Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Author Interview: Lisa Norato

Lisa Norato
author, Love in a Victorian


Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I am a life-long New Englander from a close-knit Italian family in Rhode Island. Although, I have traveled a bit throughout the U.S. and Canada, I’m homebody at heart. I enjoy my recliner and sweet little Yorkie-poo lap dog, where we live in a small, historic neighborhood of diverse houses styles and churches dating as far back as the eighteenth century.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

That’s definitely me. I’m a reader. I love the variety of reading many different types of books and discovering new authors. I read romance mostly, of course, but also enjoy suspense, non-fiction, biographies, Christian fiction and non-fiction, historical fiction and classics. Whenever I come across a book that captures my interest, I add it to my must-read list (which is always growing, by the way). At the moment that list includes an upcoming Daniel Steel novel called The Right Time, Into the Water by Paula Hawkins, The Tales of Wandering Prophet by Hubie Synn, When Angels Cry by MaryLu Tyndall, The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen, and an upcoming Amish Christmas anthology with a story from a good writer friend of mine, Lisa Jones Baker.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

Clean romance allows me to write romances where the characters don’t recognize they’ve met their sole mate until they slowly begin to really get to know each other. They spend time together and enjoy each other’s company without expectations. Clean romance focuses on the journey of falling in love as opposed to a relationship motivated by physical attraction. Passion can fade with time and familiarity, but loving and respecting a person for who they truly are endures. It’s the basis for true love. My current release, Love in a Victorian, is a clean romance, but I have also written Christian historical romance and time travel.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

It’s hard to say just how much of my own personality and life experiences goes into each book I write, but I would say a fair amount. In a way I have walked in the shoes of each character I create, to feel what they feel.

To do that I will often draw on my own reality and view of the world, the experiences of those close to me, of others I’ve observed and/or learned about. This is especially true in my newest release, Love in a Victorian. It’s a clean and wholesome contemporary romance set in fictional Elm’s Corner, Rhode Island, but which was inspired by my own community. The story is sprinkled with true local history, my own childhood reminiscences, and some Rhode Island trivia. I’ve even taken the liberty of borrowing the first names of some family and friends.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

For me, it’s characters that come alive on the page and an intriguing setting that makes me feel I am experiencing the story right there with them.

Please share about your book .

Love in a Victorian is a clean and wholesome contemporary romance set in a small New England town.

Every house has a story. . . .

Historical restoration contractor Jamie Kearly thought she’d found her happily-ever- after house, until she lost the sale at the last minute to a higher offer.  Attorney Richard Damien has purchased his grandmother’s Victorian, because growing up in the historic village of Elm’s Corner was the only time he’s ever felt a sense of belonging. When he hires J. Kearly Restoration, he doesn’t realize the contractor comes with a bossy lady foreman, but Jamie’s dad has sprained his ankle, leaving Jamie to take charge of the project. Now she has no choice but to transform her dream house into Rick’s perfect home.

Soon Rick will learn it takes more than four walls to make a Victorian a home. And as for Jamie—well, it’s going to take more than a hammer to nail down this confirmed bachelor.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Love in a Victorian is a romance novel, but it is also a love story about family and home, about the memories and love that make a house a home—even if that home is just you and your cat. I’ve put my heart into creating that experience for the reader with this story.

Monday, May 8, 2017

Book Spotlight: Healing Seas

Christina Lorenzen
Historical Romance

In just a matter of days, Addie Mayfield’s life is upended. Through an arrangement her father makes, she sets sail on the RMS Titanic as governess to the two young Fairchild children. When tragedy strikes, she finds herself rescued alongside strangers on the RMS Carpathia, headed for New York City. Far from home, she is taken in by the O’Reilly family to wait for her family to send for her. With no money for her passage home, she’s brought to the small hamlet of Montauk to become a caretaker for a great aunt she has never met.

Captain Frank Shea is a man without a ship. Removed from duty as captain of the RMS Morrow, he’s come to Montauk to recover from a leg injury. More painful than the injury is his fall from grace after spending his entire life at sea. The ocean was his home and he has never needed anyone. Now faced with an uncertain future, he’s desperate for a way back to the sea. Until he meets Addie Mayfield, a woman who is just as lost as he is.

Can these two people find hope for the future after all they’ve lost? Can an unexpected love heal two broken souls?

