Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Book Spotlight: Dream Kisses

Dream Kisses
Verna Clay

Mims Murphy a.k.a Sarah Carter, meets Sage Tanner at Imaginings Publishing while he's posing for the cover of her soon-to-be-released romance novel. After being bulldozed into a coffee break with him by her publisher, Sissy Johansen, an embarrassing incident makes Sarah furious, and she walks out. Of course, fate has a wonderful way of intervening in matters of the heart. Deciding her book needs realism, she signs up for "dude" lessons at Lazy M Dude Ranch. Imagine her chagrin when she discovers the owner of the ranch is none other than Mr. Tanner himself!

Narrator Bio: 

I think some people move to New York City and within a week call themselves “New Yorkers.” I've been here for 20 years, and yet when someone asks me where I'm from I still answer “I live in New York City, but I'm from Lewisburg, Pennsylvania.”

I grew up in Amish Country, and spent my childhood viewing the USA from the back of a 1979 Volkswagen Camper Van. I'm pretty sure I left my heart somewhere on the interstate. I graduated from Amherst College with a double major in English and Theater and after a year as an intern at The Bloomsburg Theater Ensemble, I did my M.F.A. at Columbia University where I studied viewpoints, clowning, and bamboo stick work with Anne Bogart, Andrei Serban, and Priscilla Smith.

I have played saucy maids, longsuffering spinsters, and quirky leading ladies on Broadway, off-Broadway and in regional theaters, and have been perfecting the character of “Nerdy Office Girl” in national network commercials for Verizon Wireless and Stride Gum. Between acting jobs I have taught Shakespeare to kids with the Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival. I have been a blogger, vlogger, something of a social media afficionado, an ebay vendor, and a proud volunteer for a 5K charity run taking place this spring called Rafi's Run. Recently I said “One cheesecake, two forks,” on an episode of “The Big C" and I drove a cop car in the upcoming feature film, "Liv."

I live in Upper Manhattan with my very patient husband of many years, Pete, my 8-year-old daughter Cate, and our geriatric tabby cat Hannah.

Other Links:

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Author Interview: Marian Perera

Marian Perera
author, Christmas Yet to Come

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I was born in Sri Lanka, grew up in Dubai, studied in Texas and live in Toronto. For now. My background is in science, and I work as a medical laboratory technologist, but I love writing romance and fantasy. I make my own bookmarks with calligraphy, grow tomatoes in the backyard, and read everything.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?


I’m not sure I’d survive the experience. But while there are dozens of countries I’d love to see, I could travel to them all on my own. If my publisher is sending me anywhere in the world, I’ll pick a location I could never get to otherwise. There’s no red-eye flight to the South Pole.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

My three favorite novels are Gone with the Wind, The Fountainhead—controversial books, but if some aspects of them work brilliantly for me, I can ignore the problematic parts—and Watership Down.

Two books I’d like to read soon are Helen Oyeyemi’s White is for Witching and Pamela Morsi’s Courting Miss Hattie. I think that’s the only one of her historical romances I’ve missed out on.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

All my other romances are steamy, but the Ghosts of Christmas novellas stay sweet.
These stories start with a ghost who becomes human, and who struggles to adapt to her new circumstances over the next day or two—all the time she has before Christmas. So while she falls for the only man who knows her secret, they don’t go further than kisses.
The stories also take place in Victorian England, so it felt much more natural to keep the heat level to a simmer rather than a boil.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Romances are like cakes. There’s such a dazzling variety of ingredients that can go into one to make a delicious treat, so readers have plenty of choice. I love strong independent heroines and commanding confident heroes who nevertheless have a sense of humor or a vulnerable side (Rhett Butler again, sigh). I want to close the book knowing that these two will have a wonderful future together. Diversity, a vividly realized setting and well-written love scenes matter to me too.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

That no matter how difficult real life is, you get to give someone a happy ending.

Please share about your book.

When banker Justin Welland discovers a woman shivering on his doorstep, only the heavy snow and the lateness of the hour make him offer her a room for the night. His servants are away for Christmas, he works too hard to celebrate, and the woman is wearing nothing except a strange shroudlike garment.

