Monday, April 21, 2014

Author Interview: Robin Alexander

Robin Alexander
author, Matter of Choice

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would youmost likely want to go? 

Walt Disney World, or Australia / New Zealand. Walt Disney World, because I’m totally a Disney freak – I love it there. And traveling to Australia / New Zealand has been a dream of mine for nearly as long as I can remember.

What is your favorite genre to write? 

Sweet romance – I love the flirting and pure romance of it. The way a man treasures the woman he’s in love with, sweeps her off her feet, cherishes and protects her. The kind of stuff that makes a heart melt. I also like paranormal – because it’s less constrained by rules and reality. I like the fantasy in it.

What is your favorite genre to read?

I’m all over the board with what I read. I love romances, of course, but also thrillers, some paranormal, mysteries. Whatever keeps me reading when I really should be getting some sleep.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well? 

Like I said, I love romance, true romance. The sex – everyone experiences that in their lifetime, good, bad or otherwise. But true romance is a bit more rare, and much more special. And no, I don’t do steamy. For me, that part of a relationship doesn’t need to be spelled out in gritty detail for the love between a couple to felt by the reader.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

Well, next on my list is another sweet romance about finding love when it’s right in front of you. Sometimes, those are the hardest to see. I also am tentatively planning on releasing the first book in a sweet paranormal romance that blurs into a bit of sci-fi. I’m hoping to release them both this June.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer? The reviews. Easily. The bad ones hurt, and you have to work past them because they will always be there. But it’s the good ones, the ones where people say they couldn’t put down your book, that make the journey worthwhile. To know you’re writing touched someone, made them feel, that’s just awesome.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

Bits and pieces leak into the writing. I don’t try – I’m a bit of a private person – but it does anyway. My love for nature, animals, orange juice, little things that’ll show up. The bigger stuff, experiences I’ve lived through, show up too in unexpected ways, but I won’t share what they are.

Where do your ideas come from? 

Dreams, mostly. *laughs* My dreams are sometimes really off the wall. I wake up the next morning, write the scene down, and connect the dots later.

Please share about your book

Matter of Choice is the story of Shannon Winters. Her husband was in a serious car accident and doesn’t remember he’s married. While he’s running around, Shannon remains on the sidelines of her shattered marriage, fighting to stay true to her vows. Then comes in Triston Keyes, the high school sweetheart that broke her heart. She starts to question everything – her vows, her feelings for Triston, the way her life is. Difficult decisions have to made, and she has to accept what those decisions will mean for her.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Loyal, committed, confused, professional, fighter

What are your hero and heroine of the story like? 

Shannon is a strong woman, professional, intelligent, devoted. She doesn’t easily give up on people, even when they are hurting her. She wants to believe the best about them, and knows decisions can’t always be made based on feelings. Triston is a passionate guy, but he’s been trying to be something he’s not all his life. Now he knows it was a mistake, and he wants to make amends. He’s fun-loving, loves old architecture, and a go-getter.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

I liked Shannon, but Triston was probably my favorite one to write. He’s got such a great sense of humor, and he adores Shannon so much. More often than not, I was smiling while I was writing his parts in the book.

Find out more about Robin....

@Rmalexanderauth

Saturday, April 19, 2014

SMT: Follies Past: a Prequel to Pride and Prejudice

Follies Past: a Prequel to Pride and Prejudice
Melanie Kerr
Historical Romance

Before there was a single man in possession of a good fortune at Netherfield, there was a single man in want of a wife in London. His name was Wickham and he was bent on marrying himself into as much wealth as he might contrive, preferably to the detriment of the man who had destroyed all his prospects in life – the man known as Darcy of Pemberley.

In Pride and Prejudice, everything hinges on a letter which Mr. Darcy gives Elizabeth - a letter setting forth all his dealings with Mr. Wickham. These facts, supplied by Austen herself, are at the heart of Follies Past. The novel begins at Pemberley, at Christmas, almost a year before the opening of Pride and Prejudice. It follows young Georgiana Darcy to London, to Ramsgate and to the brink of a perilous elopement.

