Thursday, August 27, 2015

Book Spotlight: Defiance

Defiance
GG Vandagriff


As Hitler’s armies overrun France, Rudolf von Schoenenburg, a young Austrian baron, is living in exile in England. Though his true love, Hannah, is engaged to another man, Rudi and Hannah risk their lives together to help rescue thousands of British Troops from Dunkirk. Their powerful love story develops against the backdrop of the Battle of Britain and an old world being blown to pieces.

Rudi’s family and friends suffer under the nightly barrage of bombs and rockets of the London Blitz while he pilots a British fighter plane in what looks like an impossible defense of the small island. Each night is a desperate fight for survival, each dawn a miracle.

While Hannah spends her days and nights helping to provide early warning of German air attacks, she realizes that every hour of every day is precious. Each moment carries the threat of sudden death. As the world around her changes, should Hannah allow her passion for Rudi to overcome promises she made to her dying father in what seems like another lifetime?

Author Bio:

I realize that I am one of those rare people in the world who gets to live a life full of passion, romance, suspense, angst, fulfillment, humor, and mystery. I am a writer. Every day when I sit down at my computer, I enter into a world of my own making. I am in the head of a panoply of characters ranging from a nineteen-year-old Austrian debutante (The Last Waltz) to a raging psychopath (The Arthurian Omen) and four women at once in The Only Way to Paradise. Then there are the feisty heroines of my Regency romances . . .

I am a traditionally published,award-winning, best-selling writer who has recently gone Indie. I enjoy genre-hopping, having published a genealogical mystery series, two women's fiction novels, two historical romances, two suspense novels, seven Regency romances, and a couple of non-fiction offerings.

With a BA from Stanford and an MA from George Washington University in International Relations, I somehow stumbled into finance. But, once my husband was through law school, I never wanted to do anything but write and raise kids. Now the kids are gone, but (even better) there are five grandchildren who provide my rewards for finishing a manuscript.

Aside from the grandchildren, my favorite things include: Florence, Italy; snow storms; Oreos; real hot chocolate; sweaters; Sundance Resort; lilacs; and dachshunds.


Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Author Interview: Helen Pollard

Helen Pollard
author, Holding Back


Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

I have a hankering to see Sicily at the moment – and that's down to watching the Italian series Inspector Montalbano, especially the opening credits with superb aerial shots. I am absolutely fascinated by the towns built amongst the mountains as if they, too, are made of rock. And of course the coastline looks lovely.

What is your favorite genre to write?

My two published books so far are contemporary romances, but my current work-in-progress is humorous women's fiction with just a hint of romance. I guess that means that whatever I write, the romance is bound to creep in somehow … which is surprising, because most of the time I'm the most dreadful cynic!

What is one silly fact about you?

I’ll cry at absolutely anything – I’m hopeless. My husband has to vet my TV viewing to limit my misery!

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance?  Do you write steamy romance as well?

My two books so far have been sweet romances (with a heated clinch or two!) This wasn't intentional on my part - it was just that the stories worked out that way. In Warm Hearts in Winter, Jack is a widower still coming to terms with the death of his wife and it didn't seem appropriate that he would just fall into bed with the heroine Abby. In Holding Back, the hero and heroine – as the title suggests – are both reticent about romance, so steamy sex scenes didn't seem appropriate in their story, either.  
My current work-in-progress involves betrayal and does have the odd sex scene (not graphic!) and a little swearing because the story is quite down-to-earth, following a woman's journey through a difficult patch in her life, so that style seemed more appropriate.

To be honest, I'm happy to write a story whichever way it feels right to me as it develops. I do think readers should have a wide choice of romance to suit their sensibilities and I know not everyone wants to read 'steamy', so it's great that there are clean reads available for those who want them.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

I like the unexpectedness of it best. I don’t really outline much at the start – I’ll have a basic idea in mind and certain points or events that I definitely want to get to, but beyond that, I let my characters to take me where they want to go.

It's more fun and certainly more interesting that way.

Do you have a favorite comment or question from a reader?

