Thursday, October 20, 2016

Book Spotlight: Secret Places Revealed

Secret Places Revealed
Paulette Harper

A broken man, a woman on the run, a love that won’t be denied.

Single—and very content—real estate developer Aaron Blackman is determined not to become involved in another relationship. He’s experienced enough drama to last a lifetime. The only thing garnering his attention now is his growing business. And he plans to keep it that way. Then Simone Herron waltzes into his life, beautiful and confident. Fighting to keep his promise to himself—to remain single—he soon discovers that when it comes to love, some promises must be broken.

After losing her fiancé in an untimely death, Simone Herron relocates. She desperately needs to put the past behind her and start a new chapter in her life. While love is the farthest thing from her mind, she experiences an attraction to the handsome Aaron Blackman that frightens her. She's built a wall around her heart, but can she find the strength and courage she needs to welcome love again? To do so, she must conquer her fears and allow God to put all of her broken pieces back together.

Author Bio:
In addition to being an award winning author of Completely Whole, Paulette is an inspirational speaker, as well as a writing workshop instructor. She has a passion to coach aspiring authors and speaks into the lives of women from every walk of life. Her literary works have been spotlighted in a growing number of publications, including CBN, Real Life Real Faith Magazine, and Black Pearls Magazine. She has also appeared on numerous local and online radio shows.

Purchase Links
Amazon e-book:
Amazon paperback:
Barnes & Noble:

Social Links
Amazon author page:

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Author Interview: Christina Lorenzen

Christina Lorenzen
author, Snow Globe Reunion

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

Oh wouldn’t that be a dream come true! Well, if I can pick the location it’s Italy, in particular Tuscany, hands down. I’ve been wanting to go for the last several years and that sure would help check that off my ‘dream’ list.

What is your favorite genre to write? 

I love sweet romance, but I’m playing with an idea for a cozy mystery series too. I think because I like to read widely, it often sets my writer wheels turning.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I actually had a sixth grade teacher, Ms. Lorraine Bruder, that got me interested in writing. I remember it clear as a day. She had set up a creative writing exercise. Each student had to pick 3 index cards – one with a setting, one with a character and one with an event. The assignment was to write a short story using all 3 cards. I think that’s the day the writing bug bit me lol.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I have actually had a very productive writing year in 2016 with two books released, A Wife for Humphrey and SnowGlobe  Reunion, and a 3rd set to release in early October. I have an even busier year in 2017 with 4 novellas due to release. All of these stories are sweet romances, but I do hope to explore the idea of a cozy mystery series next year as well.

Where do your ideas come from? 

The idea for my first book, A Husband for Danna, came after passing a church where a bride and an older man, I’m guessing her father, were having a disagreement in the parking lot. The bride’s veil was blowing in the wind and arms were waving wildly. I thought “What if she doesn’t want to get married? What if the groom is her father’s choice and not hers?” And that became that book. Most of my ideas come from seeing or hearing tid bits here and there. SnowGlobe Reunion is part of the Snow Globe Collection and the publisher wanted stories that centered around magical snow globes. From there we writers could run with the story and it just came to me as my hands flew across the keyboard. That happens for me as I’m a pantster and my stories are visual; I see them playing in my head like a movie. Think Hallmark Channel lol.

Please share about your book

SnowGlobe Reunion is the story of Carrie Sanders struggle to get home to her family home for Christmas. As much as she’s dreading the questions about her recent breakup, she does want to get home. However, a snowstorm leaves her stranded in O’Hare International airport. In search of something to drink in the coffee shop she ends up sharing a table with an unlikely companion, a mysterious Mrs. Gibson. When Mrs. Gibson excuses herself for the ladies room and doesn’t come back, Carrie ends up holding on to the woman’s tote bag, hoping to spot her in the airport to return it. Unable to keep her curiosity at bay, she peeks into the bag and finds an old snow globe. Bored and unhappy about the delay, she holds the bench while lying on an airport bench. As she shakes the globe and watches the fake snow flurries fly, suddenly she’s not in the airport anymore but back home – only it’s 1941!

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

Well, if you’re like many people, you probably are burning the candle at both ends, overburdened and overwhelmed. And with all the bad news and tragedy that assaults us each every day, we all need a little happy place to retreat to.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

Though I seem to fall in love with all of my characters and I hate to let them go when the story is done, I have to say that Danna is my favorite so far. I love her fun, optimistic personality and her sweet devotion to her family and friends.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Author Interview: Laura Briggs

Laura Briggs
author, Boyfriend by the Book

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list? 

Right now, I am reading my way through Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories. A book I’ve just added to my “must read” list is The Reader on the 6.27. I’m also a big fan of historical suspense and mystery novels and looking forward to reading some more works by Lynn Shepherd and Alex Grecian (though Grecian’s Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad series can get a bit gory for me at times!).