Author Bio:
Christina started writing as a young teen, jotting stories in wire ring composition notebooks. Her first typewriter made it faster to get all those

stories out of her head and down on paper. Her love of writing has sustained her through a myriad of jobs that included hairdresser, legal secretary, waitress and door-­to-‑door saleswoman.

Luckily for her, writing proved to be successful and a lot less walking than going door to door. Healing Seas, her first historical romance, is Christina's fifth book. She is also the author of A Husband for Danna, its sequel, A Wife for Humphrey, Snow Globe Reunion and Harvest Blessings. She is busy working on a modern retelling of the classic tale, Rapunzel. When she isn't writing or reading, she can be found walking her
dog, talking to her herd of cats and spending time with her family.

To find out about Christina's upcoming releases, visit her website at http://christinalorenzen.com/.
Subscribe to Christina's newsletter and be entered automatically each month to win a $5 Amazon gift card at http://christinalorenzen.com/connect-with-christina

Other Links:
Buy on Amazon: 


Thursday, April 27, 2017

Book Spotlight: Elissa Blue

TK Perry

Though she worried it might never happen, Elissa Blue has finally gotten her wings. Now she has a short window of time to migrate to the Mating Mountain, find a husband, and get back down the impassable cliffs before she loses her ability to fly forever. If she doesn’t succeed, she’ll be stranded as a servant in the Old Castle for the rest of her life. And if she doesn’t choose her man wisely, she might be just as miserable.

Author Bio:
T.K. Perry lives with her husband and daughter in a lovely Oregon forest filled with wildlife (there is probably a house, too, but that's less picturesque). When she isn't writing or watching said wildlife, she enjoys making jewelry, pretending to be a photographer, and trying to save the world (a frustrating task since she lacks both superpowers and a costume). She is currently working on book two in The Winged series.


Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Book Spotlight: Storm of Attraction

Storm of Attraction
Lily Black


Love is worth fighting for.

Alexa Wolving has just one rule: never give a guy a second chance. That works just fine in the safe life she’s built. In the charming town of Willowdale, her day job as a librarian balances perfectly with her evening job as a black belt instructor. But when she attracts the attention of a stalker, Alexa’s carefully built world begins to crumble.

Drew Cosimo knows he broke Alexa’s heart five years ago when he took his first Ranger assignment and disappeared from her life. Now that he’s out of the army, he’s moving back home to Willowdale. He’s not looking for a fight, but making peace would be easier if Alexa hadn’t told the entire town he was a money-grubbing jerk. Despite the tension between them, Drew is quick to offer his protection when a stalker forces Alexa from her home.

As the stalker’s attacks escalate, Alexa and Drew are forced to face their painful past and the simmering attraction between them. They must fight to save each other before everything they care about goes up in flames.

Author Bio:
Lily Black believes in true love, but is also quite sure going after it is the scariest thing we'll ever do! She explores this dynamic in her romantic suspense novels, which are set in the small imaginary town of Willowdale, where people dream big, love deeply, and kick butt if necessary. She has a black belt in Chung Do Kwan Tai Kwon Do, and has also trained in everything from judo to broadswords. She lives in North Carolina, where she works as a content editor for a small publisher, and divides her free time between the mountains and the sea with her very patient and loving husband and their teen daughter. She is also the co-creator of the Book Ninjas’ Blush-O-Meter. Readers everywhere search the Book Ninja’s online catalog for romance, YA and chicklit novels in all genres, and find books that match their blush level!

Her debut romantic suspense--Storm of Attraction--launched February 13th, 2017 from Red Adept Publishing. She welcomes you to join her on the journey!

Book Ninja’s Catalog: http://www.book-ninjas.com/

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Author Interview: Roni Denholtz

