Friday, September 23, 2016

Book Spotlight: After the Fireweed

After the Fireweed
Beth Carpenter
Contemporary Romance


Sweet Alaskan romance with a chewy mystery center :

Laura's Alaskan summer almost comes to an abrupt end over a territorial dispute with a bear, but a fellow hiker comes to the rescue. Tally at day's end: a dozen stitches, a cup of blueberries, and a lunch date with a fascinating high-school science teacher. She returns the favor when Clay is accused of murdering his ex-wife. Laura risks her job to stay and prove his innocence. Failure may cost Clay his freedom. Flushing the real killer may cost Laura her life.

Author Bio:
Beth Carpenter splits her time between Alaska and Arizona. She’s not sure which are more terrifying: bears or scorpions. Research continues.


This book is up on Kindle Scout, with the campaign running Sept. 10 through Oct. 10. If it's chosen for publication, everyone nominating it will get a free advance copy from Amazon. Anyone with an Amazon account can nominate.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

The Hesitant Heiress


Dawn Crandall
Historical Romance
Book 1 of The Everstone Chronicles
The Hesitant Heiress, The Bound Heart, The Captive Imposter, The Cautious Maiden

"I liked the way she spoke with such honesty. Not a common attribute in most women I’d met, no matter their age."


Amaryllis Brigham just wants to start a music academy in her beloved hometown of Seattle.  However, being unjustly expelled from her prestigious music academy in Boston, her plans are derailed.  Even moreso when she moved in with her aunt, a women set on helping her marry within a year in order to inherit the fortune her estranged grandmother left to her.  She reluctantly agrees to go about in society, and finds herself attracted to the popular Nathan Everstone.  Nathan's father is a man who has haunted her dreams.  Association with that family is out of the question.  Isn't it?

My Opinion: I really enjoyed this book.  It was a different twist on your typical romance, as so many aspects of Amaryllis's story was woven into the story.  I loved the depth of the characters, all of them, and how intricate the story was.  The romance between Amaryllis and Nathan is quite lovely and satisfying.  I loved being able to solve the mystery along with the main characters, enjoy the suspense, as well as the sweet excitement of falling helplessly in love.  Overall a wonderful read, and left me anxious to read about the rest of the Everstones.  Glad there are more books.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Book Spotlight: Dare to Love

Dare to Love
Book #4 in Finding Love Series
Delaney Cameron
Contemporary Romance


When Sabrina arrives for a job interview, she never expects to run into the man who broke her heart six years ago. Trent is a painful souvenir of a first love that went terribly wrong. Four months of being unemployed is the only reason she agrees to work for him. A stack of unpaid bills outweighs injured feelings, shattered dignity and past humiliations. For the present, she can’t escape the cruel trick fate has dealt her. There will be no running away from Trent this time.

Trent isn’t the serial heartbreaker everyone believes him to be, and his seemingly idyllic bachelor existence is anything but satisfying. The plans he made for his life have always included marriage and a family, but for those things one has to fall in love. It bothers him that he can’t do something everyone else seems to do so effortlessly. Meeting Sabrina again is a reminder of an incident that still makes him uncomfortable. In his more irrational moments, he’s even wondered if what he did to her is the reason love continues to elude him. Maybe he’s getting what he deserves for playing around with someone’s feelings.

Is falling out of love as easy as falling into it? Or is love a moment that lasts forever?

Author Bio:

I'm a Georgia girl at heart if not by birth. I love to read, watch college football, and spend time with my husband. I'm a hopeless romantic so there will always be a happily ever after in my stories. I also like to write about second chances because love doesn't always work out the first time.

I write sweet romances set in both contemporary and regency settings. My stories are about the journey to love, from that first meeting to the point where two people know their hearts are no longer their own. My characters aren't perfect. They make mistakes and have faults like the rest of us. They learn the sometimes painful truth that the path to love isn't always smooth, but it's a road worth traveling.

The next book in the series, Yours, With Love, will be released late fall 2016.

To find out more about my books or to sign up for my newsletter, please go to: delaneycameron.weebly.com

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Book Spotlight: The Wedding Chaos

The Wedding Chaos
Isabel Micheals
Contemporary Romance


When a momzilla crosses a frustrated bride-to-be, chaos ensues…

Nancy Blake has dreamed of her daughter having a fairy tale wedding fit for a Princess since Lilly was born. However, Lilly and Trevor want to be married soon and with as little fanfare as possible. How will Nancy be able to carry out her plans for the wedding to end all weddings, you ask? She enlists the services of Rose Knight, owner of The Rose Chalet, San Francisco's premier wedding venue.