Upon opening the pages of Follies Past, readers will begin to feel as though it was penned by the masterful hand of Jane Austen herself. Crafted with all the skill of a trained linguist, this jaunty excursion into a flawless Regency England gives readers all the joys, the wit, and the drama of their beloved Pride and Prejudice. Existing characters are just as Austen wrote them, and the story, the manners, even the syntax, all conform to her standards and idioms. 

As well as some exciting new characters and a sweet and touching new love story, readers will discover delightful surprises from more minor characters such as Anne de Bourgh and Mrs. Younge. The prefect prequel to England’s favourite book, this is a novel for true Austen fans.

Friday, April 18, 2014

Book Spotlight: The Millionaire Plan

The Millionaire Plan
Kay Harborne


Amber Wynters is on a mission to find a millionaire to marry – and fast. Her parents are nearly bankrupt and forced to sell the family home, a beautiful Tudor house that had been in the family for generations. And it’s all thanks to Amber’s ex-fiancĂ© Rod persuading them to invest in his dodgy shares. So armed with a ‘How to Hook a Millionaire’ Book and a ten point plan, she sets off to hook herself a rich husband. Then she meets the drop-dead gorgeous Jed Curtess. The attraction between them is sizzling but Jed is only a hired hand on one of the millionaire’s yachts. Can Amber ignore her heart and follow her plan?

Author Bio:

This is Kay Harborne’s second romance novel. Her first novel, Never Say Forever, was published in paperback by People’s Friend, then in large print by Linford Romance. It will soon be republished by Astraea Press. She has also written several romance stories for People’s Friend. She is better known as children's author, Karen King.

Other Links:





Monday, April 14, 2014

Book Tour: Inferno of Love




Inferno of Love (Hometown Heroes #2) 
by Allie Boniface



BOOK SYNOPSIS


What happens when your soul mate returns after twelve long years – and has no idea who you are?

Aubrey Anderson is a pediatric occupational therapist who’s spent the last twelve years rebuilding her life after a car accident killed her boyfriend and crushed her legs. A series of strokes on the way to the hospital left her with no memory of either the accident or the weeks leading up to it, so when she starts having nightmares she can’t explain, she decides to return to the scene to see if she can piece together her past.

Finn Cavallo is Lindsey Point's resident playboy, owner of a popular bar, and hero of the Cove Fire, when he pulled seven people from a burning building twelve years earlier. But his flirtatious personality hides the heart of a man who lost his soul mate the night of the fire. When Aubrey walks into his bar with no memory of who he is or what they had, he’s stunned – and it takes everything he has not to tell her about the summer they spent falling in love.

It's only a matter of time before bar conversation turns to passion on the beach and more. But when a series of events raises suspicion that Finn himself might have started the Cove Fire, Aubrey is forced to do whatever she can to discover the truth about both their pasts, including going back to the spot where it all began...



PURCHASE

Excerpt:
Aubrey stared at her glass of wine. "God, I just – I wish I could remember something."
            Finn fell again just like that, watching her catch her bottom lip in her teeth as she mulled over her words. The rhythm of her voice, the way her eyes caught the light…he was nineteen all over again, crushing on another man's girlfriend without a clue of what to do about it.
            Only he wasn't nineteen anymore.
            And Aubrey wasn't here with another man.
            Forget it. He was done thinking. He moved from around the bar without a word, and as he closed the distance between them, she slipped from her stool, moving toward him and landing in his arms like she'd been there all this time. His hand went to the back of her head, cupping it and easing it closer. Her chin lifted, and he caught her mouth with his, loving the way her breath hitched in her throat. She melted into him, the warmth of her curves searing his skin and soaking into the very core of him. His eyes closed.
            He slid his tongue over her bottom lip, taking it slow, waiting for her to step back or break the connection. She didn't. A minute passed, then another. The kiss deepened, and he wasn't sure who pressed first, who wanted more urgently, but it didn't matter. Their tongues met, twisting over and under, delicious and wet and so hot he could barely stand it. Her hands moved from his shoulders to his waist to slide down the back of his jeans and pull him close, closer, until he knew she could feel the way he rose under her touch, wanting her like no other woman he'd ever been with.
            "Oh, Finn…" she said into his mouth, and the words set him on fire. He couldn't wait, couldn't hold back one more second. His palm skimmed down her dress and beneath it, to the swell of her ass and skin so smooth he wanted to taste it. She rose onto her toes, and her mouth crushed his until she pulled her lips away and moved them to his neck and his jaw line and up to his ear, leaving a breathy trail every place she touched.
            "Listen, we  – " know each other. We've done this before. He had to tell her. Didn't he?
            "I don't want to talk."