Roni Denholtz
author, Setting the Stage for Love

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)
I was born in New York City but grew up in NJ.  I have one brother and one sister.  I went to college and became a teacher, and was writing on the side—children’s stories, articles and “confessions.”  I stayed home after having my children and eventually spent more time on what I love to read—romance novels.  I love happy endings!
Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.
I don’t like heroes who are too “alpha.”  I like heroes and heroines who are realistic, and not super people who can do everything.  But my heroes and heroines really care about others—and about animals.
Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?
Right now I am reading “Hot Cowboy Nights” by Carolyn Brown, a  contemporary western; and ‘Trail of Dreams” by Merry Farmer, a historical western.  (I’m in a western mood).  I read a lot of contemporaries, cozy mysteries, and regency romances.  Two of my favorite authors of sweet romances are Gina Ardito and Shelley Galloway.
Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?  
I visited Greece once and loved it.  I would go back any time!
What is your favorite genre to write?  
I love writing all kinds of romances.  
What is your favorite genre to read?  
Probably contemporary romances, but I do read all kinds of romances except dark paranormals.  I also won’t read horror.
What is one silly fact about you?
I love music from the late 60s and early 70s and can usually “name that tune” within a few notes if I hear a song on the radio.  
What got you started on your writing journey?
The Nancy Drew books!  Once I read those (starting at age 9) I knew I wanted to write similar stories.  Of course I branched out, but I have written some children’s mystery books.  And it started me on writing down the stories in my head.
Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?
I enjoy writing romances with strong emotions.  Many sweet romances concentrate on the emotional aspects of a relationship.  I have written more sensuous romances, but not erotic romances.
What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?
I have a novella coming out soon too in the Kindle “Blame it on Texas” world.  That one is sexier.  Then I am revising a Victorian historical romance which has ghosts!  I also have two more “clean” romance novels which I have to revise.
What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?  
Being able to tell the stories in my head; and having people say they read them, and it touched a chord in them.
Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?
I love getting emails from readers.  I don’t have a particular favorite.  Someone just wrote me that she loved Brooke and William’s story!
How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?
A lot of my own experiences do end up in stories, even in a minor way.  For example, there is a cat in the book.  I was on the board of my local animal shelter for 8 years, and I know how often cats and dogs are abandoned, so I did want to show that they can make wonderful pets when they are given a new home.
Where do your ideas come from?
All over!  I use the “what if” technique—what if this happened, then that happened?  For Brooke and William’s story, I loved their characters when they appeared in “A Taste of Romance” and decided they needed their own book.
How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?
I have written over 10.  8 have been published with another one coming out soon.
What are the elements of a great romance for you?
Great characters, an interesting situation, and plots that have twists and turns.
Tell us about your book.


Brooke is the sister of Jeremy from “A Taste of Romance.”  She runs into her first serious boyfriend in Taste but I also show that scene from her viewpoint in Setting the Stage.  She thinks he’s just a friend, and that this is what she needs for now.  But she gradually discovers their relationship is something more!
What are your hero and heroine of the story like?
Brooke comes from a famous family but is really pretty down-to-earth and sensible.  William is a pretty practical and upbeat guy. They never quite forgot each other, and when he gets the opportunity to pursue the adult Brooke, he does.  And quickly realizes his feelings are not a teen’s, but that of a grown man.
Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?
It’s a fun, positive story about two people who start as friends but fall in love.

Monday, April 17, 2017

Spotlight: A Real Life Fairytale (& a Giveaway!)

     



 
Cinderella: a REAL life fairytale If a dream is a wish your heart makes then Cindee Ellis is in major trouble. There’s no way Henry Christensen will ever notice her under all those oil stains and brake fluid splattered across her shirt. Unless—she’s dead wrong about him. Join her with this real life fairytale set in the small town of Silver Creek to find out how she’ll work her guts out to make her own happily ever after.
     

 
Beauty and the Beast: a REAL life fairytale There's a tale as old as time of two people falling in love, but what happens when Belle won't have anything to do with it. Join her with this real life fairytale set in the small town of Silver Creek to find out how she’ll transform the town's beast into a handsome prince with her heart, not her beautician skills.      
  






The Frogg Princess: a REAL life fairytale Taya is almost there. Join her in this real-life fairytale, set in the small town of Silver Creek, as she plans to start a new life by opening a little restaurant. Only to find a few rude people that don’t seem to welcome her. But that doesn’t seem to bother Felix Frogg, a local police officer, and the love-at–first-sight reactions he keeps tossing her way. If Taya isn’t careful with the way her heart is softening towards Felix, she could be walking into a lifetime commitment of happily ever after that wasn’t in her plans.
      




