Thursday, October 30, 2014

All's Fair in Love and Weddings


Christine S Feldman
Contemporary Romance

"If she had to make his life harder, at least she had chosen to make the view nicer."






Prudence Collier hasn't always lived up to her name - a fact that has left her with little relationship with her family.  Especially her older sister.  So when she gets invited to her sister's wedding in the Virgin Islands, she jumps at the chance to mend broken bridges.  However, things aren't exactly as they seem, especially with the kind Tucker Davis who helps her when the car breaks down on the way to the ferry.  Tucker Davis's lifelong friend is about to make a horrible decision - to get married - and he's here to stop it.  Even if the distracting Prudence is determined to keep him away from the happy couple.  As they embark on a battle of wills and wits, Prue and Tucker may find that love can be found on the islands, if only they could ever come to a truce.

My Opinion: This was a fun and emotional read that left me giggling and smiling throughout.  The characters were hilarious as they both worked hard to protect those they loved, hardly realizing they were falling in love themselves.  I loved the way the main characters interacted and acted naturally with each other.  A great story of what love really is, focusing on the main characters, there aren't many others to distract you from the fun of the heart of the story.  Overall, a great read for a cool day with fond memories of warmer times on the beach.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Book Spotlight: Other Side of the Wall

Other Side of the Wall
Jennifer Peel

There once were two couples, neighbors in fact, but like most neighbors today, hardly a word was spoken in passing. What they knew of each other mostly consisted of what was inadvertently heard through the wall that divided their townhomes.

The Langstons and the Russos had more in common than they both knew. Both couples were newly married and terribly unhappy, each for different reasons of course. Scott and Jenna Langston were facing an incurable disease and Ava and Peter Russo were plagued with heartache and betrayal.

Too often, Scott could hear Ava crying through the wall. He wondered what would make such a beautiful woman so sad, but he had enough of his own problems, he couldn’t worry about what was happening on the other side of the wall. On occasion, Ava could hear Scott’s pleas for his wife to be well. She wanted to offer help and comfort, but she was too physically and emotionally exhausted to reach out across the wall.

Eventually, Ava’s crying ceased and her name changed. Scott’s pleas went quiet as they went unanswered. Now, instead of two couples, there were two very lonely heartbroken individuals divided by a wall, each trying to deal with the hand they had been dealt.

Author Bio:
I'm a fifth generation Colorado native who currently calls Alabama home. I'm the mother of three amazing children who have grown up way too fast. I enjoy the mountains, vacations at the beach, date night with my wonderful husband, late night talks with my kiddos, touring model homes, and pink bubblegum ice cream. Other Side of the Wall is my first novel. I have plans to release my second novel in November 2014.

Other Links

Friday, October 24, 2014

Author Interview: Keely Keith

Keely Keith
author, The Land Uncharted


What is your favorite genre to write?

I love love and always want romance to be a bulk of my stories, but I enjoy mixing in other genres like scifi settings, historical feels, and suspenseful situations.

What is your favorite genre to read?

I like a little bit of everything that is not creepy or vulgar. That’s probably evident in my book. It’s a bit of a mash-up.

What is one silly fact about you?

I play bass guitar. Yep, chick bass player.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I started writing stories when I was a kid, and I wrote a novel once in my twenties, but trashed it because I couldn’t imagine people reading it. But my debut novel, The Land Uncharted, came about because my sweet husband challenged me to write it. I was always telling him story ideas that I wanted to weave together into a novel and one day in January 2013 we were driving out in the country looking for an estate sale and out of nowhere he said, “Here’s a challenge for you: I challenge you to write your book.”

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

I like to keep romance pure. My husband and I waited until our wedding night and that made our dating life way hotter than if we’d given in early. Maybe T.M.I. there, but I like to show the thrill of romance is in the anticipation.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

The actual writing process. I love the creating and world building and plotting.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

Lydia is a physician in an isolated 1860’s style village. She is smart, independent, and believes she has no room in her life for romance. Connor is a naval aviator, epitomizes the seven virtues, and is in completely foreign territory. They both had it all together and never saw this coming.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

I do! My favorite so far is Levi Colburn. He is Lydia’s brother--just a secondary character in the first book, but the main character in the second book in this series. He is messed up in a beautiful way.

