Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Book Spotlight: For Sale By Owner

For Sale By Owner
Marlene Bateman


Filled with plans, McKenzie Forsberg returns to her hometown to spend Christmas with her family. Stressed by a year of intense, ongoing problems, she quit her high-powered job to move back and rebuild her life. Kenzie desperately needs the peace and security she is sure will come from buying the home she grew up in. But when she arrives, Kenzie discovers that a handsome widower, Jared Rawlins, has already put an offer on the house. However, he can only close the deal if he sells his own house by Christmas Eve.

When Kenzie unexpectedly runs into a couple who are considering buying Jared’s house, she unthinkingly gives them information that changes their mind. Jared is more than a little interested in Kenzie, but has second thoughts when it appears Kenzie may have attempted to sabotage the sale of his home.

Feeling bad, Kenzie apologizes but the damage may be too much for their relationship to overcome. Despite themselves, sparks of attraction grow into something more. Then, a few days before Christmas, Kenzie makes a stunning discovery about her past. In that moment, everything changes. Will the power of love be enough to bring Jared and Kenzie together and allow them to find their happily ever after?

Author Bio:

Marlene Bateman Sullivan was born in Salt Lake City, Utah and grew up in Sandy, Utah. She graduated from the University of Utah with a Bachelor's degree in English. She is married to Kelly R. Sullivan and they live in North Salt Lake, Utah with their two dogs and four cats. Marlene has been published extensively in magazines and newspapers and wrote the best-selling romance/suspense novel, Light on Fire Island. She has written three other mysteries; Motive for Murder, A Death in the Family, and Crooked House.

Marlene has also written a number of LDS, non-fiction books: Latter-day Saint Heroes and Heroines, And There Were Angels Among Them, Visit’s from Beyond the Veil, By the Ministering of Angels, Brigham’s Boys, Heroes of Faith, Gaze into Heaven; Near-death Experiences in Early Church History, and The Magnificent World of Spirits; Eyewitness Accounts of Where We Go When We Die.

GoodReads; https://goo.gl/ksPihN
Purchase site; Seagull Book; https://goo.gl/yQboNh
Website: www.marlenebateman.info

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Book Spotlight: Love and Romance: 15 Sweet Contemporary Romances


Available for a limited time only! 
Purchase it on Smashwords, here.

Join award-winning and USA Today and New York Times bestselling authors as they celebrate falling in love with clean and wholesome romance!

Dangerous Lies by Christine Kersey

A handsome stranger moves next door to Amethyst Fox. But as she begins to fall for him, she discovers he's not all that he seems. 

The Masquerading Groom by Taylor Hart

When Sterling Pennington, movie star and billionaire, gets stuck with a paid date at a masquerade party, he’s not happy. But Sayla Jones might be exactly who he needs to remove his masks.

Feels Like Love by Jeanette Lewis

April Winston brings her new fiancé home for Christmas, but her childhood sweetheart, Wade Hardley, isn't ready to let her go.

His Personal Relationship Manager by Jennifer Peel

After suffering a public humiliation, Kenadie Marshall realizes that love shouldn't be left to personal judgement. But Jason Hadley is determined to prove that love isn't over for this relationship guru.

The Academic Bride by Lucy McConnell

Funding for Janel Fendrick's dream excavation is pulled and she's left scrambling for an alternative. A surprise employment opportunity comes with a proposal...and a groom!

The Resilient One by Cami Checketts

Alyssa must redeem her past to have a chance at a future with Beckham Taylor, a handsome ex-NHL star.

Candlelight Kisses by Jennifer Youngblood & Sandra Poole

Gracie Andrews became an angel ... err ... almost an angel. She’s given the task of helping others find love.

Meet Me in Myrtle Beach by Brooke St. James

Paige Spears hopes for one last summer adventure before joining the work force. She had no idea the trip would change her life forever.

Under a Georgia Moon by Cindy Roland Anderson

Addie Heywood wants to avoid her aunt’s matchmaking schemes and Chase Nichols wants to avoid his ex-girlfriend. They team up to fool the world by pretending to date; neither of them prepared to fall in love.

Rough Edges by Kimberly Krey

When divorced mother, Allie Emerson, seeks employment with her old high school flame, Braden Fox, sparks fly. 