I was thrilled recently by a 5-star review from a book reviewer who said Holding Back is "the most enchantingly romantic book I’ve read in a very long time ... it is exquisite torture and it feels every inch natural and true, as do this couple who are not perfect, but are perfect for each other." I work so hard to make my characters and their interactions realistic.

These comments felt like validation for all that time and effort!

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

For me, a romance must be character-led. The hero and heroine need depth and I must be able to empathize with them.

No plot or sub-plot matters in a romance if the author hasn't invested enough time in developing the main characters. I want to know their motivations, the events in their past that affect the way they behave in the present, the reasons they ultimately fall in love with each other. Dialogue is also important for me.  As a reader, I’ll make allowances for a different writing style or the fact that the author is of a different nationality - but at the end of the day, if the dialogue sounds unrealistic, it’s the one thing guaranteed to put me off the book quickly.

Please share about your book.

Holding Back is a summer romance set in northern Portugal, and in this case, it was definitely the place that inspired the book. I'd visited there a couple of times and it was so beautiful that it stayed with me over the years until my imagination came up with the characters and story to go with it. Readers so far have commented on the setting in particular, saying that reading the book was like taking a vacation there!

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

Daniel and Laura don't get on at first, despite – or perhaps because of - their mutual attraction. They're too busy, too tired, too cynical for romance, Laura because of her past, Daniel because of his present. Since my characters tend to develop a mind of their own as I write, getting them together proved more of a challenge than I'd envisaged, but I got there in the end!

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Why not transport yourself to sunny Portugal for a few hours? Daniel and Laura will lead you through a minefield of attraction, misunderstanding, friendship, emotion … and ultimately romance.

Saturday, August 22, 2015

SMT: The Viscount Beseiged

The Viscount Beseiged
Elizabeth Bailey
Regency Romance

In the tradition of Regency Romance, an energetic country house tale of tangled plots and counter-plots. Determined to outfox the Errant Heir, Isadora finds she’s taken on a tougher challenge than she bargained for. It is a question of who will outfox who!


The Viscount Besieged

Friday, August 21, 2015

Author Interview: Sue Searles

Sue Searles
author, Lucia's Web


Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Hmm…where do I start? Any exotic island, a quaint coffee shop in Italy, the highlands of Scotland, or Ireland, or somewhere with a view of the mountains in Colorado… Okay, so maybe these aren’t all research-related, but they are places I’d love to visit. And I could always find an excuse to throw in a little research while I’m there!

What is your favorite genre to write?

I feel strongly about writing stories that are different to the norm. If I'm going to enter into the exhilarating (but sometimes exhausting) challenge of writing a book, it must be memorable and life-changing to my readers. There'll always be a touch of romance (what girl doesn't like a bit of romance?), but that isn’t always the focus of my stories. I tend to think outside the conventional box or, as I like to put it, write “sweet stories that defy convention.”

What is your favorite genre to read?

Probably historical fiction. I’ve read a few books by Lynn Austin and find myself relating to her style of writing. She’s taught me a lot about significant historical events that I never knew before.

What is one silly fact about you?

I’m completely and utterly besotted with PUGS.

What got you started on your writing journey?

From as early as I can remember, I’ve had a passion for writing. As a kid I was always tinkering with one story or another, and lengthy poems about the stories I’d written. I had notebooks filled with the stuff. Then high school happened, and writing was pushed to the back burner of my life. Tertiary studies and marriage followed, and then my son was born.

When I look back, it’s probably my son whom I can thank for giving me the courage to take that first step as a serious writer. As a six-year-old, his wonderful imagination led me to write my very first book about the delightful characters in his head…a children’s book which I called An Adventure With Little John and the Coaspies (the title’s long, I know).