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Giveaway!!! Fangs and Fame

Today I'm so excited to tell you about a wonderful giveaway, just in time for Halloween!  Author Heather Jensen, is generously offering THREE lucky winners an e-copy of her book, Fangs and Fame - book 3 in her paranormal romance series!  Don't miss out!



For Amazon's page, please click here.

So, how do you enter to win?  It's easy!  Just use the Rafflecopter form below.

Official Rules:  All entrants must be 18 years old or older.  This giveaway is open internationally.  This giveaway will end at 11:59 pm EST on Oct 29, 2014.  All entries must be submitted before then.  The winners will be notified via email and will have 48 hours to respond.  If there is no response, a new winner will be chosen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Book Spotlight: The Land Uncharted

The Land Uncharted
Keely Brooke Keith

Lydia Colburn is a young physician dedicated to serving her village in the Land. Day and night, she rushes by horseback to treat the ill and injured, establishing a heroic reputation as the village’s new doctor.

Naval Aviator Connor Bradshaw is flying over the South Atlantic Ocean on a mission to secure any remaining sources of fresh water in a 2025 world torn apart by war. A malfunction activates his aircraft’s ejection system, parachuting his unconscious body to the shore of a hidden land.

Lydia risks her safety to help the injured outsider despite the shock of his mysterious arrival and the disastrous implications his presence could have for her peaceful society, which has gone undetected for seven generations.

Connor searches for a way to return to his squadron, but his fascination with life in the Land makes him protective of Lydia and her peaceful homeland. And while Lydia’s attraction to Connor stirs desires she never anticipated, it also pushes an unwanted admirer to stage a dangerous attempt to win her affection.

As Connor tries to keep the Land off the radar, he learns the biggest threat to Lydia lurks in her village. But when Lydia’s greatest passion and darkest fear collide, will she look to the past or the future to find the the strength to survive?

Author Bio


Keely is a bass guitarist and lives on a hilltop south of Nashville. When she isn’t writing stories or playing bass, Keely enjoys dancing, having coffee with friends, and sifting through vintage books at antique stores.

Other Links:






Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Author Interview: Christine Feldman

Christine Feldman
author, All's Fair in Love and Weddings


Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.

My favorite types of heroes AND heroines are those who are flawed but have definite redeeming qualities; in my opinion, perfect people make rather dull characters to read about—because perfect people don’t need to achieve emotional growth, and growth is what makes so many wonderful stories moving. But after that, I tend to like a hero who has a wry sense of humor. Sometimes I’m in the mood for a cool customer sort of hero, and other times I want the friendly boy-next-door instead, but I ALWAYS like ‘em to make me laugh. As far as heroines go, I like a heroine who takes action instead of letting other people determine her fate. Sometimes that means a character who has no qualms about speaking her mind, but sometimes it can be a quieter wallflower type who is struggling to break free.

Speaking up might be hard for her, but as long as she’s TRYING, I can really cheer her on.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Is it cheating if I pick an entire continent? Like, say, Europe? ;) That way I can indulge my love of all things Celtic but still enjoy the view from a Tuscan hillside vineyard... But if I really had to narrow it down to just one specific location, the Scottish highlands might do nicely. Yep, that would work!

What is one silly fact about you?

I can ask where the post office is in Japanese. That’s about all I know how to say, though, so I don’t think I’d come in too handy as a travel companion to Japan unless you REALLY can’t wait to mail something while you’re there.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

I write strictly clean/sweet romance because otherwise I’d never be able to look my mother in the eye at family gatherings. Just kidding... Personally, I just feel a lot more comfortable leaving certain details behind closed doors for the couples in my books. Besides, don’t you have to have an extensive knowledge of colorful euphemisms to write steamy stuff? My vocabulary is limited in that department. ;)

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

I have a couple of screenplays that have placed in contests on both coasts, and I’d like to rewrite at least one of them as a novel. One is sort of mystery/paranormal, and the other is fantasy with comic touches. I love to both read and write in several genres, and I think it would be hard to limit myself to just one.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Hmm... good chemistry between the hero and heroine, of course. Storyline complications that keep raising the emotional stakes higher and keep me biting my nails: will they find happiness together, or won’t they? Witty dialogue, because that’s where some of the best chemistry lies. And I always appreciate a romance in which the two leads end up changing each other or each other’s lives for the better somehow—maybe one of them comes to a realization about himself or herself that couldn’t have happened otherwise, and that realization has a tremendous impact on him or her. Also, a healthy dose of humor never hurts...