Which doesn’t conceal how lovely she is, but his fascination turns to stunned disbelief when she walks through the wall of his bedroom. She claims she’s a spirit—the Ghost of Christmas Yet To Come—and she’s seen a vision of his death. Justin gives the gloomy prediction the scoff it deserves, but discovering that she has never celebrated the season herself makes him feel differently. That he can change. He’ll decorate his empty house somehow, so she’ll enjoy her first Christmas. Even if she believes it will be his last Noel.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Silent faceless wraith becomes human.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

She’s the Ghost of Christmas Yet To Come, now turned into a human. He’s a workaholic banker who wants to create a special Christmas for a woman, even though he has no idea how.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far?

Yerena Fin Caller, in my fantasy romance The Deepest Ocean. When she was eight, the guild Seawatch bonded her to a great white shark, hence her name. She now has a mental and empathic connection to the shark, so the two of them scout for warships. Seawatch’s ruthless training has left her emotionally repressed and obedient to the point of amorality.

Then she’s ordered to join Captain Darok Juell’s crew. Darok is the opposite of her—reckless, passionate, warm-hearted—and he draws her out of her shell as they sail deep into pirate waters to rescue prisoners. Except Yerena’s secret orders are to sink his ship.

…Thank you for the interview, and have a wonderful festive season! J

Saturday, November 21, 2015

SMT: To Be Honest

To Be Honest
TC Booth
Young Adult Romance

After a freak accident left Starla Emerson with a deformed hand, her self-esteem dropped and her anxiety rose. She tries desperately to avoid attention at Cedar High. Star relies on her best friend Ally for moral support, along with her crush worthy boyfriend Jared.

Starla’s world is turned upside down when her family moves. She finds herself the new girl at Centerville High School where she’s the target of an Internet bully. Newfound friends help Starla plan a counter attack to expose the bully. The plan backfires and lands Star in a mountain of trouble. Will she have the courage to be honest about who was involved in her plan? Once the truth is out…there’s no turning back

Friday, November 20, 2015

Second Chance Ranch

Liz Isaacson
Contemporary Romance
Three Rivers Ranch Romance, Book 1

'Been down that road.  Its rocky, and leads you back to your parents basement."

Major Squire Ackerman just wants to prove that he can take over the family ranch so his parents can retire.  Though nothing like his previous military career, he is determined to make it work on his own.  That is, until his father hires the girl he liked in high school as the new accountant.  Kelly is as beautiful as ever, and a distraction, but Squire will have to trust her if he ever hopes to find the mystery of the missing money so his parents can retire being none the wiser that it was missing.  Kelly is back in her hometown and living in her parents basement after a divorce left her with a young son and not much more.  A job at the Three Rivers Ranch is the perfect way to support herself and prove her skills.  That is, if she can keep thoughts of Squire out of her head.

My Opinion: I liked the idea of this book.  It had a lot of potential, but I think that sometimes it got lost and tripped over it's own proverbial feet.  The romance started well, but there were no real stumbling blocks built in that weren't either quickly resolved, or simply ignored.  I felt like there should have been more of a reason to struggle with finding their happily togetherness.  The side characters were a bit flat, thus focusing solely on the easy romance.  There was also a bit of surrealism with her speedy divorce and subsequent emotional recovery of both her and her son.  Overall, it was a decent book, but didn't feel realistic or exciting.

I was given a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Book Spotlight: Taking a Chance on Love

Taking a Chance on Love
Rachel Jones

From childhood, Virginia Manning has planned for a career as a concert clarinetist. Blindsided by family circumstances, her plans are interrupted, taking her down a path she would never have chosen. As a music teacher, Virginia’s relationship with the football coach goes from problematic to romantic. After Blake’s brush with death, a scared Virginia runs away looking for the contentment music has always brought to her life.

Because Blake Oliver has experienced disappointment and pain, he opts for a fresh start in a small New England town. Accepting the position of football coach, he isn’t looking for love when it finds him. But when Virginia leaves to pursue a performance career, Blake realizes it’s not where you live but having someone to love that matters. His only problem is making her understand that as well.

Author Bio:

It was thoughts of what she would do after retirement from a twenty-eight-year career in healthcare that spurred Rachel to begin writing her first manuscript in March of 2012. Needing guidance and support with her new endeavor, she joined local and national writing groups.
Rachel signed her first contract in 2013 and her debut novel, To Dance One More Day was released in June of 2014. She is eagerly awaiting retirement to write full time.