Writing that book gave me a taste of what it would feel like to actually take my writing seriously.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

For me, writing is a deeply fulfilling creative outlet; it's what I was born to do. Anybody who's written a book knows what a challenging but rewarding journey it can be. Writing involves elements that a casual reader can’t begin to imagine (to name a few: building interesting characters, creating a believable plot with twists and turns, sub-plots that blend seamlessly, remembering the nitty gritties of publishing rules—point of view, show vs. tell, dashes and ellipses, the grueling editing stage…), but there's little more fulfilling than reaching that last page, and the contentment of seeing the end result.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

Without meaning to, I see bits and pieces of myself – my personality, my quirks, my ambitions – reflected in my characters. I’d say I’m a good mix of Ali and Sam in my latest book, Lucia’s Web. I didn’t plan for Ali to have a little OCD, or for Sam to not take herself too seriously, but they surprised me!


Please share about your book 

I’m super excited about my latest release, Lucia’s Web, that came out recently. It’s about three girls who share an apartment, but there’s something creepy and sinister about one of them. The genre is kind of mystery/suspense/romance with a humorous twist. The protagonist advertises for two tenants to share her upmarket apartment, but she’s such a naïve, sheltered thing that she isn’t prepared for the weird and interesting housemates she’s about to take on, or the series of cryptic events that unravels. (Okay, let me stop there. You’ll have to read it for yourself…)

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

Hmm, interesting question. Ali is the main character, and I’d say she’s naïve, privileged yet grounded, sociable, and quirky.

Why should we read your book?

If you enjoy suspense-filled stories with splashes of humor and heartwarming romance, you’ll want to read Lucia’s Web.

Monday, August 17, 2015

Book Spotlight: Palace of Deception

Palace of Deception: A Romantic Suspense Novella
Helena Fairfax


A sinister housekeeper, a silent bodyguard, and a missing princess - mystery and intrigue in a gripping romantic suspense.

Lizzie Smith is contacted by her old drama teacher over the summer and offered the acting job of her life. Princess Charlotte of Montverrier has disappeared on the eve of her Investiture…and Lizzie must take her place.

But in the run up to the ceremony, all is not what it seems in the Palace of Montverrier. Why does the housekeeper insist Lizzie keep to her suite of rooms? What danger lies outside the palace walls? As Lizzie learns her role, her only confidant is Léon, her quiet bodyguard…but what secrets is he keeping from her?

Mystery and suspense against the backdrop of a beautiful Mediterranean city.

Author Bio:

Helena Fairfax was born in Uganda and came to England as a child. She's grown used to the cold now, and these days she lives in an old Victorian mill town in Yorkshire, in the north of England. After many years working in factories and dark, satanic mills, Helena has turned to writing full-time. Her first novel, The Silk Romance, was a contender for the Romantic Novelists' Association New Writers' Scheme Award and a runner-up in the Global Ebook Awards. Since then, Helena has written lots more stories, and she was recently a finalist in the Exeter Novel Prize.

In her spare time, Helena walks the Yorkshire moors every day with her rescue dog, finding this romantic landscape the perfect place to dream up her heroes and her happy endings.

You can find out more about Helena on her blog at www.helenafairfax.com, or on Twitter @helenafairfax.

Other Links:

Saturday, August 15, 2015

SMT: Treasure of the Battersea Bluffs

Treasure of the Battersea Bluffs
Sarah Norkus
Christian Romance
Fantasy Romance
Time Travel Romance
Young Adult Romance

The discovery of a centuries old skeleton under the floorboards of an ancient villa in Petersburg is the catalyst that sends teens, Josh and Emily, back to the eighteenth century. While struggling to save the life of a young girl, the teens incur the wrath of her assailant and are inadvertently drawn into his obsessive search for a Scottish Lord’s stolen gems.


Saturday, August 8, 2015

SMT: Song From the Ashes

Song From the Ashes
Megan Whitson Lee
Christian Romance

Attorney Landon Kingsley craves order and normalcy, and aside from his well-hidden vice of smoking, he lives the life that everyone expects from him in his hometown of Kingsport, Tennessee. Recently engaged to beautiful nursing student, April May, Landon’s new fiancée is everything he could want in a wife. She is devoted to her faith and family and truly loves him.

