’s room where her other brothers, Brennan and McCade, would most likely be as well. It was where the four of them usually met whenever there was something wrong. Only this time, she knew something was really wrong because her brothers didn’t smile and tease her before they gathered around her like they usually did. They swallowed her into their jostling group hug, but this time there was the same scary feeling here in Josh’s room that she could hear in her parents’ raised voices coming from their room further down the hall. She couldn’t tell what they were fighting about. She only heard a word here or there, her mother’s voice loud and angry, while her dad’s had calmed down to sad and almost pleading. This bickering had been going on for a couple of days now, but nothing like tonight’s fighting. It was so strange. Her mother got fussy pretty often, but her dad never got like this. Ever. He was typically calm and soft spoken. Even when someone did something big, like when Brennan broke the garage window, he never got too riled. Whatever this bortion thing was her mother was hollering about had made him truly upset. Jessie looked up into the serious faces of her brothers and hid her own face against Josh’s chest. She wished her mother would calm down. That shouting couldn’t be good for the baby in her mom’s tummy. They’d just found out she was expecting. Jessie was praying it was a girl and couldn’t have been more excited for anything! Ever since she was little, she’d imagined she had this little blonde sister named Jennifer who did everything with her. She’d even dreamed about her and it felt like she’d waited forever. Even a baby brother would be wonderful! The fighting spilled out of their parents’ room into the hallway and her father almost seemed to be begging as he said, “Please, Clara, don’t do this. Just hang in there four more months. Even three and a half. Then you can leave and won’t ever even have to see it. I know it’s your body, but please . . . It’s my baby too.” Storming past Josh’s bedroom door, her mother shouted something they all clearly heard, “I’ll do what I want! It’s my body! In four months I’ll have missed the two biggest shows of the season. I missed shows for years to get the four we have. They’re plenty. It’s too much to ask that I do it again. This was your mistake, Ken—not mine! I shouldn’t have to pay for it and you can’t make me!” The front door slammed and a moment later Jessie heard a car squeal away and then there was only silence. For some reason, that scared her more than the arguing. Finally, her dad went into his office and stayed on the phone with someone for a long time and when he came out, he actually looked like he’d been crying. Of course, that couldn’t have been true. Dads didn’t cry. But he looked like it. That night, after everyone else was gone to bed, Jessie snuck into Josh’s room and sat on his bed and whispered, “Josh, what are they fighting about? What does bortion mean?” He was almost ten. He would know. At her question, Josh began to cry. He pulled Jessie into a gentle hug. When he could finally speak, he said so softly and so sadly that Jessie could hardly hear the words that shattered her world into pieces, “Dad says it means Mom’s going to have the baby taken out of her tummy and then it will die, Jessie.”    