The Author

Allie Boniface was born and raised in a tiny community in upstate New York, which probably 

explains her fascination with the magic of small town life. She currently teaches high school English in the lower Hudson Valley, where she lives with her husband and two furry felines. She is the author of six contemporary romance novels; Inferno of Love is the second in her Hometown Heroes series. Allie loves chatting with other authors and readers and can be found around the Web (visit her on Facebook or Twitter, and stop by her blog to check out the latest news). She loves attending writers' conferences, giving workshops, swapping stories, and generally talking about romance. Allie loves stories set in small towns and is a firm believer in the power of love and the emotions that connect us all!


Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)
I'm a born and bred New Yorker, though I've lived in the Midwest (Ohio) and New England (Rhode Island) at various points. Right now I'm located in the lower Hudson Valley, about an hour north of NYC, with my husband. I teach high school English full time and write (try to find the time!) on the side. Hubby and I are avid travelers and vacation as often as we can. This year we have 2 big trips planned: Alaska and Iceland. I love finding inspiration in other places!

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?
Authors on my "must read" list include Stephen King (I just finished Doctor Sleep), Jodi Picoult, and John Green. 3 different genres and 3 talented storytellers. I love getting lost in the worlds and the characters they create.

What is your favorite genre to write?
I love writing romance/women's fiction because I love happy endings!

What is your favorite genre to read?
I mostly read women's fiction and literary fiction because I love the language of a really good storyteller.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?
My stories fall somewhere between PG-13 and R, so they're on the sensual side, but I do close the bedroom door when it comes time for the characters to be alone together. For me, the emotional side of a relationship is more interesting and complex to write about. I love the element of falling in love, and that's what I choose to focus my writing on. Sex is important & invaluable in romantic relationships, of course, but I prefer alluding to its intimacy rather than spelling it out for readers.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?
Making stories come alive, and hearing from readers about how much they enjoy those stories! There's nothing like it.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?
Many of my characters and situations (and settings!) are based on people and places I've known. So....be careful! You never know when you might end up in one of my books!

What are the elements of a great romance for you?
Characters you care about, obstacles that seem insurmountable, and love that surpasses everything!

Please share about your book
This is the second book in the Hometown Heroes series, set in the fictional coastal town of Lindsey Point, Connecticut. I describe it as "heartbroken playboy meets recovering amnesiac" and really, it's about two people who met and fell in love as teens but then, because of terrible circumstances, were separated for the next twelve years. When they reconnect, my heroine has no idea who the hero is or what he once meant to her.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?        
Finn – Flirtatious bartender hiding past pain
Aubrey – Recovering amnesiac seeking the truth

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?
Inferno of Love is about lovers reunited, about soul mates reconnecting despite time and circumstances. It is about waiting for your one true love and believing against all odds that s/he will return to you!