Blissfully Married by Victorine E. Lieske

Sidney wears a fake engagement ring to ward off a man who broke her heart. When Blake finds out the beautiful Sidney's lying, he works to discover the truth.

The Neighbor's Secret by Kimberley Montpetit

When an intruder breaks into her house, Allie Strickland has to figure out what secrets Ethan Smith is hiding. Is the man friend or foe—enemy or lover?

Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things by Rachelle J. Christensen

With the unwanted help of a divorce lawyer who's too good looking to ignore and a detective who has an eye for murder, Adrielle Pyper must race to uncover a secret hidden within the yards of satin and lace before she becomes the next victim.

House Without Lies by Rachel Branton

Lily fills her tiny apartment with endangered teens who don’t have everything they need, but together they have enough. Or so she thinks—until she meets Jameson. But will he be one more thing Lily has to give up to protect the girls?

Before the Leap by Liz Isaacson

Scorned by his ex-fiancé, Jace Lovell isn't ready for a new relationship with someone as fiery and beautiful as Belle Edmunds. Can she employ her patience while he figures out how to forgive so they can find their happily-ever-after?​

Friday, February 17, 2017

Book Spotlight: A Game of Secrets

A Game of Secrets
MA Lee
Book 1 in Series


Kate Charteris never expected to become a damsel in distress, yet she becomes just that when she must flee her cousin’s unwanted attentions. While she might be alone in Regency England, her parents deceased and family friends still with Wellington’s army in Portugal and Spain, she is no damsel who faints at the first sight of a dragon-like trouble.

On the hunt for the lair of smugglers and spies for Napoleon, Tony Farraday never expected to fall hard for a damsel not quite in distress. He collides with Kate on a city street and feels instant attraction. Yet Kate must catch the mail coach before it leaves, and Tony still needs orders from the spycatcher Giles Hargreaves.

Neither expects to meet again at a run-down inn on the English coast. On a crumbling cliffside, they vow to keep each other’s secrets and pretend to be strangers.

Yet that initial spark of attraction catches flame strongly and obviously, jeopardizing their pretense.
When they realize they are in the smugglers’ very lair, Tony must warn his friend Hargreaves.

The French spy arrives, demanding immediate passage across the Channel to take vital information to Napoleon. Kate befriends the spy, but she is playing a dangerous game. Tony hopes to delay the spy long enough for Hargreaves to arrest her and the smugglers—only to be caught in a trap.

When Kate’s cousin arrives, can she evade him long enough to help Tony escape? Or have they both lost this Game of Secrets?
A sweet Regency historical romance.
A Game of Secrets is a complete novel without a cliff-hanger, but the danger continues in A Game of Spies.

Author Bio:

Starting in my pre-teens, I devoured books. I solved locked room mysteries with Dame Agatha Christie and contended with the lonesome prairie through B.M. Bower’s words. The grand quartet of Mary Stewart, Phyllis A. Whitney, Dorothy Eden, and Victoria Holt lured me in with romantic suspense. Georgette Heyer’s regency romps and clever mysteries tugged me away from many homework assignments and house chores. Andre Norton expanded my world into the stars and alternate universes.

These writers did more than entertain and expand my world: they taught me that life is not simplicity; it is complexity.

As I finished writing the first three books in my Hearts in Hazard series, I realized that these novels were my attempt at the spy and smuggler stories, a tiny tribute to four great works of romantic suspense: Jane Aiken Hodge’s thrilling Watch the Wall, My Darling; Georgette Heyer’s amusing The Unknown Ajax; Daphne du Maurier’s dangerous Jamaica Inn; and my favorite of all, Mary Stewart’s This Rough Magic.

I hope that A Game of Secrets and A Game of Spies and A Game of Hearts give to you a portion of delight that each of these books and their phenomenal authors gave to me.

Book Trailer



Thursday, February 16, 2017

She Hates Me Not


FE Greene
Contemporary Romance

"But if Lydia was supposed to be some sort of postmodern fairy godmotherl, then Lou wondered waht she'd done to cheese off the universe."





