Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Author Interview: Lonnie Ostrow

Lonnie Ostrow
author, Poet of the Wrong Generation

Give us a bit of your background (where are you from, your family, traveling adventures)

I suppose you could say that I’ve been an innovator, storyteller, promoter and celebrity-insider for more than two decades. With my debut novel, Poet Of The Wrong Generation, I’m combining all my unique experiences to bring readers a novel of love & betrayal, music & fanfare, downfall & redemption -- a fable of stardom’s rewards, set in New York City during the 1990s. Presently and for the past fourteen years, I have been the publicity/marketing director & researcher for the iconic best-selling novelist Barbara T. Bradford. I also serve as an editorial and marketing consultant for a collection of first-time authors through The Editorial Department in Arizona. Previously, I served as a PR executive, promoting an assortment of first-time celebrity authors including Ray Manzarek of The Doors and TV legend, Buddy Ebsen.  In 1995, I stumbled upon a pop-culture phenomenon. One that would take me around the world, working with most of my boyhood heroes over the next seven years: The Living Legend Postal Salute.  In all, I worked with more than 40 legendary personalities from Bob Dylan to the Bee Gees, Sylvester Stallone to Jackie Chan, creating high-profile media events to celebrate their postal recognition by an assortment of foreign nations.

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list?

I just finished reading Conversations With Tom Petty, Paul Zollo’s excellent interview biography one of our greatest rock legends.

Over the summer I much enjoyed Candice Fleming’s entertaining biography: The Great And Only Barnum. It’s a fascinating a colorful look at the greatest showman the world has ever known.

In fiction, I recently completed a sweet and touching novel called Luke’s Tale by Carol McKibben. This is a story narrated by a dog who is losing his eyesight and trying to keep a family together during a time of crisis.

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go?

Not the most exotic of places, but I’d love it if they sent me to Cleveland, Ohio. It would be a thrill for me to visit the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame and conduct some research through their archive and exhibits.

What is your favorite genre to write?

My debut novel is labeled as “Contemporary Romance” but I don’t think this does it justice. What I’ve written is a Rock & Roll love story, which could be listed as “Musical Fiction.” It’s not a commonly visited genre. I only know of a handful of books that fall into this category. I’ve loved combining my affinity of great music with a star-crossed love story that leaves you guessing to the final page.

What got you started on your writing journey?

When I was a student in the 4 th grade, I struggled with math and some aspects of science. To bring up my overall grades, I started to write some short stories about things like auto racing and sports fantasies. I handed them into the teacher, who was greatly impressed with my creativity. She loved them! It helped to score me some extra-credit. Story-telling has been in my blood ever since.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

I elect to write stories that don’t compromise my personal values. That’s not to say that my novel is devoid of grit, or adult subjects. But so long as my name is going on the cover, I feel strongly about keeping the content PG rated. My 16-year old daughter is now reading my book. I’m beyond thrilled in knowing that she and her friends can read the book without any cringe-worthy awkwardness. The subject of “adult content” began the sticking point in my relationship with my literary agent. She wanted a book full of sex, drugs and profanity in order to sell the story as “adult fiction.” I tired to meet her halfway, but her insistence to make it an NC-17 type book created an impasse between us. I probably could have been published years earlier had I done as she asked, but I’m glad I stuck with my decision to keep it clean and more accessible to both adults and young adults.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

I started a second novel back in 2005. It’s about halfway written. I’ll keep the title under my vest, but I will say that this is another novel of the disillusionment of fame from an entirely different perspective.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer?

Feedback from readers. It took me fourteen years to see this novel printed with my name on the cover. I’d been editing it for more than a decade. Now, I’m starting to get these wonderful reviews on websites like GoodReads, and on my Facebook page. Validation after so much effort. Such sweet satisfaction.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing?

The story in Poet Of The Wrong Generation is purely fictional, as are the characters. However, the eleven f the twelve original songs in the book were written by me back when I was in college in the early 90s. They were my feelings and perspective when I was the age of the songwriter in the story. I’m also a great admirer of the same music as our protagonist in the novel (Johnny Elias). Another element of me in this story is my insider knowledge on the many uses (good and bad) of public relations, and my insight on the lees-than glamorous lives of celebrities.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

Poet Of The Wrong Generation is my debut novel. I was credited as the author on a unique project some years ago called: Titanic – A Postal Collection. That was a history booklet all about the building and the glitz of the Titanic during the craze after the movie became a blockbuster. I’ve also served as editor on a variety of successfully published novels by other authors.

