Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Book Spotlight: The Making of a Man

The Making of a Man
Rachel Rossano


The Earl of Dentin returns. Eight stories ranging from short story to novelette in length give us greater understanding into why Dentin is the complex and enigmatic man he is. It also includes new adventures that happen between Honor and the next Rhynan novel.

Passing the Mantle – An ill-fated hunting trip
Forging Friendships – Recruiting able-bodied men ineligible for knighthood
The Sword of Korma Monroe – A sword made for trouble
Turning Point – A duke and an earl plot treason
The Bittersweet Pear – A marital misunderstanding
Isbeth’s Redemption – Dentin doesn’t make a good first impression
A Squire’s Love – Reginald’s quest
Restoration – A trip to Braulyn produces unexpected company

Author Bio:
Rachel Rossano is a happily married mother of three children. Between mothering, homeschooling, and keeping up with housework, she writes and designs covers for other authors. Her preferred book setting is in a medieval world of her own creation, but she ventures into science fiction and epic fantasy upon occasion.

Other Links:

Monday, May 2, 2016

Book Tour: Candlelight Kisses

Candlelight kisses

  Candlelight Kisses by Jennifer Youngblood & Sandra Poole 
  A romantic and zany new series by bestselling authors Jennifer Youngblood and Sandra Poole.
Gracie Louise Andrews led an ordinary, humdrum life--right up until the day she died and became an angel ... err ... almost an angel. In order to become a real angel, she must prove herself. She's given the assignment to help couples find lasting love--an overwhelming task, considering her own love life was a complete disaster. Begrudgingly, Gracie accepts her new role and is assigned her first couple: Alex Swanson and Dawson Allen. Alex, a self-made business owner who has her nose constantly to the grind, regrets losing Dawson, the love of her life. Formerly the Marketing Director of Alex's company, Dawson has moved out of state and is no longer a part of her life. Gracie uses her newfound angel powers to orchestrate a wacky plan to bring the couple back together. Things go awry when a handsome, mysterious stranger sweeps Gracie off her feet and threatens to distract her from her mission. Will her zany antics save the day, or will she bumble the whole thing up and forgo any chance of ever becoming an angel?
amazon get it
 

  Praise for the Book: "I did not see that ending coming! Gracie is not what I expected either...she doesn't fit the mold of what you think an "angel-in-training" is supposed to be like, and it will be fun to see her continue to learn and change. I love her mentor, Gertrude! It is a fun, clean romance that keeps you interested and entertained. Eagerly anticipating the next one in the series!” by Verified Amazon Customer "Do NOT miss this one! I loved the way Gracie's character pulled me in and kept me reading! Kept me up all night!” by Always Reading "I really enjoyed this book! It was romantic and fun. Gracie is so spontaneous and carefree, and I got attached to Alex and Dawson. I can't wait for the next one!” by Verified Amazon Customer

add to goodreads
    
  Excerpt From Candlelight Kisses She was floating, drifting without a care in the world. It was the feeling of being caught up in a glorious dream where time and space were irrelevant. “Wow! This is incredible!” Gracie sighed contentedly, not wanting to wake up, but her eyes seemed to have a mind of their own as they popped open. She glanced around, expecting to see the familiar surroundings of her bedroom but then realized with a jolt that her favorite overstuffed chair and other comfy furnishings had been replaced with a metal chair, nondescript walls, and some sort of medical device. There was a solid red line going across the screen, and this annoying beeping kept wailing like an opera singer who’d gotten stuck on the same note. Her mind whirled in confusion as she realized that she was hovering in midair, her back pressed against the ceiling. Then she noticed that the room was full of people, gathered around a hospital table, frantically working to revive someone—a woman. She looked down, only mildly curious about whom the person could be. She was too busy enjoying being weightless and the carefree feeling that had overtaken her. All of her problems seemed obsolete, and she felt free and unencumbered, a happy balloon sailing in the air. Something about the scene below drew her attention, and she realized that the people scurrying about were doctors and nurses. Their faces were pinched and drawn. She wondered why they were all so sad. The doctor, a middle-aged man with graying temples shook his head. “We’ve done all we can do.” There was a note of finality in his voice as his hands fell limp to his side. A nurse nodded and began pulling a sheet over the woman’s head. It was only then that Gracie caught a glimpse of the lifeless girl on the table. A soundless scream wrenched from her throat as she recognized the face. It was her!