Please share about your book 

All’s Fair in Love and Weddings is a contemporary romance revolving around a destination wedding in the Virgin Islands. The heroine, Prue, has been unexpectedly invited to her estranged sister’s wedding and hopes to finally repair their broken relationship. The hero, Tucker, is a childhood friend of the groom who has come to the islands intending to stop the wedding because he believes his friend is making a huge mistake. Naturally, once he and Prue cross paths and she realizes why he’s there, she is determined to make up for past mistakes and ensure her sister’s happiness by preventing Tucker from interfering with the wedding—by any means possible, which leads to some lively incidents. Both of them have good reasons for doing what they’re doing, as you see when you read the story, but that doesn’t change the fact that they’re on opposite sides. But sparks fly nevertheless, which makes things even more complicated...

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Prue is impulsive, loyal, reckless, tenacious, and lots and lots of fun.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

You’ll laugh, you’ll, cry, you’ll fall in love. At least, I hope you will... ;)

Friday, October 10, 2014

Up To Date


Susan Hatler
Contemporary Romance
Book 8 in Better Date Than Never Series
Love At First Date, Truth or Date,  My Last Blind Date, Save the Date, A Twist of Date, License to Date, Driven to Date, Up to Date, Deja Date, Dash and Date, An Unexpected Date

"Unfortunately, my track record with men ranked right there with my career choice (aka depressing)."


Ginger has always done the practical thing, no matter what she really wanted to do.  And what had it gotten her?  A boring job, paying double rent for her flaky sister, and a plethora of bad relationships.  Her past with her father's bad track record might have contributed to that last one.  Which is all the more reason to keep ignoring Greg Shaffer, no matter how much she kept thinking about him.  ER doctors made bad husbands, or so she had experienced.  But what's a girl to do when her amateur decorating services is won at a silent auction by the one and only Greg Shaffer - who has just moved in upstairs!  He is determined to break down her carefully erected walls.  With the chance to prove her skill to a magazine and start a new career, can Ginger still her fluttering heart enough to keep her head on her shoulders?  Or is it time to let loose a little?

My Opinion: This was a fun and light piece of fluff reading that is perfect for rainy fall days.  There was a fun and light romance and lots of wonderful scenes.  I have to say, Susan Hatler writes some nice kissing scenes.  The plot was smooth, though a little too smooth sometimes, giving easy solutions and little conflict.  However, it was an enjoyable read.  Characters from past books took up some obvious side character roles, and left me wondering what their stories were.  Slightly difficult, but in reality simply made me want to read their stories, too.  Overall a quick little read and I'm convinced a fun chapter in a long series.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


-

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Blog Tour: Awaken



Purchase on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1rUtjmG


The sacrifices we make have the power to shift the very fabric of who we are, and ultimately who we are meant to be…

After learning of her true destiny as the intended Leader of the Tydes, Anastasia Whitman must now embark on a perilous quest to the Underworld before the age of eighteen in order to plant the seed of immortality and complete her essence to become a true Sea Goddess. But before she can make her legendary journey, an unexpected new student transfers to Lorelei; initiating a sequence of events that will unravel Stasia’s new life, and test the boundaries of her relationship with the mysterious, dark, and sexy Finn Morrison. The line between the Underworld and the Living begins to blur as gruesome ghosts, morbid reveries, and pure evil haunt her waking hours as well as her sanity. Once the details of Finn’s own startling destiny are revealed, the dangerous secrets he’s been hiding will threaten the very love Stasia believed to be indestructible. As time begins to run out, she will be forced to choose between the one she loves and the destiny she cannot escape.

Haven't started the Daughters of the Sea series yet?  Start it off with Forsaken!


Once you’ve been touched by darkness, it never leaves you…

Abandoned by her parents as an infant; seventeen year old Hannah spent her childhood wading through countless foster families until being adopted by the Whitmans three years ago. Unfortunately, Atlanta’s high society wasn’t quite ready for Hannah…or the strange events that plague her

Chilling visions of murder, unexplained hallucinations, and a dark, mysterious guy who haunts her nightmares all culminate to set in motion a journey of self-discovery that will challenge everything she’s ever believed; not to mention her sanity.