Please share about your book

Poet of the Wrong Generation is the ultimate rock & roll love story. It tells the symmetrical saga of a lovable underdog and his meteoric rise to stardom, his humiliating downfall and his unprecedented attempt to reclaim his place as the unlikely musical spokesman for his generation. At the heart of Poet is a tale of star-crossed lovers and their struggle with unforeseen success and disillusionment, in an attempt to rediscover lasting harmony.

Uniquely integrating a variety of original song compositions, Poet projects the epic clash between true contentment and the fable of stardom’s rewards; a nostalgic journey through the major events of the1990s, with a cherished cast of characters and a stunningly unpredictable conclusion. Two of the original songs can be heard on my author website: LonnieOstrow.com.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Sensitive. Driven. Innovative. Stubborn. Beloved.

What are your hero and heroine of the story like?

Johnny Elias is a college student from Brooklyn with boundless adoration for two things in life: timeless popular music, and the heart of a sweet, complicated young woman who is clearly out of his league. He’s grown up in foster homes around Brooklyn. Stability is a foreign concept to him. Music and poetry have been what has kept him sane until the time he meets Megan. When Megan breaks Johnny’s heart with a crushing betrayal, Johnny’s poetry evolves into music. His ballad “We’ve Already Said Goodbye, catches the attention of a music executive and soon starts climbing the pop charts, making him an overnight sensation, and soon thereafter the musical spokesman of his generation (the early 1990s).

Megan Price not only is the object of Johnny’s affection, but also the only daughter of New York’s most powerful PR woman: the indomitable Katherine Price. Megan starts off as powerless to overcome her mother’s plans to mold her into her vision for a storybook life. But when Megan’s life spirals out of control, she finds the resolve to stand up for herself and reclaim a measure of dignity and liberation. But is it too late to find lasting harmony with her beloved Johnny?

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Poet is a unique tale of star-crossed lovers and their struggle with unforeseen success and disillusionment, in an attempt to rediscover lasting harmony. It features original music (with an actual soundtrack), unforgettable characters, 1990s nostalgia, and a truly stunning conclusion.


Social Media Links

Website: https://www.lonnieostrow.com/ 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6572997.Lonnie_Ostrow

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/lonnieostrow

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27ZJb0KUL9M

LibraryThing: https://www.librarything.com/profile/LonnieO

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCd67ESFmU4ID38QadrM0Ggw

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/author_lonnie_ostrow/

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/PoetOfTheWrongGeneration

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lonnie_Ostrow

Blog: http://authorlonnieostrow.blogspot.com/

Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Book Spotlight: Brake Failure

Brake Failure
Alison Brodie


Brake Failure is a contemporary romance with humour, suspense and a kick-ass heroine. The story is set in one of the most fascinating periods of America's history: the months leading up to Y2K "melt-down."

"Is it too late to tell him you love him when you're looking down the barrel of his gun?"

Ruby Mortimer-Smyth is an English debutante, destined for Ladies Day at Ascot and taking tea at The Savoy. She knows the etiquette for every occasion and her soufflés NEVER collapse.

She is in control of her life, tightly in control. Until fate dumps her down in … Kansas.

Ruby believes that life is like a car; common-sense keeps it on the road, passion sends it into a ditch. What she doesn't know is, she's on a collision course with Sheriff Hank Gephart.

Sheriff Hank Gephart can judge a person. Miss Mortimer-Smyth might act like the Duchess of England but just under the surface there's something bubbling, ready to explode. She's reckless, and she's heading for brake failure. And he's not thinking about her car.

With the Millennium approaching, Ruby gets caught up in the Y2K hysteria. She joins a group of Survivalists, who give her a gun and advise her to stockpile basic essentials, such as gasoline and water-purifying tablets. So she bulk-buys Perrier, Gentleman's Relish and macaroons.

Ruby, far from home, is making Unsuitable Friends and "finding herself" for the first time. She falls in with a gang of Hells Angels and falls foul of the law. At every turn, she comes up hard against Sheriff Hank Gephart, whose blue eyes seem to look deep into her soul. She desperately wants him but knows she can never have him.

She's angry at the emotions he arouses in her. Pushed to her limit, she bursts from her emotional straightjacket.