Youngblood Poole
 
Jennifer Youngblood & Sandra Poole 
Jennifer and Sandra—daughter and mother writing duo—have been writing together for many years and have over a dozen published novels, a collection of short stories, and a children’s book (released under the pen name of Periwinkle Blue). They feel it’s a great privilege to be able to collaborate with each other as it adds a depth and spice to their work that neither of them could get independently. For them, writing is a continual journey of discovery. They have so many ideas for books that it’s hard to focus on one at a time. Both of them have a penchant for chocolate, seafood, and movies. Jennifer has a B.A. in English and Social Sciences from BYU Hawaii, and Sandra has a Masters in Business Administration. Jennifer and Sandra now live in the Rocky Mountains with their families.

  Blast Giveaway $50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash Ends 5/24/16 Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.   a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, April 30, 2016

SMT: The Making of a Man

The Making of a Man
Rachel Rossano
Fantasy Romance
Medieval Romance

This is a short story anthology. 

The Earl of Dentin returns. Eight stories ranging from short story to novelette in length give us greater understanding into why Dentin is the complex and enigmatic man he is. It also includes new adventures that happen between Honor and the next Rhynan novel. 

Passing the Mantle – An ill-fated hunting trip 
Forging Friendships – Recruiting able-bodied men ineligible for knighthood 
The Sword of Korma Monroe – A sword made for trouble 
Turning Point – A duke and an earl plot treason 
The Bittersweet Pear – A marital misunderstanding 
Isbeth’s Redemption – Dentin doesn’t make a good first impression 
A Squire’s Love – Reginald’s quest 
Restoration – A trip to Braulyn produces unexpected company

Friday, April 29, 2016

Write Me Home


Crystal Walton
Contemporary Romance

"Sorry, forgot your name somewhere between the breaking-and-entering routine and your pitch to live with me."





Firefighter Ethan DeLuca never intended to go home.  Too many painful memories were there, and he was just fine walking away from them.  Until Nonna has a heart attack, forcing him back to where he doesn't want to be.  Just for a little while though.  So when he finds an opportunity to help fix up a summer camp down the road, it's perfect.  However, his new boss is the kind of girl to make a guy re-think all his plans.  Cassidy McAdams needs to fix up her grandfather's camp, sell it, and save her mother's shop.  There's no other way.  No matter how many good memories she had there, it's time to be a grown up.  And her new handyman is definitely making her feel like a grown up.  When unexplained attacks come, will the two draw closer together, or will their past scars keep them apart?

My Opinion: This story had a wonderful plot, and made me think of long summer breaks.  The romance is sweet and fun and realistic.  The story brought some good twists and turns and changes.  The few sides were quirky and endearing and filled in the small town.  The past and present were intricately woven together and all fall into place by the end, leaving you satisfied.  There were some serious backstories to the characters, shockingly so at times.  But it leaves you with hope that love can bloom anywhere.  Though the dialogue was a little choppy at times, it caught my interest and kept me turning pages.  Overall a good read and an unique and realistic contemporary romance.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, April 25, 2016

Book Spotlight: Gertrude's Grace

Gertrude's Grace
Jaimey Grant


"Ladies" know how to behave in Society. "Ladies" never put a foot wrong, never say an inappropriate word, and never cause their parents a moment of distress. "Ladies" can overcome any embarrassment with grace and poise.

….and then there's Gertrude.

Gertrude struggles in the bright light of Society, trying to keep her poise and not embarrass her adoring mother. But when she falls for the most eligible bachelor the Season has to offer, she literally falls.

….on him.

Lord Chatterton survives Lady Gertrude's onslaught with dignity. While Society mocks her from the sidelines, Chatterton isn't laughing. He's falling, too. For Gertrude.