A music enthusiast for decades, Rachel resides in Kennesaw, Georgia with her husband of thirty-seven years and a spoiled Labrador retriever. She is a member of Georgia Writers Association, Georgia Romance Writers and is a PRO member of Romance Writers of America.



Wednesday, November 18, 2015

Author Interview: Jana Stocks Brown

Jana Stocks Brown
author, Desert Rains

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I live out in the heart of the Rocky Mountains in Salt Lake City, Utah. I’m married to my best friend and we have three amazing children and one crazy, but loveable cat. I love to travel and started running around the world when I was 17. I’ve currently been to: England, Scotland, Wales, Norway, Singapore and all over the United States (Though hubby and I have a particular love for Disney World whenever we can get there).

Everywhere I go I find inspiration. We live on an amazing little rock in space.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

Oh goodness, you’ve seen my teetering piles…  Between what’s on my bookshelf and what’s in my Kindle I probably have enough reading material for the next five years, but I can’t stop acquiring more. I read a lot of genres from hard SF to Romance and non fic. I love a good fairytale retelling, and I’m a big fan of Urban Fantasy in general. Cookbooks are a distinct weakness. I loved Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. I have a toddler so I’m an expert at The Monster at the End of this Book and I Want my Hat Back, by John Klaussen.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

I’d go back to New Orleans, Louisiana in a flash. I’ve visited there a few times and I love it. I love the culture, and the food, and the people. It’s a fascinating place.

What is your favorite genre to write?

I’m really a speculative fiction kind of girl. I love writing romance, but I like mixing in a little fantasy or science fiction to take my stories out of the ordinary and into the extraordinary.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I have always been an avid reader and I started writing stories when I was about 8. My mother thought they were the best thing ever! From that point forward I was determined to be a writer. I got my first professional novel rejection when I was 14 and just kept writing. I studied editing and publication in college and served as the executive secretary on a magazine staff for three years. Desert Rains is my first published novel (I’ve written about a dozen others), though I’ve been published in the local newspaper, journals, webpages and other such things for the last 20 years.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?

At the most simple level I write clean romance because I like to read clean romance. I love seeing two characters come together, that emotional arc is just thrilling to me, but I’ve never really needed or wanted the explicit details. There’s also the aspect that I KNOW my very supportive family and, in particular, my Grandmother will read what I write and I want her to always feel comfortable recommending me to her friends.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the rest of the year? 

This year I’m presenting at a Local Author event and finishing book 2 in the Desert Romance Saga. Desert Hearts. It’s Teddy’s story and I’m already having so much fun!

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

It’s fulfilling a lifelong dream for me.  As well writing has allowed me to stay home and raise my little girl while still having a career doing something I love. Who could ask for anything more?

Where do your ideas come from?

I know there are authors that struggle to come up with new ideas. I am not one of those people. Instead I am bombarded by ideas from every corner. Funny things people say, a phrase of music, a line of a poem, my husband teasing me… everything is a seed for a story. I have notebooks all over the house (and in the car, and by the bed, and in my purse and…) with character sketches and snippets of things. The much harder thing is deciding what to develop into a full novel and what is just an idea still maturing.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

Richard and Charlene are both confident, capable people in their own rights. Richard is a whip smart technician from a good family looking for a chance to prove himself. Charlene is a capable cattle woman with a knack for biotechnology who has problems with her joints and even more problems letting anyone help her. They’re trundling along both pretty certain they are happy and getting what they want out of life.

Once they meet each other they realize there’s so much more they can have and be. They’re really a good example of the sum of the parts being greater than the whole.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Because a book doesn’t really have life breathed into it until someone outside of the author reads it, and I’m very certain that Richard and Charlene and all the characters at the Double P deserve that breath.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

My favorite character in Desert Rains has to be Teddy, even though I love them all. He’s Charlene’s big brother and loves to tease and torment her, but he’s also her biggest fan and protector. At least until Rick comes along and gives Teddy some much needed help.

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Giveaway!!! Wedding Date for Hire

It's been a while since we've had a giveaway on here, and I'm really excited for this one.  Jennifer Shirk has created another wonderfully delightful story that will surely fill up a cold or rainy night with some romance and fun.  Don't miss out on your chance to win a free e-copy of this book, or pick up a copy of your own.

For my summary and review, please click here.