As the clock strikes midnight of the new Millennium, she's on a freight train with three million dollars, a bottle of Wild Turkey and a smoking gun.

What happened to Miss Prim-and-Proper? And why did she shoot Mr Right?

Note: Alison Brodie wrote this story from first-hand experience. She lived in Kansas during this time and was stunned by the hysteria, unnerved that the US government was spending $150 billion preparing for Armageddon.

As Lionel Shriver says in her novel, We Have To Talk About Kevin: “1999, a year widely mooted beforehand as the end of the world.”

Author Bio:

Alison Brodie is a Scot, with French Huguenot ancestors on her mother’s side. Alison was a photographic model for a wide range of products, such as Ducatti motorbikes and 7Up. She was also the vampire in the Schweppes commercial.

A disastrous modelling assignment in the Scottish Highlands gave Alison an idea for a story, which was to become Face to Face, subsequently published by Hodder & Stoughton. “Fun to snuggle up with.” –GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

Alison then moved to Kansas. She loved the people, their friendliness, their free-and-easy way of life, the history and the BBQs! Sadly, her visa ran out and she had to come back to the UK – although her dream is to one day live permanently in America. Now, Alison lives in Biarritz, France with her rescue mutt, Bayley.

Alison has become an indie author. THE DOUBLE was reviewed by San Francisco Book Review: “Excellent … Proof of her genius in writing fiction.”

BRAKE FAILURE will be out 14 November 2016. Here are some reviews:

5* “Everyone needs to read this book. It’s blooming brilliant.” –The Reading Shed

5* “Hilarious.” –Lauren Sapala

5* “A laugh-out-loud tale that will keep you flipping pages as fast as possible.” –Tome Tender

Goodreads link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31683339-brake-failure

Alison writes contemporary romance. She aims for a strong plot line, set against the background of a world-changing event, coupled with touches of humour, sexual tension and character transformation.

She loves to hear from her readers. Link to website:
http://www.alisonbrodiebooks.com/#!the-double/c1253

Other Links:
Brake Failure buy link: Amazon US

Brake Failure buy link: Amazon UK

Website:

Goodreads:

Twitter: 

Facebook PAGE:

Monday, November 7, 2016

Book Spotlight: Darcy's Hope (& a Giveaway!)


Darcy’s Hope ~ Beauty from Ashes, 
A WW1 Pride & Prejudice Variation

Escape to the era of Downton Abbey and experience all the drama of World War 1 alongside literature’s iconic Elizabeth Bennet & Fitzwilliam Darcy. You'll watch their tender love unfold as they learn to work together and reconcile their differences amidst the carnage of war.
____________________________________________________________

1916. World War I has turned French chateaux into bloody field hospitals, British gentlemen into lice-infested soldiers, and left Elizabeth Bennet's life in tatters.

Her father is dead and her home destroyed. Never again will Elizabeth depend on a man to secure her future!

But when an opportunity arises to advance her dreams of becoming a doctor, she is elated—until he arrives....

Heartbroken. Devastated. Captain Fitzwilliam Darcy is left rejected by the woman he loved and reeling from the slaughter of his men on the battlefield. “Enough!” Darcy vows. “No more sentimental attachments!”

But arriving at a field hospital to pursue a covert investigation, Darcy discovers his beloved Elizabeth training with a dashing American doctor and embroiled in an espionage conspiracy.

With only a few months to expose the plot, Darcy is forced to grapple with his feelings for Elizabeth while uncovering the truth. Is she indeed innocent? Darcy can only hope….

•Cameo appearance by John Thornton (of Gaskill’s North & South).
•Rated PG. Clean romance, mild language, some war scenes.
• Darcy's Hope has a happy ending but will continue in Darcy's Hope at Donwell Abbey, coming in February 2017. In the sequel, readers will experience the full resolution of the mystery, and our beloved couple's love will face a new, tragic test.


EXCERPT

A week later Elizabeth quickened her pace to the overlook, anxious to read the letter from Jane. She settled in her favourite spot, leaning against a sprawling oak with a magnificent view of the canal below. Lieutenant Bingley had been back in Boulogne for nearly a week, so surely there would be news. 

Scanning the letter Elizabeth squealed in delight. A wedding—next week! And Jane begged that she come. So soon? Oh, but did Charles have to ask Darcy to stand up with him? Elizabeth grunted. Could she not go anywhere and be away from the man? Even the wedding date was chosen to coincide with the captain’s meeting in Boulogne to ensure his presence. Why in the world would Charles, who must have plenty of friends, pick sour-grapes Darcy? 