Find more about her at:


GIVEAWAY:

Win an e-copy of Beacon of Love (Hometown Heroes #1)
and a $20 Amazon GC


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour:
April 1: Karen Docter's Blog: Author Interview
April 2: My Devotional Thoughts: Spotlight
April 3: Mythical Books: Top 10 List
April 7: A Writer's Life: Author Interview
April 8: Every Free Chance Book Reviews: Spotlight
April 9: Reviews By Molly: Review
April 10: Roxy's Reviews: Review
               Books and Fandom: Spotlight
April 14: Clean Romance Reviews: Interview
April 15: Deal Sharing Aunt: Review
April 16: That Girl Reads: Review

Friday, April 11, 2014

The Antique Love


Helena Fairfax
Contemporary Romance

"And I don't think daydreaming is going to rustle us up a hero."





Penny Rosas loves all things antique and romantic.  Though running her grandfather's antique shop has gotten increasingly complicated since her old partner stormed out, leaving the books a mess.  To add to it all, in walk a handsome cowboy to her London shop, messing with her heart and her head.  Especially when he asks her to design and furnish his new home.  Can Penny keep things professional with this handsome man?  Because of all the things she may not know about Kurt Bold, the one thing he's made quite clear is he is looking for a suitable wife and to be as far away from romance as possible.  Can Penny show him the folly of his way of thinking, or will he teach her a lesson in falling in love with someone she can't have?

My Opinion: This was a delightful contemporary romance.  The sweetness of the story and the fun story that tripped lightly through it's arc was a satisfying read I would recommend.  The main characters had a sweet and clever connection and a handful of side characters nicely filled in the story without making it either crowded or bare of the real world.  Penny was realistic and not overly dramatic while Kurt was a natural hero.  It had good pacing and naturally brought in new events and pulled you along.  The romance was sweet and left me smiling like an idiot in the most delightful way.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Thursday, April 10, 2014

Book Spotlight: Follies of the Past

Follies Past: a Prequel to Pride and Prejudice
Melanie Kerr


Before there was a single man in possession of a good fortune at Netherfield, there was a single man in want of a wife in London. His name was Wickham and he was bent on marrying himself into as much wealth as he might contrive, preferably to the detriment of the man who had destroyed all his prospects in life – the man known as Darcy of Pemberley.

In Pride and Prejudice, everything hinges on a letter which Mr. Darcy gives Elizabeth - a letter setting forth all his dealings with Mr. Wickham. These facts, supplied by Austen herself, are at the heart of Follies Past. The novel begins at Pemberley, at Christmas, almost a year before the opening of Pride and Prejudice. It follows young Georgiana Darcy to London, to Ramsgate and to the brink of a perilous elopement.

Upon opening the pages of Follies Past, readers will begin to feel as though it was penned by the masterful hand of Jane Austen herself. Crafted with all the skill of a trained linguist, this jaunty excursion into a flawless Regency England gives readers all the joys, the wit, and the drama of their beloved Pride and Prejudice. Existing characters are just as Austen wrote them, and the story, the manners, even the syntax, all conform to her standards and idioms.

As well as some exciting new characters and a sweet and touching new love story, readers will discover delightful surprises from more minor characters such as Anne de Bourgh and Mrs. Younge. The prefect prequel to England’s favourite book, this is a novel for true Austen fans.

Author Bio

Melanie Kerr studied linguistics, English and theatre at the University of British Columbia and law at the University of Alberta. She is a regular attendee at meetings of her local chapter of JASNA, and has numerous times arranged for large groups of Canadians to join her in attending the Jane Austen Festival in Bath, England.

In addition to penning Follies Past, Melanie also scripted, directed and produced 3 film-style trailers for her book, using costumes she designed and created herself.

Melanie is a reckless lover of clotted cream, a staunch defender of the semi-colon and a fierce opponent of unpleasant music. She wooed her current and only husband with false promises of skill at word games and eternally good hair. She lives in Edmonton, where she raises her two sons, sews her own Regency costumes, runs a Jane Austen Fun Club, blogs on all things old and English, endeavours to take over the world and occasionally practices law. Follies Past is her first novel.