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

London would be high on my list. Even though I was lucky enough to visit England on a college trip, we didn’t get to see that famous city, with all its wonderful landmarks. I would also love to see Cornwall and to visit a real castle somewhere.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I had considered the idea of writing for years, but it wasn’t until I had graduated from college that I really gave it a chance. I wrote a short story about a bookshop owner who mistakenly requests the wrong author for her next book signing event. Of course, said author turns out to be a dashing, handsome adventure novelist who turns her store—and her life—upside down.  I titled it Only in Novels and sent the manuscript off to the company now known as Pelican Book Group. To my great surprise, they sent me a contract in exchange. I have published a few more titles with them, as well as publishing independently via Amazon and Smashwords.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

Right now, I’m planning something a little different from my usual work. A sort of chick lit/cozy mystery with an element of romance—though I haven’t got words on paper yet, so it’s very much in the idea phase. I’m excited about it, though, and hope it’s something my romantic comedy fans would enjoy.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

Some of my interests and hobbies definitely show up in my work. For instance, a lot of my characters have been novelists or book lovers, and some of them have shared my interest in honing their cooking skills.

Please share about your book 

My romantic comedy Boyfriend by the Book is about a young woman whose love life is complicated by such classic novels as Pride & Prejudice and Jane Eyre. It all happens when she uses a bestselling relationship guide that claims women can find their perfect match by thinking like the heroines in famous novels. Of course, lots of romantic disasters ensue, as her attempts to use the relationship guide lead her to meet everything from a modern day Heathcliff to a Darcy-esque novelist.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

You should read it if you love dreamy, feel-good romance novels with a hefty dose of humor involved.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Book Spotlight: Snowglobe Reunion

Snowglobe Reunion
Christina Lorenzen

Stranded by a snowstorm, Carrie Sanders is left holding a bag an old woman she’d been talking to left behind in the airport coffee shop. Mystified by the woman’s disappearance, she sits on the bench staring at the snow globe that was in the bag.
Inside the glittery snowy world it’s Christmas during the 1940s. Fighting sleep, the next thing she knows she’s in the arms of the soldier she last saw skating on the pond in the snow globe. He’s no stranger, but the boy next door who never forgot her.

Author Bio:

Christina started writing as a young teen, jotting stories in wire ring composition notebooks. Her first typewriter made it faster to get all those stories out of her head and down on paper. Her love of writing has sustained her through a myriad of jobs that included hairdresser,legal secretary, waitress and door-­to-‑door saleswoman.

Luckily for her, writing proved to be successful and a lot less walking than going door to door. SnowGlobe Reunion, a Christian Christmas romance, is Christina's third book. She is also the author of A Husband for Danna and its sequel, A Wife for Humphrey. She is busy working on a fall 2016 release. When she isn't writing or reading, she can be found walking her dog, talking to her herd of cats and spending time with her family.

To find out about Christina's upcoming releases, visit her website at
Subscribe to Christina's newsletter and be entered automatically each month to win a $5 Amazon gift card at


Monday, October 3, 2016

Book Spotlight: Holiday

Sara Crummett
Contemporary Romance

When Jess Brown learns that her mother is ill, she leaves a major market radio career to care for her. She returns to the airwaves of her hometown radio station, which operates more on duct tape and spirit than actual technology. Jess and her father, a country veterinarian, share a love for needy animals that is far larger than the barn—or budget—required to keep them. She longs to return to civilized radio, and vows to do so as soon as she finds a home for every last animal friend.

There are other reasons to stay, like Sam Bloom, who has fled the city on a quest for the simple life. And then there’s the campaign she’s leading against a major developer who wants to put a shopping center smack-dab in the middle of town. With a deadline of Christmas Eve, time is running out…

Welcome to Holiday, a town chock-full of quirky people, animals with strong opinions, and hearts as big as they come. Holiday is the first book of the homespun Welcome to Holiday series.

Author Bio:

When Sara Crummett was a child, she was every bit as precocious as Jess, the main character in Holiday. She was born and raised in a midwest small town that never quite left her no matter where she traveled. These days she lives in (yet another) small town, this time on the Gulf Coast, but still spends the better part of her days visiting a hometown she created--a warm, welcoming, lively little place. It's called Holiday, and you're more than welcome to come for a visit...

website coming soon! (Still under construction.) 
Very dynamic website.

Saturday, October 1, 2016

SMT: Between Hope and the Highway

Between Hope and the Highway
Charissa Statsny
Contemporary Romance

Sometimes things get so messed up you have to pick up and get the heck out of Dodge. That’s what Liz Ruthersford does. Memories can be weapons, and hers have become incoming missiles. Fleeing home and her parents’ pity, she seeks refuge on a remote ranch in Montana where no one knows her tragic past. When she meets Bentley and Rawson Law, brothers with wounds of their own, life veers off course. Embers of hope flicker to life, but will bias, bitterness, and misunderstanding smother them before they burn bright enough to warm her heart? Or will she hit the highway and run once again?