Could The Yank be right? Could the captain’s time in the trenches and his losses at the Somme have profoundly affected him? She often heard horror stories of things soldiers had seen and experienced that left them numb. She huffed under her breath. Certainly that was not the case with Captain Darcy. He was stone cold by nature with an impenetrable heart—no—he told her once he loved her. And that first day she nursed him, he kindly consoled her about her mother and sister. There must be something beating in that broad chest of his. What difference did it make? She shook off the thoughts as she refolded Jane’s letter. Darcy had ruined her family, and she wanted nothing to do with him.

She raised her chin and gazed over the distant meadow. The morning sun shimmering off the water in canal below and the quaint windmill on the adjacent rise beckoned her. She had never ventured down the face of the bluff to the canal, but she had plenty of time today, and the May weather was glorious.

Inching her way down, she steadied herself on rocks and branches protruding here and there, nearly losing her balance on the loose embankment. Finally reaching the bottom, she started towards the waterway. Rounding a knoll, she squinted into the sun at a tall silhouette of a Tommy peering down the canal through field glasses. Whatever he saw must have been intriguing, as he surveyed the horizon for quite some time. Nearing him, she opened her mouth to call out a greeting when a stick snapped under her foot. In one deft motion, the soldier whirled around and levelled his revolver at her. 

“Don’t shoot!” Elizabeth cried, pleading her hands in surrender. It was Captain Darcy.

“What are you doing here?” he barked, lowering the firearm and glaring at her with flashing eyes of steel.

Her heart pounding, she bit back, “Perhaps I could ask the same of you.” 

“That is not the point.” He reached out and grabbed her arm above the elbow, nearly shaking it in rage. “A lady has no business out here alone. There are men roaming about who have no thought for their future and would be only too happy to ravage an attractive woman such as yourself.”

She jerked her arm away. “I appreciate your concern, but I am quite capable of looking after myself. But it’s nice to know you now consider me attractive as there was a time I wasn’t handsome enough to tempt you.”


GIVEAWAY


With Darcy’s Hope set during the era of Downton Abbey and the release being right before Christmas, the author thought it would be fun to use Downton Abbey ornaments as the giveaway. Seven ornaments will be given away via Rafflecopter between all the blogs participating from Nov 1-22, 2016.

The ornament giveaway is open to US residents in the continental US. The prize for residents of the continental UK is a Downton Abbey mug.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, November 5, 2016

SMT: Poet of the Wrong Generation

Poet of the Wrong Generation
Lonnie Ostrow
Contemporary Romance

“It’s not that I don’t love you, and my tears are yet to dry.
But you can’t go back and forth forever and we’ve already said goodbye.”

Through these words, a young poet unearths his musical soul while severing ties with the woman he loves after her stunning betrayal. Unknowingly, in writing this ballad of liberation, he will soon evolve as one of the fastest rising stars on the pop music landscape.

The year is 1991; the place, New York City. Here we meet Johnny Elias, a college student from Brooklyn with boundless adoration for two things in life: timeless popular music, and the heart of a sweet, complicated young woman who is clearly out of his league.

Megan Price not only is the object of Johnny’s affection, but also the only daughter of New York’s most powerful PR woman: the indomitable Katherine Price.

Projecting that her daughter’s boyfriend will never live up to the family standard, Katherine cleverly perpetrates a series of duplicitous schemes to rid Johnny from her high-class world. But in her callous disregard, she inadvertently sets him on a determined course to his improbable musical destiny - while sending her own daughter spiraling down a path of despair.

Poet of the Wrong Generation tells the symmetrical story of a lovable underdog and his meteoric rise to stardom, his humiliating downfall and his unprecedented attempt to reclaim his place as the unlikely musical spokesman for his generation. At the heart of Poet is a tale of star-crossed lovers and their struggle with unforeseen success and disillusionment, in an attempt to rediscover lasting harmony.

Uniquely integrating a variety of original song compositions, Poet projects the epic clash between true contentment and the fable of stardom’s rewards; a nostalgic journey through the major events of the 1990s, with a cherished cast of characters and a stunningly unpredictable conclusion.

Audio soundtrack of the original music from Poet Of The Wrong Generation can be heard on the author website, LonnieOstrow.com.