Other Links:

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Book Tour: Thrown to the Wolves


A young werewolf must fight for her life to gain freedom, but her triumph could mean losing her only chance at happiness.

Hannah, a seventeen-year-old werewolf, would rather be a peasant and free than dripping in jewels and wife to the tyrant werewolf king. Running from him will get her hunted, and most likely killed, yet she formulates a plan.

Sneaking around the castle, she encounters Eli, a handsome blond shape-shifter and slave to the king. Drawn to Eli as a fellow captive, she admires his courage and honor — qualities rarely seen amongst her own kind. With him, Hannah finds rare moments of joy in the place she's desperate to escape. Though she dreams of being with Eli forever, she knows he will never abandon his sister, another prisoner of the evil king.

Meeting in secret, Eli and Hannah's bond deepens as he trains her to protect herself.

When she discovers the king’s scheme to murder her after their wedding, Hannah must choose between a short life and brief happiness with Eli or freedom and a future without him.


Author Bio: 


Veronica Blade lives in Southern California with her husband and children. By day she runs the family business, but each night she slips away to spin her tales. She writes stories about young adults to relive her own childhood and to live vicariously through her characters. Except her heroes and heroines lead far more interesting lives — and they are always way hotter.


Author/Buy links:


Excerpt:

 I needed to make this excursion to the forest count.

After a check to make sure no guards lurked nearby, I jumped from the smithy window and raced toward the trees, moving faster than I ever had in my life. Once under the cover of the forest, I stood absolutely still and listened for any werewolves who might have followed me. There were none.

But something else was out there. I could sense its energy.

I spun, my heart pounding against my ribs, my stomach fluttering at the sight of the beautiful blond blacksmith standing a yard away.

His eyes narrowed as his gaze swept over me. “The bow, quiver and arrows... I believe they belong to me.”

My mouth dropped open. Why had I not been aware he was following me? A scent drifted to me, but I could not place it. Sweet with a hint of earth.

“I saw you leave the smithy.” He nodded toward the quiver slung over my shoulder. “My father made those for me when I was twelve and the arrows were carved by my hand. I would be most grateful if you would return them, milady.”

I glanced at the bow and quiver, unwilling to give them up. I needed them. “I regret I am unable to relinquish them, sir, but I shall be happy to compensate you for your trouble.”

His stance remained respectful with his head bowed, but his words were clipped.

“My father’s gifts are not for sale.”

Letting the weapons go was not an option, though. As a werewolf, especially a born one, I had the advantage of strength against shape-shifters. Still, I did not want to take any chances. I raised my chin and angled my shoulder so he could not easily snatch the bow. “I shall do everything in my power to return your belongings once I have no use for them. I am afraid, sir, that is my only offer.”





Monday, March 31, 2014

Book Spotlight: Best Dating Rules

Best Dating Rules
Tamie Dearen



***PG-Rated Fun***

Emily Best is a stickler for rules, and the Best family has a whole set of rules where dating is concerned. But when Spencer comes into her life, the rules start to unravel.

Spencer has been waiting to meet a very special girl, and he knows Emily is the one. But communication isn't his strong point. He has a reputation as a player, but he's never even kissed a girl!

Emily finds herself on unsure footing for the first time in her life, while Spencer runs himself ragged chasing Emily.

With a relationship fraught with misunderstandings, miscommunications, and mistakes, Spencer fears he's missed his chance to make Miss Best his Mrs.

Best Dating Rules will keep you chuckling as you follow the convoluted path of romance, woven with lots of fun characters to love and one good villain to hate.

Author Bio:
Tamie lives with her very romantic husband of thirty-one years. Although their daughters are grown and married, they've never had an empty nest. The house is constantly full of young people. Some are temporary residents. Some come to share meals or swim. Some just come to hang out. But the constant flow of young folks in and out of the house brings joy and excitement to the home, and inspiration to the writer.