Sent to live at The House of Lorelei on Bald Head Island, NC for ‘kids like her’, Hannah quickly realizes things are not what they seem. Her fellow ‘disturbed’ teens are actually the descendants of mythical Sea Gods and Goddesses. And so is she.

But when Finn, the ghost from her dreams, appears in the flesh; her nightmares become reality and her dark visions begin coming true. Inexplicably drawn to him, she can’t deny the dangerous hold he has on her heart. The deadly secrets he harbors will ultimately test her courage and push the boundaries of her love.

She must decide if she is ready to embrace the ancient legend she is prophesized to be a part of. The fate of all the descendants will forever depend upon it.

Purchase on Amazon: http://bit.ly/ForsakenRDB

Purchase on Smashwords: http://bit.ly/XziTwd





About Kristen Day




  
I am a southern belle at heart with a crazy streak that desperately tries to escape at every opportunity. I love all things nostalgic, rustic, and quirky. I’ve been told I see the world through rose-colored glasses, but I prefer to think of them as kaleidoscope glasses – swirling and morphing reality into something I can digest (who hasn’t pretended those pasty lima beans were really kiwi strawberry jelly beans?).
When I’m not writing I’m making jewelry, painting, drinking sweet tea, watching the discovery channel, or going on random adventures in the mountains of North Carolina with my amazing husband.

Monday, October 6, 2014

Author Interview: Rebecca Belliston

Rebecca Belliston
author, Citizens of Logan Pond


Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I grew up in Bountiful, Utah, the sixth of seven kids. I met my husband Troy at Utah State University, and we moved to Michigan so he could pursue a career in the automotive industry. Michigan is now home, and we love it for 8 months of the year. (Winters here are awful!) We have five kids, two girls and three boys who give us lots of laughs and gray hairs.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

I’m anxiously awaiting the next book in the Marissa Meyer Cinder series. I love reading YA romances, and I also plan to reread some of my favs in the near future, too, like the Matched and False Prince trilogies. They’re awesome.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Hmm. That’s tough. I’ve been lucky enough to travel to Israel twice, and it is the most fascinating place I’ve ever been culturally, spiritually, and geographically. Not sure I’d want to write a book about it though. I feel too unqualified. But the beaches there on the Mediterranean coast are to die for. Maybe I’d pretend I was writing a book there just so I could sneak back. :)

What is one silly fact about you?

I can solve a Rubik’s cube in under 3 minutes, a new skill I acquired with my oldest son last month. I’m vastly proud of this skill and try to wow anyone willing to put up with me.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I never planned to be an author. It just kind of happened. My dad is a successful author (Gerald N Lund), and growing up people would ask, “Do you write books like your dad?” I always answered the same. “NOPE! That’s his thing.”

Fast forward a few years, and this random story got stuck in my head. It would play over and over in my mind as I tried to sleep. One morning, I decided to write it down, hoping that if I got it on paper, it would leave me alone. Three weeks later, I had thirty-ish chapters, and I realized I’d kinda-sorta written a novel. I didn’t know how good it was, so I went back to the beginning to reread it. I read, edited, read some more, and edited as often as my kids would let me. Before I knew it, I was addicted to writing. That was six years ago, and I haven’t stopped since. I LOVE IT!

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well? 

I have three teenagers (I know--feel sorry for me) plus two younger kids. It sickens to me to know what they hear and see and experience in school, music, and entertainment. There’s so much smut out in the world (ie., high school), and I’m tired of it. The world is shoving sex on our kids at younger and younger ages. I’m sick of it even for myself. I want there to be other options out there readers. Romances can be sweet and exciting without jumping into bed. All of my books can be read by teens and grannies, old and young, and I like that.

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?

My favorite thing to hear is something like: “Oh, man. I stayed up until two reading your book. I couldn’t put it down.”

That’s a great thing to hear because my job as a writer is to keep readers from doing what they’re supposed to be doing, especially sleep. *demonic laugh*

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I’ve written six novels; three are published (Citizens of Logan Pond, Sadie, Augustina), and the other three are in the editing stage. I have several other ideas in the works, but I’m forcing myself to wait to get started on them.