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Author Interview: Margaret Brownley

Margaret Brownley
author, Left at the Altar

Give us a bit of your background

Since I’m on Facebook and Twitter my life’s an open book so there’s not much people don’t know about me.

My husband and I have three grown children and six grandchildren and we make our home in Southern California. Some think I’m a terrific cook (probably because I raised a chef) but I’m only so-so at best. I love traveling and have been to all fifty states. As a writer, I write by the seat of my pants—no outline, nothing. No one’s more surprised at the way my books end than I am. Come to think of it, since I don’t plan in advance, even dinner is a surprise.

Fill in the blank favorites - Type of hero. Type of heroine.

A copy editor recently mentioned that all my heroes are tall. Since I married a man six and a half feet tall, I guess there’s a good reason for that! I like strong, masculine heroes that have a hidden tender side that only the heroine can bring out. He has a strong sense of integrity and always ends up doing the right thing. It takes a strong woman to tame him, so the heroine must be his match.

What is your favorite genre to write?

Although I’ve written contemporary novels, I prefer writing historical novels. I’m fascinated by the similarities between the 19 th century and current times. The 1800s saw its share of bank failures, recessions, depressions and wars.

Technology changed the way people lived back then just as it has today. The railroad made a big impact and so did electricity and telephone. The telegram has been called the Victorian Internet and for good reason.

People back then struggled with many of the same issues we face today. So though my stories are set back in time, I'm writing contemporary themes. The human spirit has survived and thrived during some of the blackest moments in history. Not only does that inspire me, but it gives me hope for the future. I hope it does the same for my readers.

What got you started on your writing journey?

I always wanted to be a writer and wrote my first book in fifth grade, a mystery with no ending. When I announced to my family that I wanted to be a writer no one took me seriously, probably because I’d failed 8 th grade English. I finally resigned myself to not having what it takes to be a writer and went on to do other things.

Marriage and raising a family took up most of my time but the writing bug remained. Tired of writing amusing notes to my children’s teachers I volunteered to be the editor of our church newspaper. After making the church picnic read like a Grisham novel, my then pastor took me aside and suggested I try writing fiction, which of course is what I always wanted to do.

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well?

I did at one time write “steamier” romances, but I like writing books that my grandchildren can read. Oddly enough, I find it more difficult to write “clean” romances. Relationships change when a man and woman move past the chaste kissing stage. Expectations increase. Intimacy requires a high level of trust. Those of us writing sweet romances have to find other ways to deepen the relationship without taking the couple to bed, and it’s not always easy.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so?

I just finished the third book in A Match Made in Texas series. The second book in the series will be published next summer. I also have a new Christmas novella out: Do you Hear What I Hear? I’m currently working on a novella that takes place in the same town as the series. The name of the town? Two-Time, Texas.

How many books have you written, and how many of those have been published?

I’ve written 45 books and published 40. Of the five unpublished books, three will be published next year and the other two don’t deserve to see the light of day.

What are the elements of a great romance for you?

Every book I read has to pass the treadmill test. If it can keep me happy while on the treadmill, I’m hooked. What keeps me happy? A feisty heroine and a hero to die for.

Please share about your book

Left at the Altar is the first book in A Match Made in Texas series (books standalone)

In the wild and untamed West, time is set by the local jeweler...but Two-Time Texas has two: two feuding jewelers and two wildly conflicting time zones. Meg Lockwood's marriage was supposed to unite the families and finally bring peace.

But when she's left at the altar by her no-good fiancé, Meg's dreams of dragging her quarrelsome neighbors into a ceasefire are dashed.

No wedding bells? No one-time town.

Hired to defend the groom against a breach of promise lawsuit, Grant Garrison quickly realizes that the only thing worse than small-town trouble is falling for the jilted bride. But there's something about Meg's sweet smile and determined grit that draws him in...even as the whole crazy town seems set on keeping them apart.

If you could sum your main character into five words, what would they be?

Since the heroine of my book is left at the altar, she’s heartbroken, mortified, discouraged and hopping mad.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

Since I’m not very good at beating my own drum, I’ll borrow a line from the Kirkus review: Left at the Altar is “a sweet,touching love story that revisits a fascinating and overlooked aspect of history.”