Tamie met her husband as a freshman in college when she acted out of character on a whim. One night in the library lobby, she spied a cute guy with his first name written on the back of his shirt. She called out his name. When he approached to talk to her, she pretended that she'd met him before, asking about his classes and how he liked college. To her surprise and delight, he also pretended that he knew her, but of course he didn't know her name. They continued this false relationship for two months. Each time they saw each other,an event which occurred three times per week at the cafeteria, he would pretend he knew her. Meanwhile, all of Tamie's friends were careful not to reveal her name to him. When he finally admitted his ignorance of her name, he was astonished to learn the truth. And the rest is history.

Other Links:

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Spotlight: Her Best Match

Her Best Match
Tamie Dearen



!!PG-RATED FUN!!

Anne Best was bored with her life in Texas. But when this feisty forty-five year old starts a new life in the Big Apple working for Gherring Inc., she stumbles into more adventure than she bargained for.
Billionaire Steven Gherring always makes the Most Eligible Bachelors list, but he’s given up looking for love.

Gherring’s grandmother, known to everyone as Gram, is on a not-so-secret campaign to find a wife for her grandson.
When veteran matchmaker, Anne Best, joins forces with Gram to find a match for Gherring, passions rise along with hemlines.

Will they find a match for Gherring?
And will Anne take a chance on love?

Filled with lovable characters, plenty of romance and frequent plots twists, Her Best Match will have you tingling with anticipation and laughing out loud.

***THE CHARACTERS COME TO LIFE IN THIS FUN, BUT REFRESHINGLY CLEAN GEM OF A ROMANCE STORY***


Author Bio:

Tamie lives with her very romantic husband of thirty-one years. Although their daughters are grown and married, they've never had an empty nest. The house is constantly full of young people. Some are temporary residents. Some come to share meals or swim. Some just come to hang out. But the constant flow of young folks in and out of the house brings joy and excitement to the home, and inspiration to the writer.

Tamie met her husband as a freshman in college when she acted out of character on a whim. One night in the library lobby, she spied a cute guy with his first name written on the back of his shirt. She called out his name. When he approached to talk to her, she pretended that she'd met him before, asking about his classes and how he liked college. To her surprise and delight, he also pretended that he knew her, but of course he didn't know her name. They continued this false relationship for two months. Each time they saw each other,an event which occurred three times per week at the cafeteria, he would pretend he knew her. Meanwhile, all of Tamie's friends were careful not to reveal her name to him. When he finally admitted his ignorance of her name, he was astonished to learn the truth. And the rest is history.

Other Links:

Saturday, March 22, 2014

SMT: The Movement of Crowns

The Movement of Crowns
Nadine C Kells
Fantasy Romance
Christian Romance

The Movement of Crowns, an epic fiction series of royalty, romance, war, and hope. An indomitable princess. A beautiful prankster. A young, untried king of a powerful Realm. Their destinies are entwined in the kingdoms they call home, and an epic journey awaits each of them, after which they'll never be the same.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Author Interview: Nadine Keels

Nadine Keels
author, Movement of Crowns



Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

My goodness! Like many a bibliophile, my list stretches out to the horizon and beyond. As of this interview, I’m reading Certain Women by Madeleine L’Engle. I’ve a few I’ve yet to read by Henry James, like The Wings of the Dove and The Bostonians, a stack I must read by Janette Oke, including her Seasons of the Heart and Canadian West series, and just about everything by L.M. Montgomery that I haven’t read yet, like The Blue Castle and A Tangled Web.

What is your favorite genre to read?

As far as literature goes, fiction is my first love, both to read and to write, always with some element of romance in it.