Author Bio:

Jaimey Grant started writing after devouring hundreds of traditional Regency romances. She used to believe it took some kind of genius to write a book. Knowing she was not a genius, she decided to try anyway. After sitting down with a set of characters and a basic plot, she wrote her first book from start to finish. It wasn't perfect or even good by any means, but it was still something to be proud of.

Over a dozen manuscripts later, she finally considers herself a writer.

Jaimey currently resides in Michigan with her husband and two children. She is working on several more Regency romances.

Thursday, April 21, 2016

Dark One's Mistress


Aldrea Alien
Fantasy Romance
Book 1, Dark One Trilogy

"One dark brow rose, the glint in his eyes intensifying as his gaze slowly ran over her once more. 'They picked you to be my mistress?'"





News of the death of the Dark Lord has reached Everdark.  Not that they knew him well, though his reach was well known.  Now, the new Dark Lord needs a mistress to produce an heir.  Kidnapped from her home, Clara is determined to not fall in line with the Dark Lord's wishes.  No matter how alluring he is, nor how hard it is to escape.  Lucias needs an heir.  Dying heirless would mean that the army would be set free, something that cannot happen.  But Clara is intriguing, and he wants more than an heir from her.  Can he convince her to give him a chance?  Before the one who murdered his father comes after him, too?

My Opinion: This was a realistic and deeply emotional book.  I loved getting into the head of the main characters and the story unfolded.  I enjoyed the fact that Clara was realistic in her desire to run away from the dangerous man she is trapped with.  She wasn't meek, but rather feisty which made her falling in love all the more enjoyable.  Lucias is a dark character, haunted with the reality of his responsibility.  Their relationship, though at times a little volatile, is thrilling and fun.  On occasion it got slightly steamy, still completely clean, but perhaps not for my teenaged sister to read.  A few grammatical errors, but not too many.  Overall, excellent characters and a wonderful fantasy world made for a enchantingly romantic story.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Author Interview: Sandra Jackson

Sandra Jackson
author, Promised Soul

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I was born in Montreal, Quebec Canada and moved to Ontario, Canada when I was 16. I have always been creative, enjoying such art forms as sketching, painting, crafts, and now writing. I have been married for 24 ½ years and have two children. I enjoy traveling; however I have not had the opportunity to go to very many destinations – a few in the United States, the east coast of Canada, and Mexico. I hope that I can travel more in the future.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

Some of the books from the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon, Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – to name a few.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Since a part of my first novel takes place in England and I haven’t actually been there, I would like to visit the places my character visits. The UK has always been a place that I have longed to go – England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. I am pretty sure I could write a number of books on any of those places.

What is your favorite genre to read?

I don’t think I can just list one genre as being my favourite but at the top of my list are paranormal, fantasy, thriller, dystopian, and romance.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I’ve always been creative; drawing, painting and doing many other types of crafts. Writing just seemed a natural progression for me. It is another way to express my creativity and use my imagination.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?

I think I chose for Promised Soul to be a sweet romance because it just seemed appropriate for the book. I have not written anything steamy but I am not adverse to it, though I might have to change my name. :)

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

My second novel will be coming out some time this year. It is called Playing in the Rain and it is a dystopian/thriller, possibly YA or NA genre. It is the first book of a two book series. I am also working on book two of this series.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

I would say there is a little of my personality and life experiences in my writing, though really just bits here and there.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I have three completed novels. The first is Promised Soul.  The second is book one of a series and will be released sometime this year. The third is book one of another series and is complete but has yet to be edited. I am also working on book 2 of the first series and it is about 1/3 of the way completed.

Please share about your book 

Blurb: Just as Krista’s summer plans are finalized, she is suddenly plagued by strange dreams and intense feelings of déjà vu. Feeling as though she’s losing her mind, she visits a psychic medium, only to feel more confused. When Krista arrives in England, her dreams persist, and she finds herself at the doorstep of another psychic; she needs clarity. Finally, the words she was afraid to say out loud, are spoken. Her dreams aren’t just dreams, but memories from a past life. Now Krista has to figure out what it all means.