But as the big day approaches, tension between mother and daughter escalates, nearing the point of no return. Will they be able work out their differences before Lilly and Trevor walk down the aisle? Or, will the bride and groom make a run for Vegas to be married by an Elvis impersonator?

Warning: This fairy tale contains an overwhelmed bride one-step away from wearing prison orange; a prince charming who sticks his foot in his mouth; and a momzilla who continually forgets…she’s not the bride.

The Wedding Chaos is based on the wonderful characters found in Lucy Kevin’s Four Weddings and a Fiasco series.

Author Bio:

After years of reading romance novels and getting lost in characters’ worlds, Isabel Micheals finally decided to try her hand at writing. Now she’s been bitten by the writing bug, hopes to make a career of it, and encourages you to join her on this amazing and exciting journey as the characters in her head come to life. In addition to her creative side, she’s a geek who loves to code, travel and be whisked away into alternate realities, whether it be contemporary, new adult, young adult, historical, paranormal, or real life. Everyone has a story, so be sure to drop by Isabel's site often to see which stories are keeping her up at night, as she pounds away on the keys writing her next book.

Saturday, September 10, 2016

SMT: The Letter Project

The Letter Project
Christine Bailey
Contemporary Romance
Young Adult Romance

Seventeen-year-old Anna McAllister has been in love with the boy next door her entire life. Josh has always loved her, too, but he’s never told her. After he enlists in the military, a tragic training accident abruptly ends his life, and all Anna has left of him is a letter that arrives the day after his funeral. For months, all she can think about is his confession to loving her and the imperfect timing of it all.

When Anna spends the summer with her grandmother in Upstate New York, she meets a new circle of friends, including Liam and his cousin Brad. While both compete for her attention, Anna isn’t interested in either of them—neither one is Josh. While she tries to keep them both at a safe distance, there’s just something about Liam that keeps pulling her back to him. But nothing is ever as simple as it seems.



Friday, September 9, 2016

Review Rewind: American History

Well, I missed my rewind last month (still getting my bearings with this new pregnancy), but I'm back and excited as ever to highlight some old favorites.  With school starting up again, Patriot's Day this weekend, and just my own overall love of history, I decided this month should focus on some good American History stories.  All are historical, at one point in time or another, and definitely worth the read.  In fact, after going back through these, I may try to pick one or two back up myself.  I hope you enjoy them, along with the changing weather, as well.



Surrender the Dawn  Set during the war of 1812, this delightful adventure features an unlikely partnership between a young woman and a privateer.  The third in a series (check them all out!) it can stand on its own well.  Overall a great read and a fun adventure.

Shades of Gray  Enter a world where Kat Bailey has set sail to America as a mail order bride - a last resort.  Only when she arrives, her respectable fiance is anything but.  Taking shelter with the town outcast, will Kat learn to see beyond the rumors about Grayson?  Or are the rumors more than just gossip?

Noble Cause  This is one of the best Civil War novels I have ever read.  With a fabulous insight into both sides of the war, the author pulls you along with the main characters as they learn to traverse the muddy layers of a war that tore our country apart.  Will they find that love can survive opposing sides?

Gunpowder Tea  Set with an unlikely character of a female Pinkerton detective in the West, this is a fun and enjoyable mystery with a good dose of romance.  The last in a series, it easily stands on its own and is a thoroughly enjoyable book.  I loved the characters and the less conventional but still historical story.

I hope one of these books sparks your interest and you get to read a wonderful book or two this month!  Thanks for stopping by!

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Book Spotlight: The Letter Project

The Letter Project
Christine Bailey


Seventeen-year-old Anna McAllister has been in love with the boy next door her entire life. Josh has always loved her, too, but he’s never told her. After he enlists in the military, a tragic training accident abruptly ends his life, and all Anna has left of him is a letter that arrives the day after his funeral. For months, all she can think about is his confession to loving her and the imperfect timing of it all.

When Anna spends the summer with her grandmother in Upstate New York, she meets a new circle of friends, including Liam and his cousin Brad. While both compete for her attention, Anna isn’t interested in either of them—neither one is Josh. While she tries to keep them both at a safe distance, there’s just something about Liam that keeps pulling her back to him. But nothing is ever as simple as it seems.