Excerpts Cinderella: a REAL life fairytale “Hey, Cindee, before I forget. You have a real nice day.” I nod with about the blankest expression I’ve ever felt, and then he winks. HE LITERALLY WINKS! My eyes are as big as I can stretch them. Either Henry Christensen just did that on purpose, or he has something irritating his eye. I want to go with my first choice, but the second one seems more accurate. I’m the girl with no name, until just now, standing in a huge coat, so it’s gotta be the second choice, right? “Henry? Is that you?” Priscilla’s sticky-sweet voice interrupts. He doesn’t speak a word as he presses on the gas to slowly start backing up. “I’ll stop by the station to pick up the trucks in a while. Make sure you’re there,” he says before quickly pulling onto Main Street where everything disappears, except for the faint glow of his brake lights that blink three times. Is he saying goodbye? I know other girls back in high school had boys do this to them, but not me. NOT EVER. Not once did a boy tap his brake lights to me. I think I’ve died and gone to heaven. 

Beauty and the Beast: a REAL life fairytale “Thank you for this.” I whisper into Adam’s ear. “For what?” He grins. “For being the kind of man that makes a woman believe there’s a God in heaven.” I nuzzle into his shoulder and close my eyes as the preacher asks us to pray. Once we finish, the rows of people begin to stand. I wipe under my eyes one more time just to make sure I don’t have mascara running down my face.   

  The Frogg Princess: a REAL life fairytale “You probably shouldn’t be with a girl like me. I could corrupt a boy like yourself,” I tease, trying to ease the heat flooding my face. How could I push myself on him? I’m cringing inside at being so stupid. “Nah, I’d happily go as far as you’d allow me,” he softly chuckles. “I just have a promise I made with my brother.” “A promise?” I narrow my eyes. “Yeah, we both agreed to wait for marriage.” I stifle a gasp. Is he for real?     Praise for the Book Five Stars: Couldn’t put this book down! This book has a way of not only making you feel what the characters are feeling, but it sucks you in where you don’t want to put it down, Not only have I read this book once, but I read it all over a second time. If you want to get lost for a few hours then I would highly recommend you read this book!! Five Stars: Sooooo Good! I really enjoyed this novella. I was so happy with the ending. It was well written and kept my attention even when my Grandson interrupted for help on his homework. So happy he left the math worksheet at school. I will be looking for more of this author's work. Hope you enjoy this novella. Five Stars: A clean romance book! Jamie Brook Thompson has got some mad writing skills! She has talent that can take you to another world for a few hours! I recommend this book to anyone who needs a good chic book (like a chic flick but in book form ;) ) to escape the real world for a bit! And who doesn't love cowboys?! 

Author Jamie Brook Thompson Jamie Brook Thompson is a small town girl that loves to tell a good story. She grew up as the daughter of a redneck farmer and hippie mother. Her entire life has been filled with duct tape and peace and love. She currently has 6 children, two dogs, and a handsome Prince of her very own! When she isn’t writing, you can find her out at her father’s ranch changing tires on tractors, working on motors that need repair, or adjusting carburetors on the family four wheelers to ride the high Utah desert. She’s a woman of many talents and trades, but the one she enjoys the most is writing stories to take readers into a world of hope—a world of clean romance!



  $500 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Giveaway Ends 5/3/17 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW. a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 3, 2017