Links:

Website: Margaret-brownley.com

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Left-Altar-Match-Made-Texas/dp/1492608130/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1466809552&sr=8-1&keywords=left+at+the+altar

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/left-at-the-altar-margaret-brownley/1123276729?ean=9781492608134

iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/left-at-the-altar/id1128527793?mt=11

Facebook: https://business.facebook.com/MargaretBrownleyAuthor/timeline/?business_id=1570988766476777

Twitter: https://twitter.com/margaretbrownly

Saturday, October 29, 2016

SMT: Digging into Death

Digging into Death
M A Lee
Historical Romance

Has the love of her life beguiled her straight into death?

Stranded on Crete, Isabella Newcombe finesses a refuge with English archaeologists resuming their dig after WWI. Her sketches fortuitously land her a job illustrating the dig for Prof. Gawen Tarrant. His magnetic brother Madoc charms her with his interest.

The dig seethes with undercurrents, revealed when a worker is murdered. The archaeologists dismiss his death as a village vendetta. Then the dig sites are vandalized. Artifacts go missing. And Isabella’s former employer may be involved in buying stolen artifacts. With evidence amassing, they must admit the worker was killed when he spied something incriminating—but what? And who murdered him?

Suspicions escalate. All three professors have motives beyond simple profit. Are the Tarrant brothers stealing to fund more digs? Is Nigel Arkwright undermining the dig as revenge for Gawen’s flirtation with Nigel’s wife? Is Monty Standings damaging Gawen’s reputation? Even the archaeological students could be involved, for their own profit or to assist a professor.

Falling in love with Madoc, Isabella doesn’t know who to trust. Then one of the students is murdered while his photographic archive is destroyed. With her illustrations as the only record of the artifacts, Isabella belatedly recognizes the dangers of Digging into Death.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Book Spotlight: Secret Places Revealed

Secret Places Revealed
Paulette Harper


A broken man, a woman on the run, a love that won’t be denied.

Single—and very content—real estate developer Aaron Blackman is determined not to become involved in another relationship. He’s experienced enough drama to last a lifetime. The only thing garnering his attention now is his growing business. And he plans to keep it that way. Then Simone Herron waltzes into his life, beautiful and confident. Fighting to keep his promise to himself—to remain single—he soon discovers that when it comes to love, some promises must be broken.

After losing her fiancé in an untimely death, Simone Herron relocates. She desperately needs to put the past behind her and start a new chapter in her life. While love is the farthest thing from her mind, she experiences an attraction to the handsome Aaron Blackman that frightens her. She's built a wall around her heart, but can she find the strength and courage she needs to welcome love again? To do so, she must conquer her fears and allow God to put all of her broken pieces back together.

Author Bio:
In addition to being an award winning author of Completely Whole, Paulette is an inspirational speaker, as well as a writing workshop instructor. She has a passion to coach aspiring authors and speaks into the lives of women from every walk of life. Her literary works have been spotlighted in a growing number of publications, including CBN, Real Life Real Faith Magazine, and Black Pearls Magazine. She has also appeared on numerous local and online radio shows.

Purchase Links
Amazon e-book: http://a.co/7hcScoE
Amazon paperback: https://amzn.com/0989969150
Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2cod8in

Social Links
Amazon author page: http://amzn.com/e/B004FEJKCQ

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Author Interview: Christina Lorenzen

Christina Lorenzen
author, Snow Globe Reunion

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

Oh wouldn’t that be a dream come true! Well, if I can pick the location it’s Italy, in particular Tuscany, hands down. I’ve been wanting to go for the last several years and that sure would help check that off my ‘dream’ list.

What is your favorite genre to write? 

I love sweet romance, but I’m playing with an idea for a cozy mystery series too. I think because I like to read widely, it often sets my writer wheels turning.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I actually had a sixth grade teacher, Ms. Lorraine Bruder, that got me interested in writing. I remember it clear as a day. She had set up a creative writing exercise. Each student had to pick 3 index cards – one with a setting, one with a character and one with an event. The assignment was to write a short story using all 3 cards. I think that’s the day the writing bug bit me lol.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I have actually had a very productive writing year in 2016 with two books released, A Wife for Humphrey and SnowGlobe  Reunion, and a 3rd set to release in early October. I have an even busier year in 2017 with 4 novellas due to release. All of these stories are sweet romances, but I do hope to explore the idea of a cozy mystery series next year as well.

Where do your ideas come from? 