Please share about your book 

This book is about a small Midwest neighborhood that has to pull together after a global financial disaster wipes out their money, jobs, transportation, food supply, and basic way of living. Carrie Ashworth (23) is suddenly a parent to her two siblings and struggles to grow food to keep them alive. She and her neighbors refuse to live in government compounds, and as such, they live illegally in their old homes, hiding from patrolmen who sweep through the neighborhood looking for squatters. By chance, Carrie befriends a patrolman who, in turn, protects her little clan. But all that is threatened when her best friend’s grandson moves into the clan, and Carrie’s heart is torn in two. Greg Pierce has the skills and knowledge to keep the clan safe, but it comes at a cost Carrie refuses to pay. Citizens of Logan Pond: LIFE is the first in a trilogy which will be subtitled Life, Liberty, and The Pursuit.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Carrie is sweet, quiet, loving, self-conscious, and fiercely loyal. (I cheated a little and did five characteristics.)

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

I’ve really enjoyed writing Greg. He's angry and bitter because life has beaten him down. I'm not sure why I enjoy writing that, but I adore him in the same way a mother adores her misbehaving toddler. I can see so much potential in him, and I love trying to help him reach it. (I know, I know. He’s not real. Tell that to my brain.)

Saturday, October 4, 2014

SMT: The King of Anavrea

The King of Anavrea
Book 2 of The Theodoric Saga
Christian Romance
Fantasy Romance
Medieval Romance

A reluctant king, a blind queen, and a marriage that sparked a rebellion... 

Ireic Theodoric, King of Anavrea, constantly battles with his council over who will run the country. When the council insists on a treaty with Sardmara, he agrees. However, the treaty quickly becomes an arranged marriage. Ireic offers up himself for the sake of Anavrea. But after he signs, no princess appears. 

Lirth Parnan, only daughter of the king of Sardmara, survives alone in a cold, damp tower room. Baron Tor kidnapped her in an attempt to control her father. No one came to claim her. She suspects her father considers her flawed beyond use in his political games. After five years of waiting, her hope of rescue wanes with her health. 

After Ireic fights his way into Lirth’s tower, he realizes the depths of her father’s deception. Instead of being an answer to his problems, Lirth creates new ones. The council will not accept her as queen, but Ireic has sworn an oath that he will marry her. His choice could cost him his throne, perhaps his life.

Friday, October 3, 2014

Book Spotlight: Shimmers of Stardust

Shimmers of Stardust
Ryan Jo Summers



Civil War hero turned outlaw, Logan Riley was hanged in 1869. He is found, alive, in 2014 by anthropologist Dr. McKenzie Lynne. Kenzie had been hired by a group of physicists to find the missing link to their time travel puzzle. When Kenzie learns of their real plans for Logan, she and he escape into the desert and mountains of Arizona and New Mexico.

The chase is on. They are hunted like criminals by physicists determined to get Logan back and teach Kenzie a lesson.

Meanwhile Kenzie's strong Christian faith works on chipping away at Logan's bad boy heart, convicting him of his lawless past.

Love blooms between them as they race to stay alive and stay free.

The hunters close in as their love grows. Kenzie's faith has to match wits with Logan's old fashioned cowboy survival skills against an armed military and ruthless physicists.


Author Bio

Ryan Jo Summers has been a long time reader and writer and comes from a family of wordsmiths. Shimmers of Stardust is her second novel, and plans are underway for a November 2014 release on a third novel. She lives in North Carolina.

Links:

Wednesday, October 1, 2014

Fight Against Plagerism

Today's post is a little different.  A good author friend of mine recently contacted me to discuss an issue that I hadn't heard about before, but was very interesting.

The issue revolves around Rachel Nunes’ clean Christian novel being plagiarized and turned by the plagiarizer into an erotic novel.

Not cool.  Plagiarism is something that touches all of us as writers (and readers!).

The plagiarizer is published under the name, Sam Taylor Mullins.  Rachel has initiated a lawsuit in the hopes of discouraging this woman and other potential plagiarizers from thinking twice about such illegal activities in the future.

For more information about this issue and the lawsuit, visit Rachel Nunes's site at: http://rachelannnunes.blogspot.com/2014/08/standing-against-plagarism.html 

As I’m sure you know, lawsuits are hugely expensive. So Rachel is issuing a series of boxed sets of previously published novels to help her raise money for her fight. The authors involved have donated their books for these boxed sets so that all profits go towards funding the lawsuit.


Click on any of the images to take you to Amazon.  I don't know all of the authors or their books, but I do know Joyce DiPastena, Stephanie Fowers, and GG Vandagriff,  

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...