Promised Soul is the story of the past, the present and the future of two souls that have been bound together by eternal and transcending love.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Emotional, loving, yearning, searching, determined

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

If you like the idea of soulmates and an old fashioned love story this is for you. As one reviewer said, “Promised Soul is a clever, heartfelt written book, which sees two souls once again finding the love they were destined to share lifetime after lifetime.”

Thursday, April 14, 2016

A Kiss and a Dream


Linda Andrews
Book 6 in Love's Great War Series
Hearts in Barbed Wire, Entanglements, Unmask My Heart, A Gift From St Nick, The Christmas Ship, A Kiss and a Dream

"Gretchen's oversized man's coat reeked of whiskey and body odor. But beggars couldn't be choosey, and thieves even less so."



Gretchen Fultz never dreamed she would be fighting through the snow, with a name and children not her own, escaping life in a workhouse.  Yet here she is, nearly freezing to death trying to escape to a life that can only be better.  What she doesn't expect is Kian  to save her, or for her to see a way to find safety and happiness.  That is, so long as he doesn't find out she's been lying to him.  Kian Bryne wants nothing to do with women since his wife's disloyalty and death.  But with four children and the town's censure, life isn't easy.  The last thing he needs is a German woman and her children thrown into his life.  But perhaps Gretchen can bring some order to his home, and love to his life.  If only he can keep her safe and convince her to stay.

My Opinion: This was a compelling and very interesting read.  I loved the setting, both dealing with the effects of the war as well as the small town feel.  It was definitely part of a series (one I'd love to read more of) but stood on its own well.  Gretchen was a wonderful character, both hard working and strong.  Kian is a romantic reluctant hero.  They both balance well their selfish motivations for needing the other with their obvious desire for a real relationship.  There are several great twists and turns that kept me dying for a happy ending.  It was a sweet and lovely romance.  Great side characters, obviously borrowed from earlier books, made you feel like you really were there in the small, close-knit community.  I must say, I loved it.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Author Interview: Rachelle Dio

Rachelle Dio
author, Tidal Patterns

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

My books to date have been set in small towns. But I absolutely adore London and would love the chance to visit again and set a series across the pond.

What is one silly fact about you? 

I’m obsessed with Dateline. I think I’ve watched nearly episode (definitely every episode with Keith Morrison because he’s my favorite). I drive people crazy when they watch the show with me, because I make them guess “who did it” within the first ten minutes of the show (I’m usually right).

What got you started on your writing journey? 

The very cliché answer is that I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember, which is true. I never sat down to plot out and write an entire novel from beginning to end until my mid-twenties. It took me nearly two years to write one book and then I was too intimidated to show it to anyone. After I had my first son, it really clicked that if I want to encourage my kids to follow their dreams, I have to model the behavior.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well? 

Sweet romance was described to me as stories that could be shared between mothers and daughters. I really connected with that answer because I’m very close to my mom. I have a (slightly) steamy romance series as well. But I’m wrapping up the final books in that series in the next few months and will be focused on clean romance.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I am publishing the final two books in my steamy series and am excited to get to work on the next installments in this clean romance series, Golden Shores. I have plans for a novella and a full-length novel, hopefully to publish those in the autumn.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

I include very specific quirks of my loved ones in my writing. In Tidal Patterns, a secondary character is known for his awful culinary concoction of fried eggs and canned tuna, my dad’s specialty.

Where do your ideas come from? 

In my life, I believe in looking forward and don’t spend too much time questioning my choices. When I do reflect, my mind takes  ‘what if’ scenarios to the extreme and this often gives me plot ideas.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Caring, friendly, scared, capable, headstrong

Those five words could apply to both the hero and the heroine.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

Tidal Patterns is a story about moving on and finding the strength to do so. With a beautiful setting and a great supporting cast, I think you’ll be smiling from beginning to end.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far?  

I love Rose. She’s the heroine’s best friend, tap dance troop member, and next-door neighbor. And she’s in her seventies. I can’t wait to write her a bigger role in the next installment in the series.