The idea for my first book, A Husband for Danna, came after passing a church where a bride and an older man, I’m guessing her father, were having a disagreement in the parking lot. The bride’s veil was blowing in the wind and arms were waving wildly. I thought “What if she doesn’t want to get married? What if the groom is her father’s choice and not hers?” And that became that book. Most of my ideas come from seeing or hearing tid bits here and there. SnowGlobe Reunion is part of the Snow Globe Collection and the publisher wanted stories that centered around magical snow globes. From there we writers could run with the story and it just came to me as my hands flew across the keyboard. That happens for me as I’m a pantster and my stories are visual; I see them playing in my head like a movie. Think Hallmark Channel lol.

Please share about your book

SnowGlobe Reunion is the story of Carrie Sanders struggle to get home to her family home for Christmas. As much as she’s dreading the questions about her recent breakup, she does want to get home. However, a snowstorm leaves her stranded in O’Hare International airport. In search of something to drink in the coffee shop she ends up sharing a table with an unlikely companion, a mysterious Mrs. Gibson. When Mrs. Gibson excuses herself for the ladies room and doesn’t come back, Carrie ends up holding on to the woman’s tote bag, hoping to spot her in the airport to return it. Unable to keep her curiosity at bay, she peeks into the bag and finds an old snow globe. Bored and unhappy about the delay, she holds the bench while lying on an airport bench. As she shakes the globe and watches the fake snow flurries fly, suddenly she’s not in the airport anymore but back home – only it’s 1941!

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

Well, if you’re like many people, you probably are burning the candle at both ends, overburdened and overwhelmed. And with all the bad news and tragedy that assaults us each every day, we all need a little happy place to retreat to.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

Though I seem to fall in love with all of my characters and I hate to let them go when the story is done, I have to say that Danna is my favorite so far. I love her fun, optimistic personality and her sweet devotion to her family and friends.

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Author Interview: Laura Briggs

Laura Briggs
author, Boyfriend by the Book

Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list? 

Right now, I am reading my way through Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes stories. A book I’ve just added to my “must read” list is The Reader on the 6.27. I’m also a big fan of historical suspense and mystery novels and looking forward to reading some more works by Lynn Shepherd and Alex Grecian (though Grecian’s Scotland Yard’s Murder Squad series can get a bit gory for me at times!).

Say your publisher has offered to fly you anywhere in the world to do research on an upcoming book, where would you most likely want to go? 

London would be high on my list. Even though I was lucky enough to visit England on a college trip, we didn’t get to see that famous city, with all its wonderful landmarks. I would also love to see Cornwall and to visit a real castle somewhere.

What got you started on your writing journey? 

I had considered the idea of writing for years, but it wasn’t until I had graduated from college that I really gave it a chance. I wrote a short story about a bookshop owner who mistakenly requests the wrong author for her next book signing event. Of course, said author turns out to be a dashing, handsome adventure novelist who turns her store—and her life—upside down.  I titled it Only in Novels and sent the manuscript off to the company now known as Pelican Book Group. To my great surprise, they sent me a contract in exchange. I have published a few more titles with them, as well as publishing independently via Amazon and Smashwords.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

Right now, I’m planning something a little different from my usual work. A sort of chick lit/cozy mystery with an element of romance—though I haven’t got words on paper yet, so it’s very much in the idea phase. I’m excited about it, though, and hope it’s something my romantic comedy fans would enjoy.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

Some of my interests and hobbies definitely show up in my work. For instance, a lot of my characters have been novelists or book lovers, and some of them have shared my interest in honing their cooking skills.

Please share about your book 

My romantic comedy Boyfriend by the Book is about a young woman whose love life is complicated by such classic novels as Pride & Prejudice and Jane Eyre. It all happens when she uses a bestselling relationship guide that claims women can find their perfect match by thinking like the heroines in famous novels. Of course, lots of romantic disasters ensue, as her attempts to use the relationship guide lead her to meet everything from a modern day Heathcliff to a Darcy-esque novelist.

Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book? 

You should read it if you love dreamy, feel-good romance novels with a hefty dose of humor involved.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Book Spotlight: Snowglobe Reunion


Snowglobe Reunion
Christina Lorenzen


Stranded by a snowstorm, Carrie Sanders is left holding a bag an old woman she’d been talking to left behind in the airport coffee shop. Mystified by the woman’s disappearance, she sits on the bench staring at the snow globe that was in the bag.
Inside the glittery snowy world it’s Christmas during the 1940s. Fighting sleep, the next thing she knows she’s in the arms of the soldier she last saw skating on the pond in the snow globe. He’s no stranger, but the boy next door who never forgot her.