Friday, September 30, 2016

A Gift From St Nick

Linda Andrews
Historical Romance
Book 4 in Love's Great War Series
Hearts in Barbed Wire, Entanglements, Unmask My Heart, A Gift From St Nick, The Christmas Ship, A Kiss and a Dream

"No. It couldn't be. It had to be the wind. It had better be the wind."

Lenore Kerrigan spends her days as a school teacher and her evenings helping her parents run their inn...and avoiding all thoughts of her erstwhile fiance.  Young and jilted, many leave her and her love life alone.  That is, until Hans Lubeck shows up and gets her broken heart beating again.  Hans doesn't have time for a woman on land, no matter how beautiful.  He's done with women.  As a ship captain, he has work to do if he is ever to take over the ship from his uncle.  This holiday season will bring the two together in more ways than one.  Will they find the gift of love?

My Opinion: This was a fun revisit to a meticulously created world in a small town during an unique period in US history.  Having read a later book, some of the characters and settings were familiar and just as lovely as before.  The story of Hans and Lenore is sweet and lovely, but didn't have a ton of action.  We got to know the characters well with a lot of backstory and character, but less development through action.  Still, it was a lovely book with a great romance and chemistry between the two main characters.  Filling out a wonderful world, it fit right in with what I've experienced with the series and made for a nice read.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Friday, September 23, 2016

Book Spotlight: After the Fireweed

After the Fireweed
Beth Carpenter
Contemporary Romance

Sweet Alaskan romance with a chewy mystery center :

Laura's Alaskan summer almost comes to an abrupt end over a territorial dispute with a bear, but a fellow hiker comes to the rescue. Tally at day's end: a dozen stitches, a cup of blueberries, and a lunch date with a fascinating high-school science teacher. She returns the favor when Clay is accused of murdering his ex-wife. Laura risks her job to stay and prove his innocence. Failure may cost Clay his freedom. Flushing the real killer may cost Laura her life.

Author Bio:
Beth Carpenter splits her time between Alaska and Arizona. She’s not sure which are more terrifying: bears or scorpions. Research continues.

This book is up on Kindle Scout, with the campaign running Sept. 10 through Oct. 10. If it's chosen for publication, everyone nominating it will get a free advance copy from Amazon. Anyone with an Amazon account can nominate.

Thursday, September 22, 2016

The Hesitant Heiress

Dawn Crandall
Historical Romance
Book 1 of The Everstone Chronicles
The Hesitant Heiress, The Bound Heart, The Captive Imposter, The Cautious Maiden

"I liked the way she spoke with such honesty. Not a common attribute in most women I’d met, no matter their age."

Amaryllis Brigham just wants to start a music academy in her beloved hometown of Seattle.  However, being unjustly expelled from her prestigious music academy in Boston, her plans are derailed.  Even moreso when she moved in with her aunt, a women set on helping her marry within a year in order to inherit the fortune her estranged grandmother left to her.  She reluctantly agrees to go about in society, and finds herself attracted to the popular Nathan Everstone.  Nathan's father is a man who has haunted her dreams.  Association with that family is out of the question.  Isn't it?

My Opinion: I really enjoyed this book.  It was a different twist on your typical romance, as so many aspects of Amaryllis's story was woven into the story.  I loved the depth of the characters, all of them, and how intricate the story was.  The romance between Amaryllis and Nathan is quite lovely and satisfying.  I loved being able to solve the mystery along with the main characters, enjoy the suspense, as well as the sweet excitement of falling helplessly in love.  Overall a wonderful read, and left me anxious to read about the rest of the Everstones.  Glad there are more books.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Book Spotlight: Dare to Love

Dare to Love
Book #4 in Finding Love Series
Delaney Cameron
Contemporary Romance

When Sabrina arrives for a job interview, she never expects to run into the man who broke her heart six years ago. Trent is a painful souvenir of a first love that went terribly wrong. Four months of being unemployed is the only reason she agrees to work for him. A stack of unpaid bills outweighs injured feelings, shattered dignity and past humiliations. For the present, she can’t escape the cruel trick fate has dealt her. There will be no running away from Trent this time.

Trent isn’t the serial heartbreaker everyone believes him to be, and his seemingly idyllic bachelor existence is anything but satisfying. The plans he made for his life have always included marriage and a family, but for those things one has to fall in love. It bothers him that he can’t do something everyone else seems to do so effortlessly. Meeting Sabrina again is a reminder of an incident that still makes him uncomfortable. In his more irrational moments, he’s even wondered if what he did to her is the reason love continues to elude him. Maybe he’s getting what he deserves for playing around with someone’s feelings.