Lou Aucion doesn't want attention, thank you.  In fact, she's spent years trying to hide from her past and anyone that might be able to connect her to it.  But life is not easy, especially when her sister's medical bills are mounting.  When a woman offers her enough money to pay them all off, all for one date with her son - one date only - Lou can't pass it up.  When her blind date turns out to be the suave and rich Kip Richmond, a man she disparages every time she reads about him in the paper, she is taken by surprise.  Even more so when Kip seems determined to undermine her "one date" rule.  She can't afford to give in though, both for her anonymity and her sister's sake.  Can she?

My Opinion: Lou and Kip's romance starts out as fun and sweet.  Their attraction despite the initial opinions is sweet, and their interactions are adorable and fun.  Lou has a fun sass to her and is expertly overshadowed by her fears.  Kip is a classic playboy rich boy with a heart of gold, but that's okay.  The suspense and mystery was a little silly when you think of it, but the author did a good job of making it very real to Lou, even if it wasn't always so apparent to anyone else.  Overall while not a tense page-turner, it's a fun and sweet romance with a different slant than you always come across.

I received a free copy of this book to review.  No other compensation was given.  The summary and review are 100% my own.


Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Book Spotlight: Murder, Curlers, and Cream

Murder, Curlers, and Cream
Arlene McFarlane

Valentine Beaumont is a beautician with a problem. Not only has she got a meddling mother, a wacky staff, and a dying business, but now she’s got a dead client who was strangled while awaiting her facial.

With business the way it is, combing through this mystery may be the only way to save her salon. Until a second murder, an explosion, a kidnapping, death threats, and the hard-nosed Detective Romero complicate things. But Valentine will do anything to untangle the crime. That’s if she can keep her tools of the trade in her bag, keep herself alive, and avoid falling for the tough detective.
In the end, how hard can that be?

Author Bio:

Arlene McFarlane is the author of the Murder, Curlers series. Previously an aesthetician, hairstylist, and owner of a full-service salon, Arlene now writes full time. When she’s not making up stories, or being a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, cat-mom, or makeover artist, you’ll find her making music on the piano.

Arlene is a member of Romance Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Toronto Romance Writers, SOWG, and the Golden Network. She’s won and placed in over 30 contests, including twice in the Golden Heart and twice in the Daphne du Maurier.

Arlene lives with her family in Canada.

Social Media Links: 

Purchase Links: 

Monday, February 13, 2017

Book Spotlight: Yours, With Love

Yours, With Love
Delaney Cameron


An unexpected inheritance brings Ellen back to her hometown of St. Marys. After an absence of ten years, she never expects to run into Quinn, one of her sister’s old boyfriends and her teenage obsession. If it's true that it's a small world, it's also true that it can be a cruel one. The good-looking eighteen-year-old who touched her young heart is no more. In his place is a man whose life has been torn apart by tragedy and loss.

There was a time when Quinn believed love could conquer all; that there was nothing it couldn’t overcome. Losing Avery changed all that. Her rejection was a painful lesson in the limitations of human love. Ellen’s sudden reappearance in his life is a complication he didn't anticipate. She epitomizes everything he wants and everything he can’t have. Her touch awakens not a sleeping giant bent on destruction, but a tormented soul desperate for affection and acceptance.

Is love a shallow emotion that flees at the first sign of adversity or will it wait forever for the one whose heart it seeks?

Author Bio:

I'm a Georgia girl at heart if not by birth. I love to read, watch college football, and spend time with my husband. I'm a hopeless romantic so there will always be a happily ever after in my stories. I also like to write about second chances because love doesn't always work out the first time.

I write sweet romances set in both contemporary and regency settings. My stories are about the journey to love, from that first meeting to the point where two people know their hearts are no longer their own. My characters aren't perfect. They make mistakes and have faults like the rest of us. They learn the sometimes painful truth that the path to love isn't always smooth, but it's a road worth traveling.



You can sign up for my newsletter to receive updates on new releases on my website.

Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Book Spotlight: The Viscount of Maisons-Laffitte

The Viscount of Maisons-Lafitte
Jennie Goutet
Contemporary Romance


Single moms are not supposed to fall for rich French aristocrats!

There's just no way he will ever choose her.