April’s cousin, Ella Casey, has returned to Kingsport after ten years of pursuing a career as a country music singer in Nashville. Ella’s failed career and affair with a married music producer scandalizes her in the eyes of the town, but her legal troubles drive her to Landon for help. Landon finds himself increasingly attracted to Ella and more discontent than ever with the path he has chosen for his life. Amid a firestorm of family and town gossip, Landon is tormented by his past and the complicated decision of whether to listen to God’s voice or follow his own desires.


Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Sparks Fly


Cheryl Cooke Harrington
Contemporary Romance

"Mitch Walker's broad back was a whole lot better at keeping secrets."






After years away, Logan wants to return to her childhood home at her grandfather's remote lodge.  Surely her aging grandfather would welcome a younger partner.  The problem is, it seems he already has one.  Mitch Walker, it seems, is more than the pilot who takes her back to Casey Lodge, but the man who may just be standing in her way.  Or could it be more sinister - is he taking advantage of her grandfather?  Logan sets out to figure out just where she and her plans fit in here at Casey Lodge now, but Mitch seems like a distraction in more than one way.  Can Logan find a way to trust Mitch, and her heart?

My Opinion: The writing on this one was well done, but I felt that the story was missing something.  The set-up held a lot of potential for drama but it didn't fulfill it.  The story held many interesting scenes that were tenuously strung together.  The plot and romance were a bit bouncy.  The suspenseful scenes were wonderfully created in and of themselves.  The side characters weren't too involved in the story, but made for rich and fun side scenes.  I felt a lot like there must have been some backstory to all of the characters that I had missed out on.  Overall, there were some great scenes and a lot of potential, but it needed more to really pull the story together.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Monday, August 3, 2015

Author Interview: Bonnie McCune

Bonnie McCune
author, Falling Like a Rock

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures) 

I come from a dysfunctional (no more than many, however) family of seven children, am married, have two kids, three grandkids. I spent many years using my writing skills in p.r. and communications for nonprofits but always have freelanced, too. Over the years, I visited Ireland twice (my husband’s family’s background), other places in Europe, and Bulgaria twice, which is somewhat unusual for an American. Adventures include breaking my ankles several times, once in a movie theater, climbing ONE Colorado mountain, blowing up a gas furnace, and getting hit by a semi after an ice storm. I used to enter cooking contests and was twice a finalist to the National Chicken Cooking Contest and once to the Pillsbury Bake Off. One of my strong personal beliefs is volunteer involvement. Another is doing the best I can. Over the years, my beliefs have become simpler and my goals more modest.

What is one silly fact about you?

I’m an anarchist. Not the bomb-throwing type, the take-responsibility-for-yourself type. Years ago I read a book titled “In Defense of Anarchism” (still available), and I was converted. It answered all my questions about how to live in this world. Consider what you believe is right, wrong, worth changing, worth preserving on every matter; then live your life based on those points. I think this point of view has lead me to value each person for his inherent self and treasure my experiences.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well? 

There are no heaving bosoms and throbbing loins in my books. My characters have sex, believe me, or, more apt, they make love. They just don’t do it on-stage. Any psychologist—or writer—will tell you human emotion is the key factor in sex. Without it, the act is mechanical, not much different from eating or defecating. And if a writer’s going to have good sex scenes, he’ll emphasize emotions. So that’s what I emphasize in my writing. Being the old-fashioned person I am, I also prefer not to risk offending readers. I take enough chances with that in the realm of social activism.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the rest of the year 2015? 

I’m working mainly on two manuscripts. Writing doesn’t come quickly to me, and Never Retreat is now heading toward two years in the making. The protagonist, Ramona Soto, a struggling single mom, faced harsh reality 18 years ago when she got knocked up by a roving con man only to discover after several other relationships, men aren’t the answer. Now at thirty-something she’s concentrating on her career in a major telecommunications firm in Denver, but with son Andy preparing for college, she longs to break the glass ceiling and leapfrog to a better position. The company retreat provides the opportunity. Top executives plan to award bonuses and promotions based on the skills shown by key employees. Enter Desmond (Des) Emmett. Newly transferred from another base of operations to handle the security department, the ex-serviceman fills every negative qualification Raye carries around on a mental list for the guy to avoid. He’s matched with Raye as teammates at the isolated retreat location. Initial conflict and antagonism turn to hidden attraction, when they collide with an insurmountable obstacle. Only one of them can achieve the top honor. Mother Nature intervenes with the perfect summer mountain storm accompanied by a massive flash flood. Cut off from help, their very existence endangered, they and their co-workers confront a wall of water sweeping down the rocky canyon. I also am working on a satire about government and government employees entitled Civil Servants. Not a romance, this one’s been in progress for a good 15 years.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