Author Bio:

Christina started writing as a young teen, jotting stories in wire ring composition notebooks. Her first typewriter made it faster to get all those stories out of her head and down on paper. Her love of writing has sustained her through a myriad of jobs that included hairdresser,legal secretary, waitress and door-­to-‑door saleswoman.

Luckily for her, writing proved to be successful and a lot less walking than going door to door. SnowGlobe Reunion, a Christian Christmas romance, is Christina's third book. She is also the author of A Husband for Danna and its sequel, A Wife for Humphrey. She is busy working on a fall 2016 release. When she isn't writing or reading, she can be found walking her dog, talking to her herd of cats and spending time with her family.

To find out about Christina's upcoming releases, visit her website at http://christinalorenzen.com/.
Subscribe to Christina's newsletter and be entered automatically each month to win a $5 Amazon gift card at http://christinalorenzen.com/connect-with-christina/

Links:




Monday, October 3, 2016

Book Spotlight: Holiday

Holiday
Sara Crummett
Contemporary Romance


When Jess Brown learns that her mother is ill, she leaves a major market radio career to care for her. She returns to the airwaves of her hometown radio station, which operates more on duct tape and spirit than actual technology. Jess and her father, a country veterinarian, share a love for needy animals that is far larger than the barn—or budget—required to keep them. She longs to return to civilized radio, and vows to do so as soon as she finds a home for every last animal friend.

There are other reasons to stay, like Sam Bloom, who has fled the city on a quest for the simple life. And then there’s the campaign she’s leading against a major developer who wants to put a shopping center smack-dab in the middle of town. With a deadline of Christmas Eve, time is running out…

Welcome to Holiday, a town chock-full of quirky people, animals with strong opinions, and hearts as big as they come. Holiday is the first book of the homespun Welcome to Holiday series.

Author Bio:

When Sara Crummett was a child, she was every bit as precocious as Jess, the main character in Holiday. She was born and raised in a midwest small town that never quite left her no matter where she traveled. These days she lives in (yet another) small town, this time on the Gulf Coast, but still spends the better part of her days visiting a hometown she created--a warm, welcoming, lively little place. It's called Holiday, and you're more than welcome to come for a visit...

Links:
website coming soon! www.visitbeautifulholiday.com (Still under construction.) 
Very dynamic website.

Saturday, October 1, 2016

SMT: Between Hope and the Highway

Between Hope and the Highway
Charissa Statsny
Contemporary Romance

Sometimes things get so messed up you have to pick up and get the heck out of Dodge. That’s what Liz Ruthersford does. Memories can be weapons, and hers have become incoming missiles. Fleeing home and her parents’ pity, she seeks refuge on a remote ranch in Montana where no one knows her tragic past. When she meets Bentley and Rawson Law, brothers with wounds of their own, life veers off course. Embers of hope flicker to life, but will bias, bitterness, and misunderstanding smother them before they burn bright enough to warm her heart? Or will she hit the highway and run once again?

Friday, September 30, 2016

A Gift From St Nick

Linda Andrews
Historical Romance
Book 4 in Love's Great War Series
Hearts in Barbed Wire, Entanglements, Unmask My Heart, A Gift From St Nick, The Christmas Ship, A Kiss and a Dream

"No. It couldn't be. It had to be the wind. It had better be the wind."



Lenore Kerrigan spends her days as a school teacher and her evenings helping her parents run their inn...and avoiding all thoughts of her erstwhile fiance.  Young and jilted, many leave her and her love life alone.  That is, until Hans Lubeck shows up and gets her broken heart beating again.  Hans doesn't have time for a woman on land, no matter how beautiful.  He's done with women.  As a ship captain, he has work to do if he is ever to take over the ship from his uncle.  This holiday season will bring the two together in more ways than one.  Will they find the gift of love?

My Opinion: This was a fun revisit to a meticulously created world in a small town during an unique period in US history.  Having read a later book, some of the characters and settings were familiar and just as lovely as before.  The story of Hans and Lenore is sweet and lovely, but didn't have a ton of action.  We got to know the characters well with a lot of backstory and character, but less development through action.  Still, it was a lovely book with a great romance and chemistry between the two main characters.  Filling out a wonderful world, it fit right in with what I've experienced with the series and made for a nice read.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...