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  This giveaway is open worldwide.  This giveaway will end at 11:59 pm on Nov 24, 2015.  All entries must be submitted before then.  The winner will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pinteresting...Thoughtful Books

Saturday, November 14, 2015

SMT: Taking Tiffany

Taking Tiffany
MK Harkins
Contemporary Romance

Young socialite, Tiffany Thompson, seems to have it all, everything but love, that is. Guarded since her high school boyfriend’s betrayal, she wouldn’t recognize real love if it hit her over the head. Unless it’s a can of paint, and successful financier Todd Jameson is behind it.

Todd fell hard and fast for Tiffany a year earlier, but, unwilling to risk his own heart after a college sweetheart shattered it, he avoids Tiffany and vows to keep his distance. Fate has other plans, however, and changes both their minds.

But not everyone is happy with their budding romance. Unbeknownst to either of them, a vengeful enemy stands in the shadows with plans to take Tiffany, and Todd is in the way.

Halfway around the world, Angela Bartholomew, a former foe in Tiffany’s circle, is serving a year-long sentence as a volunteer in a Romanian orphanage in payment for her lying, manipulative ways. That or be disinherited by her parents. The spoiled debutante is determined to get home at all cost, but Fate has plans for her, too, and Angela is not prepared for how her life will change.

Will love conquer heartbreak, or will greed and revenge ruin all three lives?

Friday, November 13, 2015

Wedding Date For Hire

Jennifer Shirk
Contemporary Romance

"It wasn’t such a wonder anymore why she needed help getting that wedding date."

It's never fun to go to a wedding without a date.  When it's your little sister's wedding, and your entire family thinks your single state is proof that you're's unbearable.  Maddie McCarthy, however, has grasped at a desperate hire a date to play her boyfriend.  She knows it's crazy, but desperate people do crazy things.  Especially when her mystery date turns out to be the guy who completely embarrassed her in high school.  Trent Montgomery has no interest in being arm candy for some stranger.  Unfortunately, he'd do anything for his little cousin and her match-making business he's invested in.  He didn't plan on falling for his date, or for her to think that it's all just an act.  Can he convince her that his feelings are real, even if his job as a date-for-hire isn't?

My Opinion: This book was flirty and fun, and a wonderful read.  The story was fun and gave you all those wonderful tingling feelings you love to love.  The main characters are believable and fun, with a plausible back story and a sweet romance.  You really find yourself cheering them on as they find their way to true love.  Side characters fill in the wedding, and some seem to have their own stories I'm sure have or will be written.  A perfect book for a long soak in the tub.  Definitely would recommend this one.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Thursday, November 12, 2015

Author Interivew: Christine Bailey

Christine Bailey
author, Waking Under Water

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures) 

I live in Tennessee, right between Memphis and Nashville. I grew up in Toronto, Canada and moved to the States as a pre-teen.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger; Night by Elie Wiesel; everything by Judy Blume; The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson; Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird; and all of Sarah Dessen's YA novels.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

So, this might sound cliché, but I’d love to go to Paris to write my next YA/romance novel. The city seems romantic—so full of life and possibilities. Hemingway and Fitzgerald did it…who wouldn't love to write in Paris in the spring?

What is your favorite genre to write? 

I write contemporary Young Adult fiction—of the mysterious, romantic kind.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I started writing short stories in high school and even had a poetry journal in the second grade, but it wasn't until I began working on my MFA back in 2009 that I became serious about writing YA fiction. My first novel, Girl in the Middle, really came to life during that program.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the rest of the year? 

I have finished writing my third YA novel called The Broken One, which will come out sometime in late 2016 or early 2017. It’s about finding hope and love in the aftermath of a personal tragedy.  And, I am currently drafting my fourth YA romance, which I hope to finish by December.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

I see a little of myself in all of my characters, but then again I was a pretty angsty teen. Most YA fiction deals with the protagonist searching or longing for something (like my character Skye Walker does in Girl in the Middle). I moved to a different country during my adolescent years, so all I wanted to do was fit in—finding the perfect guy in the meantime would have been pretty great too. You can find those emotions (the fear, hope, and anxiety) in my YA novels.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published? 

I have written three books: Girl in the Middle (2013); Waking Under Water (2015); and The Broken One (forthcoming 2017).

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

There has to be tension and longing. I always start a book with these questions:

What is keeping these two characters apart? Why can’t they be together? And then, I work backwards to tell their story—I tell their struggle to be together.