Plenty. I’ve used my broken ankle, trips to the mountains, Colorado storms, bits and pieces from people I know, my own secret fears, my perspective and philosophy of life about the environment and importance of family, a water heater blowing up, the local gym and weight room, a visit to Ireland. I find it interesting that the writing process rescues many memories and feelings and helps me work through them. Lots of my unpublished material contains even more, but so far few are interested in the wacky ways of my family.

Please share about your book: 

When you’re ‘falling like a rock,’ you’ll risk anything, as the couple in my book learn. Unloved and unemployed. That’s Elaine Svoboda, after she’s sacked, then flees across country to her boyfriend who drops her flat. Teetering on the abyss of disaster, she calls an old friend who invites her to a tiny mountain town with fresh prospects. There she meets rugged, hunky Joe Richter-Leon, mayor of Falling Rock. Maybe he can help her find a job. Maybe they can become friends, even share romance. Sparks fly immediately, but major obstacles make a new life on the ashes of the old appear impossible. Joe’s consumed with challenges like the dismal local economy and an impetuous sister. Elaine butts heads with him at every turn in the rocky road. Are her bungling attempts to help the problem? Or does she remind him of a greedy, selfish ex-wife? Before they can build a new life on the ashes of the old, she must overcome a few obstacles like a broken ankle, an eating disturbance, his stubbornness, and her own fears. She’s smothering her hopes when a battle with a forest inferno illuminates their true feelings and desire. Funny and frank, poignant and perceptive, when two people are “Falling Like a Rock,” they learn surrender sometimes means victory.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like? 

These are ordinary people whose lives become extraordinary, true for many of the best of us, if you think about it. They aren’t rich, beautiful, or super-talented; but they learn from experience and one another, face their fears in order to grow, and bring out the best in each other. Yes, they make mistakes, but since people learn more from failure than success, I hope readers realize these characters value their journeys through life.

Saturday, August 1, 2015

SMT: The Ladies of Larkspur Series

The Ladies of Larkspur Series
Heather Gray
Christian Romance

The Ladies of Larkspur series weaves together pioneer tradition, faith in God, and perfectly flawed characters in the fictional town of Larkspur, Idaho. All titles are available in print and e-book. 

Titles include:
Mail Order Man - Some people get a mail order bride. She got a mail order man.
Just Dessert - Dessert is the best remedy when everything in life goes wrong.
Redemption - Murder, mayhem, marriage, and a horse named Mutniy.

Begin your western adventure now by getting to know the ladies of Larkspur and the men who captivate them.


Friday, July 31, 2015

Book Spotlight: Juliet's Journey

Juliet's Journey
Kathy Gates


Juliet Carlsen, a thirty-year-old graphic designer from Hobart, Tasmania is grieving the loss of her mother. We meet her six weeks after the funeral as she is about to arrive in a tiny village in northern Italy. The village, Baiardo, is home to an art school where she is to spend a month as a volunteer. Her best friend had convinced her that a change of scene would do her good but, as she nears her destination, she is not so sure.

Baiardo turns out to be her haven. The warm welcome and serene beauty work their healing magic. The attentions of Luca, a handsome if hot tempered, architect don’t hurt either.

Juliet surrenders to the dolce vita lifestyle: sunshine, a view to die for and drinks in the piazza at sunset.

Then someone from her past shows up and turns everything on its head. That 'someone' has plans for both Juliet and Baiardo. Cracks appear in the smooth surface of village life and Luca turns his back on her.