Author Bio:
Christine H. Bailey writes young adult fiction and also teaches college writing courses. Before teaching English, Bailey worked as a journalist, a marketing/public relations writer, and a freelance editor. Bailey's debut novel, Girl in the Middle, takes a look at the aftermath of a family crisis and what happens to a family when a child goes missing. The book also touches on the hierarchical nature of high school. Both this work and her latest YA novel address the sensitive issue of bullying, a topic she feels strongly about. The native Canadian now resides in Tennessee.

Links:
Twitter: cibailey44

Friday, July 22, 2016

Book Spotlight: The Wayfaring Swan

The Wayfaring Swan
Rose Schmidt


This refreshingly different romantic comedy is full of surprises and laugh out loud funny. A delightful combination of romance, adventure, and hilarious one liners make for a great summer read.

Liana Taylor, straight laced owner of The Wayfaring Swan travel agency, knows how to make the dreams of others come true, but has given up on her own. Her meddling mother tries to give her daughter a happy ending by recreating the plot of a historical romance novel. She enlists the help of Taron Royce, a passionate and free spirited sailor who is haunted by his past. They are accompanied by a motley crew that includes a snarky fashionista, a femme fatale best friend, and two phobic sailors.

Liana becomes a reluctant participant when Taron devises a way to thwart her mother's plans. Will they learn to navigate an antique ship and their own troubled waters? What happens when a fun-filled vacation turns into real life drama? It is an action-packed race for survival in the Florida Keys as secrets are revealed, and the bonds of love are tested.

ON SALE! 99-cents for July 2016 only!

Author Bio:
ROSE SCHMIDT graduated from the University of Guelph with a master’s degree in psychology. Her studies and professional experience in education helped her glean an inceptive insight into human nature. Rose is a native of Southern Ontario and currently resides in the rolling hills of Dufferin County. THE WAYFARING SWAN is her debut novel. She enjoys the challenge of embedding deeper themes in a writing style that is humourous and lighthearted. Rose is fascinated by characters that are unconventional and transcend stereotypes. When not writing, she enjoys horseback riding, hiking, and dancing her way through each day. Yoga, mindfulness, and meditation help balance a busy writer's life.

Links:
Barnes and Noble http://goo.gl/zeBHX9

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Sorry I've Been Gone

Hello, again, all you lovely readers.  I am so sorry for having seemingly disappeared for the last month.  I hadn't intended to.  Not by a long shot.  However, the long and short of it, is...I'm expecting a baby!  While we are simply delighted to add to the wonderful children we have, this pregnancy has been difficult.



I'm not usually this sick, so I was taken completely off guard when my normal week of mild nausea ended up being over a month of switching between running to the bathroom, and laying on the couch, hoping I wouldn't have to run to the bathroom.  As such, I have had to take an unplanned break from my reading, typing, answering emails, and really anything that required me to be upright or focused that wasn't directly involved with taking care of my family.

But, I'm hoping that I'm turning a corner here and will be back to my normal blogging self.  So, I wanted to let you all know that I haven't abandoned the blog, or you, or the wonderful clean romance authors out that whom I am anxious to introduce you to.  Though if I still miss a post here or there, I hope you'll be patient with me.  :)

Happy Reading, everyone!

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Giveaway!!! Savage Winter

I'm so excited to tell you all about a wonderful new giveaway today.  Author Rachel Van Dyken is offering one lucky winner an e-copy of her sweet, fantasy romance, Savage Winter.  I enjoyed this book and I'm sure you will, too.  Don't miss out!



For my summary and review, please click here.

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  This giveaway is open internationally.  All entries must be submitted before 11;59 pm on June 28, 2016.  The winner will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, June 20, 2016

Book Spotlight: Love of a Lifetime: A Sweet Contemporary Romance

Love of a Lifetime: A Sweet Contemporary Romance
Delaney Cameron


Faith's boyfriend has started mentioning the "M" word. Her family and friends are thrilled that she’s finally found someone, pointing out that Ian (the husband she lost in Iraq four years earlier) wouldn’t expect her to mourn him forever. It’s time to move on with her life. There’s just one problem: Faith isn’t in love with Connor. Feeling pressure from all sides, she jumps at the chance to get away from St. Marys for a few days. Her escape to the Georgia Mountains isn’t supposed to include waking up to find a stranger in her room. A stranger who will turn all her theories and plans upside down.