Please share about your book:  

Waking Under Water is about sixteen-year-old Mia Hughes who ends up at a boarding school in the South after making one bad decision after another. Trying to make sense of her new world is only half the battle for Mia as she fights to survive the wicked ways of the rich, spoiled kids at Galt Academy. But Mia is a fighter, and when she befriends junior Lucas Dunlap, the cute coffee shop guy, and his friend Natalie, things start to look up for her—until the betrayal.

After falling into a deep depression, Mia resorts to the one thing she does best: running away. There’s only one problem—Lucas has a hold on her. And just when Mia thinks life can’t get any more complicated, it does with some life-changing news. Can Mia keep her head above water long enough to survive the pressures of her new school? And will Lucas be there when she finally comes up for air, once and for all?

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Lost.  Entangled.  Hopeful.  Fighter.  Tenacious.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

It’s a story about believing in and fighting for happy endings. Plus, who doesn’t love a sweet story about falling in love for the very first time—with all the entanglements along the way.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Author Interview: Gwen Holbrook

Gwen Holbrook
author, Love and Loyalty on the Loire

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I am from near Washington D.C., the oldest of three daughters. I have always been drawn to the Middle Ages, their mythology of knights and magic, their imagery of vaulted arches and tapestries and their sincerity of culture and faith. The beauty of the cathedrals and the austerity of monastic life captured my imagination and admiration as a child, and it still does.  As a teenager, I took an unusually high interest in Ireland, feeling drawn to the photographs of crumbling castles and monk’s huts in ruins. My dad took me there when I was seventeen, and my husband and I visited again on our honeymoon. I’m not of Irish decent, but I am of Irish fascination. My first novella, Love and Loyalty on the Loire is set in medieval France, but things I learned about the medieval way of life in Ireland are interwoven as well. I hope the story will immerse the reader in those bygone days and transport her far into that other world.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list? 

Classic fantasy: The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien, especially.  I just finished The Once and Future King by T.H. White and my evening reading has not been the same without it. C.S. Lewis’s work has been very inspiring to me, particularly the space trilogy.

I’m also a big science fiction and dystopia fan: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley is my run- away favorite. 1984 by George Orwell and Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury are classics too.

Growing up, I was really into Orson Scott Card and his Ender’s Game series and Anne McCaffery and her Dragonriders of Pern. I would say those two authors made me a reader for life. From them I came to enjoy stories in written form and had the first seeds of plot ideas planted in my own mind. I also have an inexplicable devotion to Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.

What is one silly fact about you?

I started knitting a pair of socks as a Christmas gift for my sister two years ago, and they are still not finished. I aim to finish them by the end of 2015.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

Oddly enough, I wrote (terrible) poems as a teenager, but I steered clear of formal instruction in English or writing in college because I believed that “deep hidden meaning” was really a bunch of hogwash. Only later did I learn to see the value in poetry, imagery and literature. After my first child was born, I found myself alone (with him) and awake quite often in the night. I started reading for pleasure again then, and I found that reading and writing filled a deep need within me to understand the world and to share that understanding with others, as the writers before me had done. When I read passages of certain books that I identify with, I feel I’ve found a friend who speaks across time. I hope that my writing might accomplish this for someone else.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well? 

I wanted it to be clean because there is enough in the world to tire us out and drain our emotions. But when we encounter things that are truly good, they are captivating. I wanted to show an honest, selfless love that the reader can really get behind and invest in. There do exist kind, honest people who, of course, encounter problems, but who seek the true, the good and the beautiful all through it. These are resilient folks, who offer all they can without making demands, and I wanted to write a story about that.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the rest of the year? 

I am working on a short story set in the present day about a doctor dealing with alcoholism. And I have a much larger project, a full length dystopian novel that began my venture into fiction and is still under construction. Any more than that is top secret.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer? 

There are a few things: 1) control. No matter what happens in real life, in the life of my characters, I’m in charge. I determine their life stories, conflicts and coping skills. In a way, it is highly cathartic. I live in inner life that is totally free.

2) Sharing that with others. It took me many years to build up the confidence to hope and believe that another soul might be interested in the musings of my imagination. But I found that I connected with literature and stories and tales of far off lands, and so others might like something similar. It is a gift to be able to tell stories and offer something of meaning to others.

Where do your ideas come from?