Author Bio:

Kathy Gates missed out on her dream job as a test pilot in a magic carpet factory and consoles herself with reading, walking, travelling and writing. Sometimes all at once.

Born and bred in Sydney, she lives in Hobart, Tasmania where the air is clean, the winters are frosty and the food is delicious.

In 2007-2008 Kathy took a ‘mid-life gap year’ and headed to Europe. Six months were spent in Italy which included two weeks volunteering at a cultural association in the tiny Ligurian village of Baiardo. Kathy also spent five weeks volunteering at an art school in Tuscany. She thought that she’d have so much time to explore new places but the year flew. Needless to say, she’s desperate to return.

Other Links:
Twitter: @kmeg50

Monday, July 27, 2015

Author Interview: Cheryl Harrington

Cheryl Harrington
author, Sparks Fly


Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures.)

I’m a second generation Toronto native, an only child unless we count Cookie the dog. (We probably should count Cookie the dog – she was definitely one of the family!) Growing up, home was a few short blocks from Lake Ontario. All the best adventures of my childhood (not to mention the best lifeguard watching) took place on the half mile of beach and boardwalk between Woodbine and the Balmy Beach Canoe Club. I sometimes think lake water must run in my veins, because I can’t seem to stay away. Whenever I need to escape from the busy-ness of life or resolve a stubborn plot hole, I head to the shore for a walk. Nowadays, getting there means a trek through city traffic, but it’s worth every minute of the drive. The rhythm of waves against the sand, the call of gulls wheeling overhead, and the cool, lake-freshened breeze calm frazzled nerves and clear my mind.

The lake was very much a part of my parents’ lives, too. Mom and Dad met and married at a church near the beach and for as long as they were able, one of their favorite things was a walk along the boardwalk, holding hands. Those two held hands every day of their lives. I guess romance must run in my veins, too!

My travels have taken me across Canada to both Atlantic and Pacific coasts, and south through the States as far as Louisiana and Florida. Most memorable of all was a vacation on Vancouver Island where I had the chance to go whale watching on a small boat out of Telegraph Cove. The thrill of seeing a pod of Orcas at play in the water mere feet from our tiny vessel was unforgettable; the awesome, resonant splash-whoosh of their breach and blow …indescribable. I’d better figure out a good description soon, though, because my current work-in-progress is set near Telegraph Cove. Here there be whales!

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Oh, this is an easy one – Cornwall, England.

As a child, I had a pen-pal relationship with my Dad’s Great Aunt Win. I remember how carefully I’d print her address on a flimsy blue airmail envelope: Myrtle Cottage, Trevail, Cuthbert, near Newquay, Cornwall, England. In my little girl imagination, Myrtle Cottage was tiny and white with a thatched roof and wild English garden, roses rampant around the front door. My fondest wish was to visit that magical place. Years later, when another relative unearthed an old photo and written description of Myrtle Cottage, it was nothing at all as I’d imagined – an ungainly former mill with no central heating, unreliable cold-water plumbing, and only a narrow road outside the front door. Still, in my imagination, there will always be thatch and roses.

I never had the chance to meet Aunt Win in person but I will visit her beloved Cornwall someday and I know I’ll find inspiration there for a new book. It will be dedicated to Win’s memory.

What is one silly fact about you?

I am absolutely not to be trusted in a pet store. Proof: I stopped at PetSmart on my way home from work one afternoon. My plan was to pick up some birdseed. It would take five minutes, tops – dash in, dash out. More than an hour later, I was loading up the car with a cartload of supplies and one very annoyed cat who repeated, “Sssss-aaaaa-mmmmmm” at the top of his voice all the way home (true story). He’s never made that astonishing sound since, so I figure he was letting me know his name was Sam. Check out the “menagerie” page at my web site if you’d like to see photos of Sam and his friend, Jazz the Lineolated Parakeet, who did eventually get his birdseed.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I thank pen-pal Aunt Win for my love of books and writing. She sent me a book for every birthday and Christmas, leather-bound classics starting with Black Beauty and moving on to Dickens, Bronte, and Austen. Win encouraged me to share stories in my letters and wrote tales of the Cornish life and landscape in return. Most important, she made me believe in myself as a writer.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

The absolute wonder of bringing people and places to life on the page is the very best kind of reward. And when characters take control and begin telling me what they’re going to do …magic!