Monday, April 11, 2016

Book Spotlight: Fencing for Ladies

Fencing for Ladies
Amy Corwin


Defying Society’s strictures, Lady Olivia is fascinated by fencing and determined to share the thrill of facing an opponent with a foil in her hand. Defiance comes at a cost, however. While her family agrees to allow her to found the Fencing Academy for Ladies, she must agree to a betrothal to the extremely eligible, but insipid, Lord Saunders. It seems like a fair compromise, so she agrees, even though Lord Saunders makes no secret of the fact that he disapproves of her academy.

Unfortunately, tragedy strikes the day before her school opens. Lady Olivia discovers a dead body in her office with a marble cherub in place of his head. And she unwittingly leaves a trail of footprints through his blood, blood so fresh that it is still sticky. There is no sign of anyone else in the building—just Lady Olivia and the still-warm corpse.

Scandal erupts, and Lord Saunders demands that she close the academy and conform to Society’s dictates. She stubbornly refuses until a second body is discovered. Desperate, Lady Olivia turns to dashing fencing master, Lord Milbourn, for help. While the handsome master fencer is clearly hiding his own dark secrets, her heart tells her to trust him.

Torn between her growing love for the attractive and enigmatic Lord Milbourn and her promise to Lord Saunders, Lady Olivia is determined to fight for her heart’s desire, whatever the cost.

Author Bio:

Amy Corwin is a charter member of the Romance Writers of America and recently joined Mystery Writers of America. She has been writing for the last ten years and recently left a career as an enterprise computer systems administrator to write full time. She writes paranormal romances, mysteries, and Regencies/historicals. To be truthful, most of her books include a bit of murder and mayhem since she discovered that killing off at least one character is a highly effective way to make the remaining ones toe the plot line.

Friday, April 8, 2016

Review Rewind: Regency

I have to say, Regency romances were the first romances I ever read.  Sitting in a pink rocking chair at my grandma's cabin, I devoured them.  She had a little bookcase filled with them, right next to the stairs so you could look outside and see the squirrels playing on the back deck.  They will always have a special place in my heart.  

So, here are a few I'd like to highlight.  So, if you didn't see them the first time around, check them out!  Great reading for the weekend.





A Lot Like a Lady  She's in town for the Season, but she's not a lady.  A a maid in masquerade, she will find that there is more than fun and games to be found in London.  This is a wonderful trip through Regency London.  Deception and romance mingle together to take you along an adventurous rollercoaster.  Loved this book!

A Limited Engagement  She needs money and he needs a fiancee.  Preferrably one who doesn't expect to actually get married in the end.  This is a wonderful example of what Regency romance should be.  Breaking the ever-important rules, romance where they least expected it, and a lot of fun.

The Earl's Masquerade  Can two people, trying to solve separate mysteries, help each other out?  Murder and theft provide a backdrop for adventure and romance.  This was an exciting book, and part of a delightful series.  Unexpected developments and fun scenes made this a great book.

Deceiving the Duke of Kerrington As a lady's maid, should she admit her mistress has run off to elope, or aid her by taking her place for a time?  And what about her lady's intended fiancee?  This is a sweet romance and the start of a good series.  Twists and turns pull you emotionally to the very last page.

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Book Tour: After the Final Dandelion



After the Final Dandelion
Releases May 17...pre-order available now!



Author Links:


After Renee Lockhart appeared on the local TV dating show "Accept this Dandelion" and found the love of her life, she thought she was done with TV. But when she hears that the entire city has bets on how soon she and her fiancé will break up, she is determined to show that their love is meant to last. When Mike, the KETO producer, approaches her about airing the wedding live, she jumps at the chance. Once she is set up with a famous wedding coordinator, plans take a turn for the worse and the simple wedding they wanted becomes the event of the year. In the meantime, Eva Merida is dealing with her own life changing opportunity. Though she’s in love with her boyfriend, who she met on the second season of the dating show, she can’t turn down the chance to investigate a Hollywood TV show when offered a position. When she runs into an old flame, she questions the stability of her current relationship. Will Renee be able to prove her love for Ben to the city before her wedding falls apart? Who will Eva choose on her own emotional roller coaster? Hilarity ensues as the wedding of the decade melts into the disaster of the year. Because everyone knows weeds take over every garden.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...