I try to think about how people really feel, what evokes emotion, what is truly hard to deal with, then how to show characters dealing with that at different levels of personal development. An interesting backdrop always helps.I see a plot as a series of escalating conflicts that are inter-related, so that’s how my story arcs are born.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Bold, but grounded. Selfless, confident, gentle.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

The heroine, Elodie de Clery, is a farmer’s daughter who has learned the ways of the fields, the village and of healing. She cares deeply for her brother, sisters and parents but must learn to see the humanity even of the opposing soldiers

The hero, Gareth of Cornwall, is an English soldier who finds himself in the care of a French peasant family, and he must discern where his true loyalties lie, where they ought to be, and what is really worth fighting for.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Read this book to see the vulnerable sides behind both the soldiers and the peasants wrestling with the most violent dilemmas in life, discovering each other’s humanity despite this and coming out stronger from it. At the end of day, we are all just wandering human beings hoping to find connection and a compass for the troubles of life.

Monday, November 9, 2015

Blog Tour: Cowboys and Christmas


Welcome to the 2nd annual

Cowboys and Christmas

Blog Tour!

Raising funds and awareness for the Justin Cowboy Crisis Fund

Ring in the Holidays with a Helping Hand

JCCF logoNovember 1 through December 24, ten percent of the net proceeds from all Shanna Hatfield book sales will be donated to the Justin Cowboy Crisis Fund. The JCCF is a non-profit organization that assists rodeo athletes who’ve sustained catastrophic injuries and are unable to work for an extended period. Every book purchased during this promotional period adds to the donation total. Don't forget to add books to your Christmas lists! USA Today Bestselling Author Shanna Hatfield writes character-driven romances with relatable heroes and heroines. Her historical westerns have been described as “reminiscent of the era captured by Bonanza and The Virginian” while her contemporary works have been called “laugh-out-loud funny, and a little heart-pumping sexy without being explicit in any way.”

New Releases

To kick off the second annual Cowboys and Christmas Blog Tour and the JCCF campaign,
 two brand new holiday romances will release Nov. 12!

Capturing Christmas CoverCapturing Christmas is the third installment in the sweet holiday western Rodeo Romance series.
Life is hectic on a good day for rodeo stock contractor Kash Kressley. Between dodging flying hooves and babying cranky bulls, he barely has time to sleep. The last thing Kash needs is the entanglement of a sweet romance, especially with a woman as full of fire and sass as the redheaded photographer he rescues at a rodeo.
Determined to capture the best images possible, rodeo photographer Celia McGraw is fearless and feisty. Not one to back down from a challenge, her biggest risk isn’t in her work. Danger lurks in the way her heart responds to one incredibly handsome stock contractor. Will Kash and Celia capture the spirit of the season?
Pre-order your copy today!


“Someone like you should be smart enough to know better than to do something that stupid, Miss McGraw.” The man frowned at her as he held her across his lap, riding over to the fence, out of the way of the horses and the men on horseback behind them.

Too stunned to reply, Celia gulped and continued staring at him, gradually comprehending she hadn’t been killed.
At least she assumed she hadn’t died, unless angels wore dusty cowboy hats, dark blue chaps, and were breath-stealing handsome.
Those engaging eyes bore into hers, making her heart skitter in her chest while an entire bushel of butterflies burst into flight in her stomach.
She observed her rescuer. He sat tall in the saddle and had muscles to spare, or so she presumed from the way he easily hoisted her off the ground and onto his horse. A hint of light brown hair peeked out from beneath the brim of his hat. The pale blue shirt he wore almost matched the fascinating shade of his eyes.
Celia experienced the most unreasonable urge to run her fingers along the stubbly expanse of his cheeks, down his square jaw, and over his strong chin. Mesmerized by his full bottom lip, she inhaled a deep breath and nearly choked.
The very scent of him hinted at a lethal combination of freshly fallen snow, a warm winter fire, and sweet seduction rolled into one incredibly enticing package. 

Get all three books in the Rodeo Romance series!

The Christmas Vow CoverThe Christmas Vow is the fourth book in the Hardman Holidays sweet Victorian romance series.
Columbia River Pilot Adam Guthry returns to his hometown of Hardman, Oregon, after the sudden death of his best friend. Emotions he can’t contain bubble to the surface the moment he sees the girl who shattered his heart eleven years ago.
Widow Tia Devereux escapes her restrictive life in Portland, returning to the home she knew and adored as a girl in Hardman. She and her four-year-old son, Toby, settle into the small Eastern Oregon community, eager for the holiday season. Unfortunately, the only man she’s ever loved shows up, stirring the embers of a long-dead romance into a blazing flame. When her former father-in-law, a corrupt judge, decides he wants to raise Toby, Adam may be the only hope she has of keeping her son.
You can pre-order your copy today for only $2.99!