Chapter 1

  21 years later   Jessie slid onto the bench on the edge of the soccer field beside McCade and gave an exaggerated sigh of exhaustion as she began to unlace her cleats and said, “Man, you schooled me out there this morning, Muck. I thought I had you until that sweet juke before the half and then I was toast. My calves are killing me!” McCade smiled and batted at her blonde ponytail. “That’s what you get for working too much and playing too little. Juked by the king of jukage!” He reached a hand over her head to fist bump Brennan who sat on the other side of her sucking on a water bottle. “She’s getting old and slow, Bren. Adulthood’ll do that to ya if you let it!” Brennan stopped drinking and squirted her in the face with the water bottle. “I don’t know. She’s still got some moves of her own. You forget she scored on me like I was standing still. She even got around Suki. And you know she’s got some moves.” Brennan winked at his wife Suki and McCade rolled his eyes. Jessie opened her mouth to catch some of the water Brennan was squirting, then smiled and said, “Twice. That would be twice I scored on you, bro. And that second one was world class. Christiano himself would have been jealous. Old and slow? I may be overworked and under played, but I’ll always be younger than the three of you. And we did win. I love this deal where the winners get taken to breakfast.” She pulled off her socks and wiggled her toes. “It’s already insanely hot out here. You two seem to be buying a lot lately. I’m having blueberry waffles. Think they’d care if I walked into the Wagonmaster bare footed? My feet can’t face shoes yet. They need air.” As if on cue, all three of her brothers held their noses and Josh’s wife, Lucy, laughed from where she was standing beside the bench. “Just ignore them, Jessie. They’re only sore losers. Nice toenails, by the way. Love the polka dots.” Jessie stretched her foot out to admire her pedicure. “They are cute, aren’t they? Ryley did them for me yesterday while I was finishing my patient log. You have a very artistic son.” Josh turned to her from the other end of the bench with a look of horror. “You let my son paint your toenails? Jessie!” Jessie laughed. “What? He did a great job for a three year old. Well, once I’d showered the excess polish off my skin. For awhile there it looked like I’d been attacked by an ax murderer with a foot fetish. But he did much better on his own toes. I think mine gave him some practice. His didn’t look nearly so gory.” This time it was Lucy who was horrified. “You let him paint his own toes, too? Jessie! That’s a terrible thing to teach a little boy. You are never babysitting again!” “Okay. Fine. I won’t do it again. Don’t ground me from your kids. They’re my favorite nephew and niece.” “They’re your only nephew and niece.” Jessie stood up and picked up her bag. “True, but they’re still my favorites.”She gave a wide smile. “So . . . Hustle up people. I’m starving and my fans are waiting. I have a 7:30. Justison is bringing in that boneheaded buckskin gelding of his with the speed index of 106.” Josh grimaced. “Some fan. He’s likely to try to kick your head off. Justison thinks if they try to strike, they’re just feeling good and ready to run.” McCade shook his head as they headed to their trucks. “There’s probably nothing wrong with the horse. Justison just needs an excuse to visit Doc Jessie again. Don’t take any of his crud, Jess. You know how he is.” At the restaurant while they waited for their food, Josh began fooling with his phone. After a second, he gave a low whistle and then said, “Unbelievable! You know that guy from my mission, my friend Riordan Kane? From up in Brisbane? The one we taught forever and got to be such good friends with, but he would never join even though he basically agreed with all the principles. He’d had that LDS girlfriend who had played him so bad and he always said it all sounded great, but he’d already been baptized and didn’t need to do it again. Remember he came over for a visit a couple years ago? Elder Burton says the Wall Street Journal reported that he’s selling his company for $168 million dollars! Holy crud! That’s a hunk of dough! He’s only like twenty-nine years old! How does a guy do that?” Brennan only shook his head as he built sugar packets into a cube. “Apparently very deliberately. You said he was a business machine. Didn’t you say he was ruthless? He was in software, right?” “Oh, I don’t know about ruthless. Well, actually, yeah, he was pretty ruthless in business. But I don’t think he’d always been that way. He’s a nice guy. I think he started out developing the software of some of his computer geek friends, but somewhere along the way he became ruthless. Awhile back his girlfriend, who he thought he was going to marry, started sleeping with the enemy—literally. So he wiped the other guy out. Apparently his company was built on solid technology, mostly phone apps I think, and it snowballed.” Brennan nodded. “Yeah. I’d say it pretty well snowballed. Why’s he selling?” “Who knows why Riordan Kane does anything he does? You’d think he had it made, but he doesn’t seem very happy sometimes. Last time I talked to him he distrusted every woman on the planet. Talk about your disenchanted. He had tons of money, no smile, and no idea of his purpose in life.” Brennan raised his eyebrows. “I’d say if you built a company to $168 million dollars before your thirtieth birthday that you had some purpose in life.” “Well, that seemed to be his only purpose. Other than to fish. He does like to fish. I hope once the sale is final he throws himself into something else and doesn’t just go all billionaire playboy. That’s the last thing Riordan needs. He’ll never join the church.” Lucy patted his hand. “Relax, honey. It’s hard to go all billionaire playboy with only a paltry $168 million. He can hardly do much damage on that pittance.” She smiled at him. “Didn’t you say he was coming to the National Stock Show and bringing his fancy reining horse?” Josh put his phone away and grinned. “He is. He’s bringing a guy named Quinn something, who’s some famous goalie for a pro soccer team over there. Riordan got him into reining as well. He says Quinn is a maniac.” Jessie accepted her plate of blueberry waffles from the server, smiled her thanks and then said sweetly, “Well, you’d better not have them stay at your house then. That’s all Ryley would need is an aunt who lets him paint his toenails and a resident maniacal pro soccer goalie for role models. My, but this breakfast bankrolled by the losers looks wonderful, don’t you think, Lucy?” Lucy smiled just as sweetly. “Indeed it does, Jessie. Bon app├ętit, Bren.”


Author Jaclyn M. Hawkes Jaclyn M. Hawkes grew up in Utah with 6 sisters, 4 brothers and any number of pets. (It was never boring!) She got a bachelor’s degree, had a career and traveled extensively before settling down to her life’s work of being the mother of four magnificent and sometimes challenging children. She loves shellfish, pizza, the out of doors, the youth, and hearing her children laugh. She and her incredibly handsome husband, their younger children, and their happy dogs now live in a mountain valley in northern Utah, where it smells like heaven and kids still move sprinkler pipe.

Blast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 4/4/17 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Driving Miss Crazy


DJ Van Oss
Contemporary Romance

"The princess doesn’t ride off on the white horse with the knight anymore. We’re lucky if we find a guy who even owns a white Corolla and doesn’t live with his mother."





Maggie MacNally was born into diplomacy.  With her parents as Irish Diplomats, and her grandmother as the Irish Ambassador to the US, what else is she supposed to do?  Except, so far, she hasn't been very good at it.  It's not her fault - things just seem to get messed up.  So when her grandmother gives her a chance to work at the consolate and plan a huge event, she sees it as her chance to prove herself.  And nothing is going to go wrong this time - even the distracting new driver she has taking her around everywhere.  No matter how cute he is.  Adrian Adams needs this job to support his daughter.  After the death of his wife, he has no time for anything but Charlie.  That is, until his new client ends up more beguiling than he had expected.  Could Maggie be the key to getting back out there - and opening his and his daughter's heart again?  Or is this just a job?

My Opinion: This book had some great potential, but I think it got a little lost in it's own plot.  It carried along a little choppily, picking up and losing threads of the story along the way.  It was a bumbling story, much like the main character, and lost a lot of what seemed like should have happened.  Adrian was smaller than life - with reactions that felt unrealistic.  Maggie's flaws and mistakes were a bit too obvious to make her likable enough to ignore them.  Their interactions were often sweet and lovely, but the romance was lost in the story.  I wish this had been a rough draft that was smoothed over a few more times and turned into the fantastic story it should have been.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...