Currently, I most like to read classic literature and Christian fiction.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I’ve been a bookworm all my life, and my love of writing stemmed from the many books I read as a child, from authors like Beverly Cleary and Judy Blume. Hence, I’ve been writing stories since I was seven or eight years old. Then, during the few days of a horrific experience I had when I was thirteen, a novel saved my life: John Nielson Had a Daughter by Ruth Livingston Hill. That whole experience is a long story, but my purpose for writing books (beyond writing for my own pleasure) was first awakened there. I now write to help people: to bring hope, to change minds, to expand imagination, to provide entertainment, and to save lives, all of which other authors’ books have done for me.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

The greatest reward is when readers let me know that something I wrote did actually help them, whether it changed a reader’s perspective about a situation in his/her life or if someone enjoyed a book of mine enough to read it in one sitting.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

A great deal, whether I’m purposely writing from my internal or external life. I tell writers that their own lives—their thoughts, emotions, convictions, and experiences—are their greatest assets to draw from. Sometimes the aspects of my life that I include in my writing are literal, and other times they’re repackaged for the reader, but everything I write (fiction, nonfiction, and poetry) starts with where I’m “at” in my life: mentally, emotionally, experientially, etc.

If you could sum up the main character of The Movement of Crowns into five words, what would they be?

Well, to use just five of the words readers have used to describe Constance so far: strong, mature, passionate, educated, and kind.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

The Movement of Crowns might bring you hope, change your mind, expand your imagination, entertain you, or even save your life. As one reviewer put it, “Readers are left at the end with the sense that they’ve read something unique and special.”

Monday, March 17, 2014

CLOSED Author Interview and Giveaway!!! Vickie King

Vickie King
author, The Braddock series

Fill in the blank favorites – The type of heroes

I love are all different, depending on the story. I’ve always loved alpha heroes, especially if they have been emotionally injured. But I also love that geeky hero who is immersed in his work. 

One thing they have in common is they are all honorable and strong.

The type of heroines I love are strong, and it comes from what they have endured. They heroine may not know she possesses this quality. She must be willing to do anything for those she loves, and she, too, must be honorable. 

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list? 

I would most likely have a technical writing book. I love them. I love finding that jewel on writing I might have missed.

What is your favorite genre to read? 

I read mostly contemporary romance, but I also love historical, mystery, and romantic suspense.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer? 

The most rewarding thing about being a writer is hearing that someone likes what I have written, and that maybe my books have brought them some enjoyment.

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader? 

My favorite comment from a reader is that they cried on the second book. (It was a beta reader, so it was read in manuscript form.) I think when a reader emotionally connects to a book, then the writer has done his or her job, whether they are laughing, crying, or on the edge of their seat.

What are the elements of a great romance for you? 

For me, the elements of a great romance are that the hero and heroine be believable and that the reader must be able to empathize with them. 

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Carly Braddock in the first book of The Braddock series is strong, spirited, independent, family-orientated, and honorable.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like? 

I hope my characters in this series come across as people the readers can identify with. This is a small-town series.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

Roxie Montgomery in the third book of The Braddock series I’m working on is my favorite character so far. Her house is a mad house, just like mine was when my kids were growing up. She wants what most mom’s want, to make positive changes in her life, to lose weight, to get organized, and she’s made a plan to do it.

And now, Vickie is offering you a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card!!  Just use the Rafflecopter code below and be sure to check out Vickie's books!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, March 14, 2014

Mail Order Love


Amy Blakelear
Historical Romance
Book 1 in Oregon Mail Order Brides Series

"It had to be over now, this romance in her head."




Ellie Bates has been left to the questionable mercies of her ex-sister-in-law after a bout of typhoid leaves her without any other family, and in poor health herself.  But when Ellie finds she is to be sold off as a bride to a man who makes her skin crawl, she is desperate to take action.  Surely being a housekeeper somewhere - anywhere - else would be better than that.  Secretly placing an ad in the paper, she waits on the hope of salvation.  Which comes with an invitation to come to Oregon, and the misunderstanding that she was advertising herself as a mail-order bride.  Jared Ford has no time for silly things like women.  He's put everything into working the ranch since his parents' death, but his well-meaning Grandmother has different plans.  Now, how to get rid of the place and sickly woman who's come to be a housekeeper he doesn't need.  But as he gives her a polite chance, Jared just might find out what he's been missing all along.