Between being a single dad and managing his career, Landris doesn’t have time for anything or anyone else. Which is just as well since he’s not about to risk putting his happiness into a woman’s hands again. His long absence from the dating scene is the only acceptable explanation for why he’s so affected by Faith. The uncomfortable and unwanted feelings she awakens don’t mean anything and won’t last. Once she leaves the cabin, he’ll never see her again. In a few weeks, he probably won’t even remember her name. Or at least that’s the way it should be.

Life sometimes takes what we think we can’t live without. If we’re fortunate, it gives us a second chance for a love of a lifetime.

Author Bio:

I'm a Georgia girl at heart if not by birth. I love to read, watch college football, and spend time with my husband. I'm a hopeless romantic so there will always be a happily ever after in my stories. I also like to write about second chances because love doesn't always work out the first time.

I write sweet romances set in both contemporary and regency settings. My stories are about the journey to love, from that first meeting to the point where two people know their hearts are no longer their own. My characters aren't perfect. They make mistakes and have faults like the rest of us. They learn the sometimes painful truth that the path to love isn't always smooth, but it's a road worth traveling.

The next book in the Finding Love series, Dare to Love, will be available Fall 2016.

To find out more about my books or to sign up for my newsletter, please go to: delaneycameron.weebly.com

Monday, June 13, 2016

Spotlight: Novels of Rhynan

The Novels of Rhynan
Duty                                                 Honor
Rachel Rossano

   



Tomas Dyrease, the newly made Earl of Irvaine and the village of Wisenvale, owes his good fortune to his king and the recent civil war. When his benefactor demands Tomas marry the cousin of a noble, he obeys. However, no one warned him that she wasn't a typical noblewoman.

Brielle Solarius struggles to keep her village from starvation under the new Lord Wisten, her cousin. The men rode off to war and never returned. The remaining women and children face a dire winter if they do not find a solution soon. When she learns her cousin sold her into marriage to save his life, she isn't surprised. However, she is taken aback by Lord Irvaine's unpolished ways. Was this man a noble or a foot soldier? 

Bound by the words of their vows, they face a rough future. They must forge a marriage while battling betrayal, accusations of treason, and villains from the past. Survival depends on their precarious trust in each other. Failure could mean death.



The Earl of Dentin excels in his position as Securer of the Realm. But the king's order to pluck an orphaned child from a loving home unsettles Dentin. When a dark-eyed woman challenges his honor regarding the mission, Dentin finds himself unable to justify his actions or get her out of his mind. Something about her lack of fear intrigues him. 

Lady Elsa Reeve attempts to avoid the marriage of convenience her brother and mother demand of her. She understands the need to pay off her brother's massive debt. She only wants her family to consider her wishes in the process. 

As Elsa becomes further entangled in a snare of her brother's creating, only one man defends her. But can she trust Dentin, her unlikely champion, and his motives? With a murderer on the loose, Elsa's fate in jeopardy, and a traitor plotting against the king, Dentin finds his priorities shifting in an unexpected direction.


Friday, June 10, 2016

Review Rewind: Fantasies

Hello, again, all you lovely readers.  I hope you're ready to remember some oldies but goodies again, because I know I sure am.  Don't get me wrong, I love reading new books.  They're exciting and adventurous and great.  But, sometimes, it's simply lovely to curl up with an old favorite and say hello again to characters you've gotten to know so well, it's like they're old friends.  So, whether these books are ones you've read before, or a new adventure for you, be sure to check them out.



The Mercenary's Marriage  This is the first in a wonderful series of medieval fantasy novels.  It's a little shorter of a book, but Rossano weaves a powerful tale and creates a tantalizing world for the whole series.  If you haven't checked out her books, do yourself a favor and go to it!

Savage Winter  This was a moving story with strong emotions and a great romance.  I loved the sweet and wonderful romance.  Though at times perhaps predictable, it was a great story and one I truly enjoyed.

The Last Witch This was a great fantasy romance with a strong basis in magic as the main character finds out she is a witch.  Learning all that entails brings her closer to adventure, and to the gamekeeper rather than her fiance, than she ever thought possible.  Sweet and fun.

To Dance in Liradon  I can't do a review of fantasy books without mentioning this one.  I must say, it was one of the most intriguing and enthralling fantasies I've ever read.  I found it alluring, even when I disliked the characters or saw a more savage side of the magical world.  The author wove a web of love and magic and fantasy.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...