Is there such a thing as Prince Charming? Chastity didn't take a teaching job in France to find hers, but a woman can dream, n'est-ce pas? If the father of one of her students--the Viscount Charles Jean Anne Monorie de Brase--is the best local example of princes, Charming or Otherwise, Chastity is ready to put aside any thought of falling in love again.

She's had enough of his arrogance and would prefer him to keep his distance, yet it seems there is no avoiding each other. With the ongoing pressure of a repentant ex-boyfriend, a nefarious drug dealer, and an art heist that spans the decades, Chastity and the viscount are thrown together by circumstances she would soon rather forget.

As the intimacy between Charles and Chastity deepens, they must decide if their love is enough to bridge the gap between their disparate worlds, and if happily ever after can exist outside of fairy tales.

Author Bio:

Jennie Goutet is author of the romance novel,'The Viscount of Maisons-Laffitte', the award-winning memoir, 'Stars Upside Down', and the children's book 'Happy People Everywhere'. She is a contributing author to 'Sunshine After the Storm', and 'That's Paris - an Anthology of Love, Life and Sarcasm in Paris'. She was a BlogHer Voice of the Year pick three times, and her writing has appeared on Huffington Post, Queen Latifah's website, Mamalode, BonBonBreak, and BlogHer.

If you'd like to know more about what Jennie Goutet is doing now, you can follow her blog: aladyinfrance.com. She's been blogging regularly since 2009 about faith, food, and life in France with her husband and three children.

Author Website: http://jenniegoutet.com

Monday, February 6, 2017

Book Spotlight: The Daring One

The Daring One  & The Disenchanted One
Cami Checketts



 
The Daring One is available on Amazon 


Summer Anderson has the perfect life--designing toys and traveling the world--until the venture capitalist company, Mumford's Sons, helps her dad sell his toy company to the highest bidder. Summer loses her designs, her job, and her lifestyle, and is forced to work for a friend in Crested Butte, Colorado.
Chance Judd, owner of Mumford's Sons, takes a mountain biking trip to Crested Butte and accidentally runs Summer off a running trail. He asks her out repeatedly, but she always has a sarcastic response ready for him. When he finally convinces her to go to dinner, he realizes that he is partly responsible for her losing her job and designs, and knows she'll hate him if she finds out the truth. He has no choice--he lies.
But how long can a secret this big stay hidden and will Summer ever forgive him when she finds out the truth?
 
 

The Disenchanted One is available for only $.99 on Barnes & Noble * Amazon * iTunes * Kobo * Inkterra * Scribd 


Marissa Yates fell in love with Byron Judd three years ago, but she caught him holding another woman and she ran. She’s built a great life for herself and has kept Byron at arm’s length, only talking to him through phone, email, or text. She knows if she sees him again, he’ll charm his way right back into her heart.
Byron has no clue why Marissa ran from his life, but he does know his only chance to win her back is his brother’s wedding. His brother’s fiancée, Summer, schemes up a Lonely Billionaire Pact to help him be reunited with the only woman who has ever broken his heart. 


The Resilient One - Amazon * Audio * Print * B&N * iTunes * Kobo * Inkterra * Scribd
The Passionate One - Amazon
The Feisty One - Amazon * Audio * Print
The Rebellious One - Amazon
The Independent One - Amazon * Audio * Print
The Adventurous One - Amazon 
The Protective One - Amazon * Print
The Faithful One - Amazon * Audio * Print

Saturday, January 21, 2017

SMT: Darcy's Hope

Darcy's Hope - Beauty From Ashes
Ginger Monette
Historical Romance

Escape to the era of Downton Abbey and experience all the drama of World War 1 alongside literature’s iconic Elizabeth Bennet & Fitzwilliam Darcy. You'll watch their tender love unfold as they learn to work together and reconcile their differences amidst the carnage of war.
____________________________________________________________

1916. World War I has turned French chateaux into bloody field hospitals, British gentlemen into lice-infested soldiers, and left Elizabeth Bennet's life in tatters.

Her father is dead and her home destroyed. Never again will Elizabeth depend on a man to secure her future!

But when an opportunity arises to advance her dreams of becoming a doctor, she is elated—until he arrives....

Heartbroken. Devastated. Captain Fitzwilliam Darcy is left rejected by the woman he loved and reeling from the slaughter of his men on the battlefield. “Enough!” Darcy vows. “No more sentimental attachments!”