My Opinion: I had high hopes for this story that unfortunately fell a bit flat.  The concept of the storyline was wonderful, but I felt like there wasn't enough to hold it up.  Much of the story was slow with little action or events to move it along and help the reader get to know the characters.  The dialogue was kept at an overly and almost false level of levity that it just became unbelievable and almost silly.  What I did know of them, I liked.  Jared was a young, but hard working man who was overly polite.  Ellie was another hard worker who stood up for herself when the moment counted.  Grammy was sweet in her own way as well.  I had hoped for a few more loose ends to be tied with characters that were introduced and then lost, but perhaps they will come into play in other books in the series.  Several poor writing mistakes were distracting, but the idea had potential.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, March 10, 2014

Book Spotlight: Where is Papa's Shining Star?

Where is Papa's Shining Star
Judy Nickels


Wealthy Alan Ashley, blinded in World War I, returns home to face a challenge to his ability to run the family business. As the case goes to court, he finds himself drawn to the cheerful, ever-optimistic Lenore Seldon, his defense attorney’s secretary. When he wins his case, he offers her employment, but she declines and disappears from his life.

Ten years later, frail and in desperate need of work, Lenore answers his ad for a personal assistant. He hires her with the agreement that she will live in, chaperoned by his housekeeper, so that she can drive for him, and he can teach her to use the Braille writer. She is the perfect employee, but he senses that she is frightened of something—or someone.

When he finds himself falling in love with her, he must uncover her secrets in order to save their relationship---and to save her from herself.

The story continues in Finding Papa's Shining Star

Author Bio:

Judy Nickles, also writing as Gwyneth Greer, has been spinning tales since she could hold a #2 pencil. When bad weather threatened, her elementary teachers called on her to tell stories to keep the other students from focusing on the storm clouds outside. For better or worse, she still hangs on to the faded copies of her own1950’s era parodies of the popular television show Dragnet: Fishnet, Hairnet, and Butteryfly Net, and most of the essays, stories, and poems she wrote in junior high and high school. Later, she wrote The Big Valley ‘fan fiction’ for an online site.

Where Is Papa’s Shining Star?, Finding Papa’s Shining Star, The Showboat Affair, and Dancing with Velvet were published in print and also as ebooks by The Wild Rose Press. The Face on Miss Fanny’s Wall, inspired by a visit to the Ft. Smith Visitor’s Center, a restored ‘social club’, was contracted as an ebook by Champagne Books and nominated for the 2012 Novel of the Year.

In addition, she’s been published in History Magazine, My First Year in the Classroom (Adams Media), The Harsh and The Heart: Celebrating the Military (Silver Boomers Books), The Storyteller Magazine, and Christmas Bells, Christmas Tales (Dancing with Bear Publishing).

A genealogist for over 30 years, Judy believes that stories are everywhere and wishes she had time to write all of them. Her writing philosophy is “Shred the rejection, take a second look, rewrite, and resubmit.”

Her favorite possession is her Kindle Fire. She is having her adolescent rebellion 50+ years late and recently took a ride in a vintage B-24 bomber built the year she was born during the war (that’s WW II for all you youngsters out there).

Other Links:
Publisher (The Wild Rose Press) http://tinyurl.com/l6paeww

Thursday, March 6, 2014

CLOSED Giveaway!!! Once Upon a Lifetime

Hello there!  I'm so happy to tell you about a great giveaway today.  Author Jennifer Kitchens (that's ME!) is giving away a free e-copy (mobi/Kindle) of her newest time-travel regency romance novel, Once Upon a Lifetime, to TWO lucky winners!!  Don't miss out - it's pretty good, if I do say so myself.  :)


For Amazon's page, please click here.

So, how do you enter to win?  It's easy!  Just use the Rafflecopter form below.

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  This giveaway is open internationally.  This giveaway will end at 11:59 pm EST on March 17, 2014.  All entries must be submitted before then.  The winners will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...