Is falling out of love as easy as falling into it? Or is love a moment that lasts forever?

Author Bio:

I'm a Georgia girl at heart if not by birth. I love to read, watch college football, and spend time with my husband. I'm a hopeless romantic so there will always be a happily ever after in my stories. I also like to write about second chances because love doesn't always work out the first time.

I write sweet romances set in both contemporary and regency settings. My stories are about the journey to love, from that first meeting to the point where two people know their hearts are no longer their own. My characters aren't perfect. They make mistakes and have faults like the rest of us. They learn the sometimes painful truth that the path to love isn't always smooth, but it's a road worth traveling.

The next book in the series, Yours, With Love, will be released late fall 2016.

To find out more about my books or to sign up for my newsletter, please go to:

Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Book Spotlight: The Wedding Chaos

The Wedding Chaos
Isabel Micheals
Contemporary Romance

When a momzilla crosses a frustrated bride-to-be, chaos ensues…

Nancy Blake has dreamed of her daughter having a fairy tale wedding fit for a Princess since Lilly was born. However, Lilly and Trevor want to be married soon and with as little fanfare as possible. How will Nancy be able to carry out her plans for the wedding to end all weddings, you ask? She enlists the services of Rose Knight, owner of The Rose Chalet, San Francisco's premier wedding venue.

But as the big day approaches, tension between mother and daughter escalates, nearing the point of no return. Will they be able work out their differences before Lilly and Trevor walk down the aisle? Or, will the bride and groom make a run for Vegas to be married by an Elvis impersonator?

Warning: This fairy tale contains an overwhelmed bride one-step away from wearing prison orange; a prince charming who sticks his foot in his mouth; and a momzilla who continually forgets…she’s not the bride.

The Wedding Chaos is based on the wonderful characters found in Lucy Kevin’s Four Weddings and a Fiasco series.

Author Bio:

After years of reading romance novels and getting lost in characters’ worlds, Isabel Micheals finally decided to try her hand at writing. Now she’s been bitten by the writing bug, hopes to make a career of it, and encourages you to join her on this amazing and exciting journey as the characters in her head come to life. In addition to her creative side, she’s a geek who loves to code, travel and be whisked away into alternate realities, whether it be contemporary, new adult, young adult, historical, paranormal, or real life. Everyone has a story, so be sure to drop by Isabel's site often to see which stories are keeping her up at night, as she pounds away on the keys writing her next book.

Saturday, September 10, 2016

SMT: The Letter Project

The Letter Project
Christine Bailey
Contemporary Romance
Young Adult Romance

Seventeen-year-old Anna McAllister has been in love with the boy next door her entire life. Josh has always loved her, too, but he’s never told her. After he enlists in the military, a tragic training accident abruptly ends his life, and all Anna has left of him is a letter that arrives the day after his funeral. For months, all she can think about is his confession to loving her and the imperfect timing of it all.

When Anna spends the summer with her grandmother in Upstate New York, she meets a new circle of friends, including Liam and his cousin Brad. While both compete for her attention, Anna isn’t interested in either of them—neither one is Josh. While she tries to keep them both at a safe distance, there’s just something about Liam that keeps pulling her back to him. But nothing is ever as simple as it seems.

Friday, September 9, 2016

Review Rewind: American History

Well, I missed my rewind last month (still getting my bearings with this new pregnancy), but I'm back and excited as ever to highlight some old favorites.  With school starting up again, Patriot's Day this weekend, and just my own overall love of history, I decided this month should focus on some good American History stories.  All are historical, at one point in time or another, and definitely worth the read.  In fact, after going back through these, I may try to pick one or two back up myself.  I hope you enjoy them, along with the changing weather, as well.

Surrender the Dawn  Set during the war of 1812, this delightful adventure features an unlikely partnership between a young woman and a privateer.  The third in a series (check them all out!) it can stand on its own well.  Overall a great read and a fun adventure.

Shades of Gray  Enter a world where Kat Bailey has set sail to America as a mail order bride - a last resort.  Only when she arrives, her respectable fiance is anything but.  Taking shelter with the town outcast, will Kat learn to see beyond the rumors about Grayson?  Or are the rumors more than just gossip?

Noble Cause  This is one of the best Civil War novels I have ever read.  With a fabulous insight into both sides of the war, the author pulls you along with the main characters as they learn to traverse the muddy layers of a war that tore our country apart.  Will they find that love can survive opposing sides?

Gunpowder Tea  Set with an unlikely character of a female Pinkerton detective in the West, this is a fun and enjoyable mystery with a good dose of romance.  The last in a series, it easily stands on its own and is a thoroughly enjoyable book.  I loved the characters and the less conventional but still historical story.

I hope one of these books sparks your interest and you get to read a wonderful book or two this month!  Thanks for stopping by!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...