Author Interview: Sarah Doebereiner

Sarah Doebereiner

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)
I'm an ex-New Yorker, born and bred there. I'm one of those people who never saw an actual autumn until I went to college in New England. I'm a second generation book person: My father was a literary agent.
I have a soft spot for cold places. I’ve been to the Arctic Circle and Antarctica.
I like adventure and have slight risk-taking bone. I’m a pilot and used to fly aerobatic planes. Although I never did this, I thought when my daughters started dating I’d take their boyfriends up to 9,000’ feet, spin the plane and extract whatever promises I wanted from them.
I live in Tokyo.
Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.
Superman's heart is as good and gold as they get. He wants to do the right thing, though he's tormented by the fact that despite all his powers he can't always accomplish what he wants.
I recently read Stephanie Meyer’s The Chemist. The heroine, the main character, Alex, is somebody who defies all odds, eliminates evil, finds her center and reclaims her life. I liked her a lot.
Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?
Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut may be the best and most wonderfully written collection of short stories ever published. I read them over and over again. Stephen King's The Stand got me through a difficult breakup, so I have a soft spot for that scary novel.
Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?
I'd like to go to the Falkland Islands. I don't know much about that place other than that it's rural and rustic. It must take great fortitude to live there. I want to know how people feel about living in such a remote location.
What is your favorite genre to write?
I like to write horror because it touches our second most deep emotion, after love.
What is your favorite genre to read?
I like to read fast-paced thrillers, books in which you —and the characters— don’t know what will happen next.
What is one silly fact about you?
I failed my driving test three times. (Did I actually admit that?  I'm from New York City -- that's my excuse.)
What got you started on your writing journey?
I see new things and want to turn them into stories.
Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?
Although I write horror and science fiction, there's always romance in my stories. What makes our hearts work they way they do is the most important and interesting part of any story.
What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?
I just finished writing my novel, Akiko and Peter: Into Eldritch Island. It's about a Japanese-American couple who have the usual problems that any couple has, plus one more: They attract ghosts. I'm now writing the sequel.
What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?
Reading books is  part of a writer’s job description. How cool is that?
Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?
I like when readers ask where I get my ideas from because it forces me to think analytically about my own creative process.
How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?
I'm afraid to say that my fiction is at least fifty percent personal experience. At least as far as the gestation of a story idea is concerned.
Where do your ideas come from?
Often my ideas come from my own mistakes.
How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?
I've written nearly twenty books. Most have been nonfiction, but now I'm writing mostly fiction, which I enjoy immeasurably.
What are the elements of a great romance for you?
I like characters who aren't sure what they want until they find it.
Please share about your book
My most recent book is No Time to Say Goodbye, a time travel love story novella It's about a doctor who finds himself hurtling through time, further and further away from the woman he loves. No Time to Say Goodbye is a gripping novella about one man’s desperate attempt to hold onto love and life no matter what happens, no matter where—or when—he is.
If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?
A man who wants to love somebody more than anything.    
What are your hero and heroine of the story like?
They're an ordinary couple, who can't imagine being apart. But that's exactly what's happening -- some unknown is separating them in time.
Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?
No Time to Say Goodbye is about trying to hold onto love when everything in the universe seems to be conspiring against you. No Time to Say Goodbye is about finding happiness in a universe that tries to strip you all you know and love.
Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 
Rachel, the wife of the time-traveling doctor is a wonderful character because she's able to accept what's happening — that her husband, her love, will soon be gone and she’ll be dead. She’s able to accept this, and accept that she has no control over her life anymore.

Thursday, March 30, 2017

Heart Strings

Donna Hatch
Regency Romance
Book 1 of Music of the Heart Series

"Her father used to say angels played harps in heaven, and even called her ‘his little angel.’ Susanna was pretty sure they also played violins."




Caught between an unwanted marriage and an unwanted proposition, Susanna sees no other option than to leave the only home she's ever know.  Her aunt has left her no other choice.  With little money and a lot of courage, she sneaks away to try her luck in London as a harpist - her only useful skill.  Luck finds her in the form of Kit, a violinist who helps her get a job.  But he doesn't stop there.  Should she take his help?  Can she afford not to?  And just what does he want?  Kit's drawn to Susanna from the moment he lays eyes on her.  There is just something about the waif that makes him want to help her.  But when her past catches up to her, he may have to rely on the one he walked away from to save her.

My Opinion: This was a well crafted and highly entertaining book.  Not often do I find a regency that can surprise me, but this one managed to do it, with some clever twists and a lovely plot.  Susanna is a strong female protagonist, proud but innocent.  Kit is a dashing and charitable hero you just have to love.  The romance was natural and sweet.  The story rounded out nicely with the other characters in the orchestra and in Kit's family.  A delightful read and a very well crafted story.  I would highly recommend it.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, March 27, 2017

CLOSED Giveaway!!! How to Love a Dog's Best Friend

Hello all you wonderful readers out there.  Who's ready to win a free book!  Cami Checketts, a fabulous author of many, many great clean romances, is offering you a chance to win her new book, How to Love a Dog's Best Friend.

First, here's a little about the book.

Attacked as a child, Brikelle Manwaring is terrified of dogs. When Colt Jepson's huge Great Dane chases her up a canyon, she tells him off and prays she'll never see either of them again. 

When Colt and Brikelle are forced to pretend they are married, Colt discovers there’s more to Brikelle than a feisty beauty who likes to tell him off. 

Their deception grows until neither of them are sure what is reality and what is fiction. The only thing they know is if they don’t tell the truth soon, they might lose their careers and any chance to be together.

Can Brikelle ever learn to love a beastly dog, or his owner?

So, who's ready to win??  TWO lucky winners will get a free e-copy of this great book!  Just enter with the Rafflecopter below!

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  The winners will be chosen at random and notified via email.  The winner's will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...