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I’ve completed five full-length novels, with two more in progress. Four have been published. My first exists only as a manuscript in a box on a shelf, and that’s where it belongs. I worked on that book for several years and took it through many re-writes until, finally, I worked up my nerve and queried. One lovely editor at St. Martin’s Press asked for a partial and I chewed my fingernails to stubs waiting for a decision. Of course, it wasn’t suitable – I still had much to learn. But that editor took time to write a personal rejection and I will be forever grateful for her insight and thoughtful encouragement.

Books two and three were co-authored with my friend, Anne Norman. We had more fun working on those two books than I would have thought possible. Our first, ROCK SOLID, is the story of a landscape architect who is challenged to save her small town’s much-loved Quarry Lake from developers, only to find herself falling in love with the man behind the development plans. Our second, FAST FOCUS, is a romantic caper set in New York City and featuring a young photographer, her big, goofy dog, an eccentric aunt, and an FBI agent on a mission to protect them all. Both books are clean romances, available in Kindle, paperback, and hardcover formats from Amazon under their Montlake Romance imprint.

Book four, ONE FOR SORROW, TWO FOR JOY, is a romantic suspense about a young chef on the run and a reporter determined to uncover her secrets. It was published in a large print paperback edition by Ulverscroft Press (London) as part of their Linford Romance Library. The book is now out of print but I’ve got the rights back and I’m polishing it up with plans to give indy publishing a try.

I’ll share more about book five, SPARKS FLY, in the next answer.

Please share about your book.

SPARKS FLY by Cheryl Cooke Harrington is a Clean Read romance with a dash of adventure. The overall theme is one of family ties and homecoming, played out in a wilderness setting with forest fires and float planes to keep our heroine on her toes.

From the book flap:

What happens when a thoroughly modern woman, who longs to return to her roots, meets an old-fashioned hero on her first day home?  Sparks Fly.  And it doesn't take a forest fire, smoldering in the distance, to turn up the heat between high school science teacher, Logan Paris, and bush pilot, Mitchell Walker.

Logan's dream of a bright future for her grandfather's lodge at remote Thembi Lake hits an unexpected snag when Gramps introduces the handsome pilot as his new partner.  It seems Mitch has plans of his own for Casey Lodge, and Logan is certain they don't include partnership with a 'city girl'.  Determined to prove herself and protect her heritage, Logan sets out to unravel the many mysteries of Mitch Walker.

Where did he come from?  Why is Gramps so willing to trust him with their future?  And most disturbing of all …what's she going to do about the undeniable attraction she feels whenever he's around?

Purchase Link: http://amzn.com/B00E6BRMNM

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be? 

1. independent
2. loving
3. curious
4. determined
5. brave

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

“Author Cheryl Cooke Harrington puts the reader right in the passenger seat alongside the spunky heroine ... and this is just the beginning of a wonderfully entertaining romantic tale. I highly recommend this story to anyone who loves a sweet romantic story filled with loveable family members, adventures in the sky and on the ground, and that age old feeling of falling in love.” – Amazon review

I enjoyed the interview, Jennifer. Thanks for having me at Clean Romance Reviews!
Cheryl Cooke Harrington (cchweb.com)

Come find me on social media - I love connecting with readers!
Twitter: http://twitter.com/cheryl_cch
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/CherylCookeHarringtonAuthor
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cherylcch
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/cherylcookeharrington

Saturday, July 25, 2015

SMT: Shadow of the Hawk

Shadow of the Hawk
K.S. Jones
Historical Romance
Young Adult Romance

Shadow of the Hawk is the story of Sooze Williams who sacrifices everything, including love, to save her family during the Great Depression.



LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...