But arriving at a field hospital to pursue a covert investigation, Darcy discovers his beloved Elizabeth training with a dashing American doctor and embroiled in an espionage conspiracy.

With only a few months to expose the plot, Darcy is forced to grapple with his feelings for Elizabeth while uncovering the truth. Is she indeed innocent? Darcy can only hope….

•Cameo appearance by John Thornton (of Gaskill’s North & South).
•Rated PG. Clean romance, mild language, some war scenes.
• Darcy's Hope has a happy ending but will continue in Darcy's Hope at Donwell Abbey, coming in February 2017. In the sequel, readers will experience the full resolution of the mystery, and our beloved couple's love will face a new, tragic test.

Friday, January 20, 2017

Author Interview: Jenna Victoria

Jenna Victoria
author, War of the Heart


Most writers are readers. What are some of the books you have on your nightstand and/or on your "must read" list? 

My copies of the three JRR Tolkien The Lord of the Rings books are always close at hand for a re-read, as are a stack of CS Lewis books. I enjoy sweet romances in both contemporary and historical settings so there are at least five of those in my TBR pile.

What is one silly fact about you? 

My grandfather led the team that created Twinkies for Continental Baking back in the 1930's. He often brought home experimental cakes for my parents to sample, including Snowballs and the iconic chocolate cupcake with the white swirl. I've never met a cake that I didn't want a second piece of!

Why do you choose to write clean/sweet romance? Do you write steamy romance as well? 

Someone once said to "write what you enjoy reading" - and that is true for me. I know there are many readers out there like myself who prefer clean romances that concentrate on a committed, monogamous relationship with marriage expected as part of the happily-ever- after. They also want the delight and joy aspects of the growing romance at the forefront, rather than gratuitous sex scenes. We can be swept away by heartfelt sentiments, "I'm here for forever"; looks and a light kiss just as easily as those who read steamier books can, so, I let others write those books.

What other things do you have planned with your writing for the next year or so? 

I recently signed contracts for five novellas with Forget Me Not Romances for 2017. Titles are LOVE AMONG THE LILACS (June), GEMSTONE MOUNTAIN ROMANCE (June), WILDERNESS WEDDING, (July), HER HIDDEN HEARTBREAK and THE HOUSEKEEPER’S HEART (both September). All contain elements of mystery, suspense and romance.

What is the most rewarding thing about being a writer? 

My family experienced many heartbreaking events during my childhood, and books were my refuge and my friends. Being able to transport a reader to a pleasant, lovely place for a time is rewarding. Life is difficult, so it is important to give the gift of escape once in awhile.

How much of your personality and life experiences are in your writing? 

I always try to approach life's difficulties from a place of hope and faith, so I strive to include a sense of perseverance and being an over-comer of whatever is being tossed into the hero and heroine's path - even when things appear hopeless. Being diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer has also given me a renewed focus on appreciating every moment of life and looking for that silver lining - something my characters try to do as well.

Please share about your book


When a vintage snow globe sends Boston dress designer Louise Martin; British B&B owner George Walker back in time to London, December 1940, they race against the clock to reconcile a feud between their families and solve a 75-year-old mystery. As Louise relies on God; and on George for guidance, friendship then love, will the future George envisions strangle her own dreams? Will their love survive generations of mistrust, the Blitz and being stranded in wartime 1940, possibly never to return to their former lives?


Use no more than two sentences. Why should we read your book?

War of the Heart is not only a time travel love story spanning 75 years it also shows how, despite unbearable circumstances and hardships, the British people persevered with enduring resilience and hope in their hearts during a special holiday season dubbed "Blitzmas"; in WWII.

Do you have a favorite character you have written so far? 

In War of the Heart, the hero runs a family bed and breakfast called Time & Again. He is often exasperated and thwarted by Mildred Atkins, a white-haired, nosy old-age pensioner (OAP) who is a long term resident there. I had fun writing about her antics, especially when she intentionally helps the heroine behind the hero's back.

Where can readers find you on the internet?

Twitter www.twitter.com/jennavictori

Facebook  www.facebook.com/jennavictoriaauthor/

Amazon Author Page https://www.amazon.com/author/jennavictoria/

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...