 No. Her fear was for the big, loveable lunk who’d scared her half witless when she saw him tumble off the roof.

“I believe that’s exactly the point.” Adam’s lopsided grin revealed his dimples and made her mouth water for want of his kiss.
Aggravated with herself, Tia aimed her fury at Adam. “The point is your recklessness might get you or someone else horribly injured.” She turned around and strode toward the kitchen door. “I insist you…”
A snowball caught her square in the back. Mouth hanging open in surprise, she spun around and glared at him.
Adam worked to form another snowball, ignoring her scowl.
Incensed, Tia surrendered to the need to stamp her foot. “How dare you!”
“Just like this.” He grinned and lobbed another snowball at her, catching her on the shoulder. Bits of snow sprayed into her face and hair.
“Oh! You are in for it now, Adam Guthry!” Tia bent down and hastily formed a snowball. With unmistakable precision, she threw it at Adam, hitting him on the chin.
He spluttered and returned fire, barely grazing her arm as she twisted away at the last second.
Peals of her laughter filled the quiet December afternoon and drew Toby outside as she and Adam continued to throw snow at each other.
“Mama?” The little boy’s lip quivered. “Did you send me inside so you could play without me?”

Hardman-Holidays-block for web 
Don't miss out on the Hardman Holidays series!

Guest Author Sign

You’re Invited to PARTY!

You’re invited to join in the online Cowboys & Christmas Facebook Party, Thursday, Nov. 12 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. (PST). Drop in anytime during those four hours to enter to win great prizes, chat with guest authors, and more (many of the giveaways will stay open until the following morning)!
Here’s the link to the party:
The talented guest authors joining in the celebration include: 
10 a.m. - Carmen Peone 
12:30 - Rachel Rossano 
1:30 - Dani Harper

Grand Prize Photo

Enter to Win Prizes!

To enter the drawing for an Amazon gift card, Wrangler Tote Bag, Rock & Roll Cowgirl T-shirt, autographed books, chocolates, and more fun goodies, fill out this form. Winners will be randomly drawn and announced Nov. 16.

Where to Find The Books

The Christmas Cowboy Cover 
Start the Rodeo Romance Series with The Christmas Cowboy.
christmas bargain cover 
Travel back to a time of grandeur in the old west
with the Hardman Holidays series.
The Christmas Bargain begins the popular series
and is available free for a very limited time!

About Shanna Hatfield

Shanna Hatfield 2Convinced everyone deserves a happy ending, hopeless romantic Shanna Hatfield is out to make it happen, one story at a time. Her sweet historical and contemporary romances combine humor and heart-pumping moments with characters that seem incredibly real.
When she isn’t writing or indulging in chocolate (dark and decadent, please), Shanna hangs out with her husband, lovingly known as Captain Cavedweller.
This USA Today bestselling author is a member of Western Writers of America, Women Writing the West, Romance Writers of America, Sweet Romance Reads, and Pioneer Hearts.

Find Shanna’s books at:
Shanna loves to hear from readers! Follow her online:
Make sure you sign up for her newsletter to get the latest on new releases and exclusive giveaways!

Saturday, November 7, 2015

SMT: Heartbound

P.I. Alltraine
Paranormal Romance
Fantasy Romance
Young Adult Romance

Petyr has never found it necessary to consider the humans as anything more than distant, inferior beings-until now. They are the cause of the fatal disease that has plagued his realm, taking the lives of too many of his kind. As a future leader of a realm in peril, Petyr must find a way to resist and cure the affliction. He must enter the unfamiliar realm, appear to be an ordinary eighteen-year-old human, observe and learn.

However, things don’t exactly go according to plan. Instead of embarking single-mindedly on his sober mission, Petyr meets an 18-year-old girl who does things to his emotions that he can’t quite fathom or control. Petyr is falling in love, and he almost forgets the gravity his choices have on his entire world. Despite the risk it poses to his life and hers, he wants to know her, and he wants her to know him-and his world.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...